Hustle Culture

0 26
Avatar for ZehraSky
3 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Experiences

I am sure that many is already familiar with the hustle culture. I even expect that some are willingly participatung and thriving in this kind of lifestyle- the endless grind, achieving goal after goals.

I admit that for a while I was intoxicated with the hustle culture as well. The feeling of achieving everything that I have set to do for myself. I even started thinking of aiming for a million before my 30th birthday. How ambitious was that?

Today though, I would have to admit. The hustle culture is not for me. I am not made for turning every little hobbies I have into a side hustle meant to generate income. I do not fancy doing things for the sake of earning. I find no joy in learning new concepts just so I could earn more.

A lot of the videos, books, and articles I have been exposed to all preached the same thing- have multiple sources of income. I admit that it is a wise suggestion. And I am quite fond of it.

However, during the months after my graduation, I have not taken a time to breathe. Had I not made an impulsive decision to leave a job that no longer felt healthy for me, I never would have stopped to listen to what I am feeling.

I would have wasted years of my life, working myself to the bones to earn money. Grinding endlessly for the sake of achieving goals that I set. I could have gone like that, and I would not even notice the time passing by.

But now, with a newfound sense of free time, I was able to really sit with myself. I was able to reflect. I realized that such life filled with endless grind is not the one I want for myself.

I want to live slowly and fully. I want to immersed myself into the experiences that comes my way. I want to be able to live for the sake of living not earning. I want to be able to do the things that bring me joy without thinking of ways how to capitalize them. I want to breathe and just be.

Perhaps, some of might disagree. I understand. It is undeniable that money plays a huge part on what we can do with our lives. But for me, I am choosing to live slowly.

I am choosing to detach myself from the grind. I am choosing to learn things for the sake of learning not because it promises higher income. I am choosing to do things because it nourishes my soul, not my wallet. I am choosing to live as I truly want to, not just following what the world is telling me to do.

There is not a doubt in me that I will have a job again soon. That much js certain for me. But for now, I am choosing this time to exist and to breathe, away from the hustle culture that I am deeply familiar with.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
3 months ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Experiences

Comments