DIY Bleaching Fail

28 64
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

With experience comes new wisdom, and my sister learned the hard way how to properly take care of her hair. So now she wants to share some of her experiences when she was still experimenting with bleaching her hair.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Check out my wonderful sponsors

Have you ever looked at the mirror and got sick of how ordinary your hair color is? Having thoughts on going to a salon for a change or maybe doing it yourself at home? I have been bothered with these thoughts a lot ever since I got over my heartbreak. I want to start fresh and new. Haha!

Per se, having a beautiful hair will make a girl more attractive. There's nothing wrong about changing yourself if it will make you self-assured. Going to a salon and have an expert advice on what to do with your hair will be the best decision to do. Doing it at home works out as well, depending on how experienced or knowledgeable you are in the process. I preferred the latter. Considering that it was affordable. So here's my journey on my DIY hair bleaching and coloring; presents its fails and success.

Going Blonde

I have a rebonded hair, colored with chestnut brown shade at the time I did this. So technically, my hair is not new on having treatments. I bought the bleach that I used in Shopee for an affordable price. I asked assistance with my youngest sibling to apply the bleach on my hair. We watched Brad Mondo's tutorial on Youtube and started the process. We follow the procedure except for covering the layer of hairs with foil, we don't have it available at that time. But since my scalp is not yet used on the bleach, no longer 20 minutes on it being on my hair, I already felt the stinging so I decided to rinse it off. I ended up with a copper shade hair, which is by the way not the best shade on me. Haha!

Bleaching the hair
First result

Since I can still feel the stinging in my head, I decided not to apply another layer of bleach and wait for a few days. As I was waiting, I came across a Facebook post for the trending hair colors this year. I fell in love with the platinum gray shade and bought it on shopee. When I received the item, I applied it on my hair without bleaching it again. As a result I got a moss like shaded hair. I was fine with it at first but the color faded after a few days, a real waste of money. I really want to achieve the platinum gray shade. As per the person I asked to, I have to get my hair blonde first to do so.

I think this shade is so pretty so I don't know why she kept going

The next morning, I asked my sibling again to help me apply the second touch of bleach in my hair. It's not as at hot as the first time I used it. I thought that, I wasn't able to achieved the blonde color the first time because I rinse it too early. The risk taker in me let the bleach sits for over an hour until I felt the stinging sensation again. And the horror comes next.

She was panicking so much because of the lumps of hair falling out

As I was rinsing my hair, some of the hair falls off, which at first I thought was just normal. Until, every hand comb I make, I'm pulling out excessive numbers of hair. I literally had a panic attack and was crying. I told my sibiling about it and asked her not to tell our mother. As I was having an internal breakdown on her room, she was searching ways on how to stop the hairfall. I did not touch my hair again after I saw that even when I'm trying to dry it off, it still falling out. I thought that I'm going bald anytime soon and regretting all my decisions in life. After 30 mins, I see no improvement in my hair. It's not even getting dried! And as per the video that my sister watched, it is because the hair is too damaged that it no longer has its natural oil. The remedy suggested by that video is to apply coconut oil in the hair. Luckily, I have stocked coconut oil. I immediately apply it, a lot of it, hoping it will solve my dilemma. As we were waiting for the result, I chatted my cousins that have experienced in hair bleaching and showed them the picture of how my hair falls off. They told me that that's not normal and advised to put coconut oil as well. Thirty minutes have passed and I already felt that my hair was dried. You don't know how much of a relief I felt at that time. Though honestly after few hours I came to appreciate the color it ended up. It was blonde, though it have splotches in some area. I continued to apply coconut oil in my hair for at least a week and it really repaired the damage and I only used conditioner for the time being.

She said this is blonde but I still think it's yellow and orange HAHA

Pastel Color

When I was over the fear of what happened to my hair, I ordered a color conditioner online. I don't want to continue the platinum gray color. You might be thinking that I go through all of these because of my goal and now I'm backing out. Yes, I am afraid that I might bought a strong chemical hair colored that will cause my baldness. I cannot risk anymore. On the safe side, color conditioner is just a normal conditioner with color. It was a suggestion from my cousin who already used it. I was ok with it since it's not permanent and will fade after 2 to 3 weeks. With the help of my sibling, I was able to get a satisfactory color to my hair. Got my hair dyed red, pink, violet, a combination of 2 pastel colors etc. I am enjoying playing with colors in my hair. Everytime I changes hair color, I feel like it's a different me.

I did not know what I was doing when I was applying the conditioner to my sister's hair but I am glad that she was happy with it.
Pink hair is the best!

If you feel beautiful, you are beautiful. Goodluck on your own DIY journey!

Sharing my thoughts

Reading this article of my sister brought back memories of when I had a longer hair and still feeling adventurous.

She also roped me into bleaching my hair, but I only bleached mine twice with a lot of time apart. She also just bleached my ends instead of until the roots.

This is at my request as I thought that if I am not happy with it, I can just cut it off. She was more careful with my hair since she knows it took me some time to grow it out.

For a few months, I changed my hair color a lot and had a lot of fun with it. Until my sisters, and mother managed to convince me to cut my hair to join them in the short hair club haha.

Most of my bleached hair is gone so I do not experiment much anymore. The ones left are more copper than dark blonde so I cannot exactly enjoy experimenting.

Still, maybe I will try (or not). I am not sure. As of now, all I know is that I feel more confident with long hair than a short one. Thankfully, my hair is starting to grow out. Never again will I let anyone cut my hair above my shoulders.



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want someone to talk to about random things, you can find me here:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for my first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/UPwUY6fu6ib

25
$ 8.62
$ 8.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 12
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Haha, Brad Mondo is the most famous hairdresser, it seems :D I'm so glad your sister saved her hair in the end and that it's now okay. I feel like I'd never go for any 'crazy' color like pastel. I bleached my hair at home for a several years, because I wanted darker brown hair, but one day I decided that I don't want to do it again and again anymore every month or so... So I stopped bleaching it :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I have tried dying my hair once and it has ruined my hair since then. Now, I cut my hair short and even did an undercut haha. I miss my long and healthy hair.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hala grabidad yong hair na iyon. Ang damiiii, buto naremedyuhan pa. So the best talaga ang coconut oil? Anong tatak nong coconut oit na yan? Baka effective sakin? Pa shareeee huehue.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Omg I felt the trauma when I saw the lumps of hair. 😭 I think it's better to go to a salon rather than doing it on my own. Or I'll just research more about it and prepare my hair. Also, did she do skin patch/test?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm so sorry you had to go through this and bleaching always scares me, especially on our dark a$$ Asian hair... but the end result pastel looks so good :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Dapat rin kasi pinapahinga yung hair ng mga ilang days bago ulit e bleach or mas better if weeks. Depende rin kasi kung healthy yung hair mo. Well, maganda rin naman yung outcomes kaya goods! haha. Mahilig din kasi akong mag kulay kulay ng buhok ko dati, kaya lang nag stop na ako kasi yung buhok unti unti nang nalalagas.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Masyadong naexcite si ate eh HAHAHA pero ngayon back to black na ulit siya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was so inlove with hair that has different color especially blue and violet but then I know mom would not allow me to do it and I am afraid that my hair won't like because it's already experiencing hair fall right now. So better try out next next year or next life maybe haha natakot ako dun sa natatanggal Yung hair mo worried nga ako sa kunting hair fall ganun pa kaya baka same as you maging emotional din ako.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

D ko tlga carry ipakulay hair ko. Bka kc mas lumala ang hairfall..manipis na buhok ko dhl sa effect ng rebond na ginawa ko dati...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Try mo po yung mga di permanent hair color like yung ginamit namin. Hair conditioner lang talaga siya so nakakapagpasoft. Same same po tayo sa rebond HAHA nagsisisi pa rin ako bat ako nagparebond kasi maayos naman buhok dati

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bet ko yung pastel color, sis! Nagkulay na din ako ng ganyan last year hehe. Pero katakot yung dineretso mo magbleach. If gusto mo mamaintain yang color, yung cellowax na lang gamitin mo. Parang conditioner na din cya. Mabango pa!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ipahinga mo buhok mo, siraulo ka gusto mo bang makalbo?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Wag po natin bleach ng bleach yung buhok or kulay ng kulay. Dapat po kasi talaga wag na muna nag kulay bago nag bleach ulit kasi talaga na magiging pansit yung buhok. As for me, nagpapableach lang ako dati ng dalawang beses para ang bibilhin ko nalang na pang kulay eh yung permanent yung Merry Sun. Na pang kulay may ibat ibang pang kulay naman doon at meron pa akong violet now sa drawer ko kaso diko na nagamit nagparebond kasi ako.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kaya nga po, excited kasi si ate HAHA masyadong risk taker muntik na tuloy makalbo. Ngayon back to black hair na siya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot tuloy yun. Buti nalang naagapan agad 🤧 ako din stop nako sa kulay talaga ayoko na masira buhok ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my nakakatakot po. I first experience that when I iron my hair, I have a hair rebonding cream on it and I over heat it that is why it was cutting itself. I look bad in that. Or maybe I put lots of rebonding cream on some area. I am afraid to use bleach because my hair strand is thin and I heard lots of bad news about it when you over use, but good thing the hair falls will be replaced by new strands.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh my, that sounds scary. I agree with what you said in the last part. At least with hair, we can be sure that they will be replaced after some time. So it's kinda fun experimenting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagcocolor din ako ng buhok ko kaso di ako gumagamit ng bleach masyadong matapang and mahapdi daw sa anit. I want the pink one.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yas masakit sa anit. Ako nga malayo sa anit ying bleach pero ramdam ko yung init, what more pa yung nasa anit mismo? Talagang tiis ganda ang peg

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hair colors have high chemical contents and causes hairfall.. Need i rest ang hair ng ilang months bago kulay uli hehe.. Ganda nga nun pink.. Its me Jaytee

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kaya nga po eh. Excited kasi si ate. Gusto agad agad HAHA ayan tuloy, muntik na makalbo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha basta irest n lng if ever hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala buti hindi lahat nahulog yung buhok mo Iyan rin mahirap kapag diy di mo alam kung anong mangyayari

$ 0.03
2 years ago

HAHAHAHA tawa lang ako nang tawa sa kanya pero naawa ako. Dapat ihahair blower niya po nun para mapatuyo eh mas masama yun, buti na lang sinabi niya plano niya bago niya gawin. Ayun nagawan namin paraan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems like your sister take care of her hair much but In my case I don’t care about my hair and that’s why from previous year my hair is falling .

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, she really tries to take care of her hair now after messing up haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am scared with bleaching hair. I prefer to just dye. I salute those who can color themselves anytime they want though. It's a brave move for me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We used to just dye our hair but the pandemic really made us try risky things HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago