Look into my Past Artworks (pt 1)

Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

As some of you may know, I like making visual art too. My preferred medium has always been watercolor but right now, I am more focused on using the pen tablet that I bought last January when I saw it on a flash sale (yes, I am an impulsive buyer and no, I am not proud of it).

Anyway, I think taking a look at my past traditional artworks is going to be a fun article to write which I really need right now. Why? Well, I had quite a tiring day tiring to make a program on the 8085 Simulator. I understand coding with the higher language but lower language coding puzzled me. Thank goodness my kind-hearted best friend is willing to help me out. I love that she helped me understand the lesson instead of just letting me copy hers.

Back to the topic at hand, I am going to share some of my artworks with you guys. Most would be traditional art so forgive the low-quality pictures because I have an old phone with a not-so-great camera. I do not see the need to buy a new one even though I have enough money to buy one because my phone is still working just fine.

Most of these artworks will have no or different watermarks because I made them years ago with no intention of being posted or shared with anyone else.

The Artworks and Their Stories

First I would like to share one of the recent artworks that I am incredibly proud of. I am doing this to effectively highlight how far I have come since taking my art journey seriously.

Kim Jisoo from Blackpink (How You Like That)

This is an artwork that I will willingly admit to admiring for quite some time before I posted it. I took incredible care in drawing this one and I think I did a good job. I especially like how the hair turned out because it came out looking so silky smooth.

I am sharing this artwork so that all of us can see how all "failed" attempts we made are actually helping us reach the goals we set for ourselves. I used to feel frustrated when what I drew did not turn out how I wanted it to. I would feel like a failure, and there were many times when I just stopped trying. I was so sure that the level I am at now was impossible to reach back then.

I am glad that I persevered even when I did encounter times when I stopped. I never really left the art community. While I was not practicing my hands, I am practicing my eyes and mind. I am training myself to observe everything around me which brought some understanding that I used to not have.

So now let us get into diving through my "embarrassing" sketches from my sketchbooks a few years back. Feel free to laugh at them, I also laugh at them sometimes while feeling nostalgic.

Just a quick disclaimer that the artworks from this point on were made in the past and therefore, I do not need criticisms on them. I know full well that they are the works of a beginner trying to learn drawing for the first time. Also, pardon the low-quality images, I do not have a good camera and I was too lazy to find a place with good lighting.

First of the many failed portraits

As you can see from this sketch, I had yet to figure out the proper proportions for the face. The eyes are too far apart, the hairline too small, the hair too voluminous. Also, I was still unsure how to shade the hair. I was drawing the strands individually instead of looking for the general shapes.

My tip for my past self would be to try and focus on doing a light sketch first to see how it looks before darkening the lines. I was also in a rush to finish this because at the time I was drawing with a mindset that the more I drew, the faster I improve. This is both true and false at the same time.

If you keep drawing again and again making, the same mistakes, those mistakes will become second nature to you. So the truth is you will improve faster when you aim to correct the mistakes you made the first time around.

First time using watercolor pencils

So I wanna skip this one immediately because there are a lot of things going on here and I don't know where to start. While there are a lot of things that are not that great here, I kinda want to pat my past self on the back for the color choices on the hair. I think the hair is the saving grace of this piece.

As you can see from her shirt, this piece was abandoned halfway through which is why it was left with the pencil streaks instead of being blended out with water. You can also see that I still badly need to work on my proportions, shading, and color theory in general.

Simpler sketch

This is a sketch made in a few minutes when I finally figured out that I like it more when I can just not think when I am drawing. I just wanted to put some lines down the paper and hope for the best.

Of course, this is not always my go-to method but I really enjoy making fast artworks compared to pieces that take a lot of hours and patience to finish.

I personally like this piece and for a while, I had this art style when I was drawing. Just simple lines and no shading, that kinda represents how I like to do things- plain and simple.

There were many drawings in between all the artworks that I shared. Some are sketches that I would like to keep for myself because they are not pleasant to look at. And there are some that are pretty good that I cannot share with you guys because those are sketches of some of the people I have talked to and ghosted last year. I do not want to accidentally find them here so I will keep those for myself.

After I making the last drawing, I was more focused on drawing my sisters and friends but then after some time, I grew bored of it too. So I turn to painting with watercolors.

As you saw from the title, this is part 1 of the look into my past artwork. For the next part, I will be sharing with you my watercolor paintings along with their stories. I will also make a separate article for my digital art journey. So all in all, this will be a three-part series.


If you find this article interesting and want to read more of my works, I made a list of my articles written last May. Feel free to check them out by clicking this link: https://read.cash/@ZehraSky/may-2021-articles-summary-59e3f5b8

I will also be doing a weekly summary of articles for June so you can look forward to that.

Of course, I cannot end my article without sharing my gratitude to the people who show support for my last article. Your support has been a strong motivator in continuing this path. Thank you!

@Eylz2021

@DM

10
$ 6.13
$ 5.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @DM
+ 3
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Ang ganda nung kay Jisoo ang realistic! Keep making art!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Grabe improvements lalo na sa Kim Jisoo artwork mo. Buti ka nga marunong sa ibang medium. Ako kasi sa digital lang talaga.

Grabe talaga improvements, kitang-kita. 👏👏👏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

keep working on your art.....

$ 0.00
User's avatar DM
2 years ago

Wala akong katalent talent sa katawan haha. Puro kain at pagrereklamo lang. Anyways, lahat naman po nag-i-start sa scratch, hindi po ba? Try to draw the remaining three pinks po. Hindi naman po siguro halata na jisoo biased kayo no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po kayo about sa lahat naman nagsstart sa scratch pero di ako agree dun sa wala kang talent haha. You probably have your own talent pero di mo pa nadidiscover or di mo lang narerealize.

I actually have more WIPs of all the pinks naman. I have posted one at noise.cash with the 4 of them together. I just don't feel ready to publish all of my fan arts so they are remaining in my WIPs folder for now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You think you did a great job? Come on. You did a fantastic job. This is amazing. Super amazing. Attention to details with careful hands. I would give anything to be able to draw anywhere near 50% of the one you tagged failed attempts. Wow. I have always admired artistic people. I made mention in one of my posts that because I couldn't draw, I tried to craft things with my words. This is amazing. Well done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very humbled by your reply. Thank you for your kind words! I also think that writing is just another form of art so let us continue to bring our imagination to life whether by writing or drawing. Thank you for your words again! I feel so happy to read them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome and thanks for gracing us with this masterpiece. Totally adorable.

You are write, we should continue with our creativity on all fronts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have any talent in art and drawing LOL, but my penmanship is considered abstract haha haha, no one could understand

$ 0.00
2 years ago