Chasing doubts away

5 52
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

This day I have been busy on streaming Lisa's solo debut titled Lalisa. It is an incredibly catchy song which makes streaming it a fun experience. This is a good distraction to my thoughts but now that I am preparing to go to bed, I must now face the thoughts I am ignoring.

This is the MV that I have been streaming this day.

Before I say more of my thoughts, I would like to thank my wonderful sponsors for the continuous support.

Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Doubts and distractions

The doubts that plague my mind today is about the value of my crochet products. At first I severely underpriced my products which made me not excited to be able to sell one.

Sure, I know the appeal of a cheap product as a buyer. But as someone who will out in the effort, I find it sad if the way I compute for the price is just the materials used plus some markup.

I mean why bother selling a crochet product if I will just price the materials? I should have just sold yarns instead if that is the case.

Anyway, there are a lot of computations online for handcrafted items. The first ome involve taking into consideration the materials, labor, as well as mark up. This could be further divided into a retail price and wholesale price. This type of computation usually shows why handmade products are usually expensive.

But since there are a lot of computation involve, I tried to find a simpler formula. The one I found is simply multiplying the cost of materials used by 2 and then multiply it again by 3.

I usually also decrease some amount into my computed price just so it would not be too expensive.

Still, hearing my sisters say that pricing a handmade bucket hat with my own design/ free handed pattern around P400- P450 as kinda expensive made me sad.

Becausr I see simple bucket hats being sold at that price. And then machine made bucket hats with minimal designs sell for around P350.

I thought that my pricing was reasonable but their reaction made me doubt myself. But they themselves admitted that they find my pricing expensive because they do not hace a budget for it. Also, like me, they usually look for the lowedt price when shopping. Hell, if I had been the one being asked I woule have thought privately that I will not spend that much for a hat even if it is handmade.

Anyway, I still feel sad about it but I guess that it is part of life. I just need to accept the fact that not everyone is the right market for me and my products. Also, my sisters still buy my products especially the ones with an affordable price. But for the big projects like tops and hats, I usually give them a huge discount. The price is usually just double the cost of materials I used.

My distraction for today is the release of Lisa's solo debut. This brought me great joy. I also managed to feel "productive" as I stream the whole day.

Another thing that came out of this stream activity is that I was able to do some practice sketches.

Like I said, this is just a practice sketch so it took me around 15 minutes to "finish" it. This is a scene from the MV that made me want to tewatch the whole thing again and again.

This is also another scene in the MV which I love. Her style in this sceme is so cute for me. I am actually planning to try and finish this artwork to capture the scene from the MV. But that will have to wait.

There are actually more scenes that I wanted to skecth but since I was streaming from 3 devices, it was kinda hard to keep it up. So i decided to just focus on streaming after I sketched these 2.

I really wanna draw the one with a lot of gold scenes so bad. And the motorcycle scene and the one with candy colors. I want to draw all the scenes from the MV, help me haha.

Closing words

This morning, I was able to get through my notifications from the past few days. But since I was inactive for a few hours there were another batch of notifications that came through. Not that I am complaining, I love reading your articles. But I really do not have the energy to go through them tonight. I will leave it for tomorrow again.

I was also pleasantly surprised to see how much my crochet accounts grew when I was not looking.

This is an unexpected number for me as I do not have a wide nesocial network so I was just expecting at most 25 followers but to have been able to reach 100 makes me so happy.

To celebrate, I want to give a small gift here. I hope that you will be able to appreciate it.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/9HcIoy5krjb



You can support my crochet journey here:

Sky Yarns Facebook Page

Sky Yarns Instagram


If you want to have a new friend to talk to about random things, feel free to reach out to me:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky


Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for my first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/lXgyBwZhrjb

17
$ 7.50
$ 7.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 6
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

Goodluck sa business mo mars, soon you'll be successful :>

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Having a business is not that easy, but you did and can do more about that Sis. GOD Bless to you! And more followers to come:)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I have the feeling that you had price them reasonably, of course you need to earn from it and not just ROI

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Goodluck, sis and take it easy!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I must be lucky this time. Thanks po. By the way, I wish you good luck in your venture. Your hard work will ne paid off din po lalo pa't hindi madali ang crocheting.

$ 0.03
2 years ago