Look into my Past Artworks (pt 2)

4 41
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

I am back with part 2 of this three-part series involving my past artworks. If you are wondering why I am publishing it immediately after the first part, well it is because I missed my own deadline of writing an article daily last Saturday. So I am doing a double or triple article by tonight (depending on my mood) to catch up with the missing article.

As I said in the previous article, the next part will be about my watercolor paintings. So first, I wanted to share with you guys my starter pack when I first took watercolor painting seriously.

My Starter Supplies

So as you can see from the image, I started small. All of those are gifts- the watercolor, brushes, and palette knives are what I received from our Christmas exchange gift while the watercolor paper is given to me by my best friend.

I have since bought a lot of new supplies but I still have most of these except the watercolor papers. I do not have the pictures on my laptop of my additional art supplies so I will just describe them.

I have a Canson watercolor pad. It is a 9" x 12" watercolor pad where the 24 leaves of watercolor papers are 200 gsm. I forgot how much I bought it for but it must have been "expensive" for a broke college student because I barely use it at all, preferring to use some cheaper and thinner sketch pads. Of course, I also bought more brushes. Most of them were water brushes which I am particularly fond of.

I also bought some magnetic watercolor pans with a metal case and it is so pretty that I just had to include a photo of it along with my other sketchbook. They are matching and I remember feeling so happy when I finally received both of them so I can take a picture. I bought a starry night file holder last month to match with these two but unfortunately, the seller sent the sunflower painting of Van Gogh which is still so incredible that I was not bothered at all.

Pardon the low-quality image but I am pretty sure you can still appreciate how cute they look together.

Watercolor Paintings 101

Now that I have introduced you guys to my supplies, without further ado, let us go to my watercolor paintings (that are not portraits).

Mini Paintings

These are painted on a small piece of watercolor paper because I was not yet used to making larger paintings.

These two are actually super fun to make. The first one is a lavender field which I am fond of painting over and over. I watched a tutorial of it on Youtube when I was in Grade 8, and I still like to paint it from time to time, changing some various things but keeping most of the concept from the tutorial.

The next one is just me fulfilling my wish of stargazing. As you can see, someone is alone there with her telescope, just relaxing as she is surrounded by the stars.

You might have noticed the watercolor I used for these two in the background. As you can see, I am also fond of using cheap watercolor from different school supplies stores. I am of the opinion that one can still make something beautiful using common materials. It is not necessary to buy expensive things especially if it just a hobby. The one with the pans is the same ones that I mentioned earlier. They are the pans in the Starry Night case filled with watercolor from the tubes.

As you can see from this image, I am incredibly fond of trees. I like drawing them because no tree looks exactly the same as others.

I do not know where the fascination of dead trees comes from but I also find myself drawn to sketching these trees and not just the ones in bloom.

The first one is a scene of a couple dancing under a shooting star with the tree looming over them protectively. I made this one randomly. I do not actually think there is a specific reason why I chose to paint them dancing rather than doing other things. I chose to paint a dead tree instead of a healthy tree because I was painting it with the intention to make this scene bittersweet. The couple is actually meeting in secret which is why they chose a place where they can hide, a place where no one will look for them.

The second one is a picture of a cat overlooking the city that now has poisonous air. You can see it in how toxic the color of the sky looks, which made the trees wither like that. Still, the cat watches the scene as if unperturbed, probably waiting for someone to give him a treat.

The first one in this picture is a seascape. I am fond of trying to capture how water works and I think this is a very calm sea. There are no big waves to be seen, just a peaceful back and forth of the water to the shore.

The next one is another cat sitting on a tree. This one just likes to watch as the sun went up, so she can go back to sleep peacefully later. I am actually quite proud of this one because I love cats and this looks like a cat along with the one above.

This is a peaceful scenery of a midnight blue sky with a yellowish moon. I made this because I wanted to have a watercolored bookmark for myself. You might even notice the couple watching the moon together, probably talking about some deep revelations or experiences. The moon tends to make us more honest, which is why I think people that stay up late together just talking almost always seem to fall in love.

Recent and larger watercolor paintings

This is the first one of my bigger watercolor paintings. After I got frustrated with the little space the mini paper I made has, I actually moved on to a larger one.

I believe the reference is from Pixabay which is a site for royalty-free images. It also said there that there is no attribution required when using it. I would attach the picture as well as the link but I cannot remember the keyword I used to search for this.

Thie piece actually has a date written on it. I remember being so incredibly happy when I finished it because it looks beautiful which gave me the confidence to try larger watercolor artworks again.

I drew this when quarantine was becoming too much. I imagined that I was having a coffee date with my best friend and these are our cups. The black coffee is for me, while she likes hers with some cream and sugar on it.

This a still-life painting. I remembered doing one for a school project back in high school. I painted a lemon and some tea set back then. During the lockdown, I thought I should try it again. And this is what I ended up with.

This is a galaxy painting with some trees in the foreground. I remember thinking that I really need to have the fan brush for this kind of paintings but I never actually tried to buy one after this.

I love how the sky is painted in this. Some part of me wonders if this is how beautiful our sky would look like without all the light pollution that we experience now.

This is me just missing having outings with my family. This is something normally seen when we have our swimming but because of the pandemic, we were not able to do that a lot. So I just painted it.

That is all the watercolor paintings that I want to share with you guys. I hope you enjoy seeing them as much as I enjoyed telling you about them. I look forward to sharing the next part of my art journey with you. It will be about my digital art journey so please look forward to that.

This article is one of the articles on my three-part writing series about my art journey. If you missed the first one, don't worry. You can still read it by clicking on the link below.

https://read.cash/@ZehraSky/look-into-my-past-artworks-pt-1-c59a6f43


If you find this article interesting and want to read more of my works, I made a list of my articles written last May. Feel free to check them out by clicking this link: https://read.cash/@ZehraSky/may-2021-articles-summary-59e3f5b8

I cannot end my article without sharing my gratitude to the people who show support for my last article. Your support has been a driving force in my writing journey. Thank you!

@Eunoia

@DM

@kingofreview

@Olasquare

@sijey07

6
$ 1.98
$ 1.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @DM
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 2
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

You are very talented. 🤧 i really like seeing some art works. Because I am also painter but even if it is just a simple art, I appreciate how you make an effort..❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The pictures are very beautiful with water colors. These are absolutely alive to see. Looks awesome. There seems to be a secret hidden in each picture. My very hobby is to draw like this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are not only fond of trees but you are a bundle of talents. Wow. Carefully crafted and you brought out the masterpiece. I am glad you still remember our earlier agreement of one post per day at least. I believe you can double up to make up for the missed ones. Well done, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow they are so beautiful. You are so so creative and talented. I love 💜💜💜 it

$ 0.00
2 years ago