"He traded his surname for dowry." ~Nila

16 48

" People say that it's a tradition. But they don't know husband is unable to nurture her as well as handle her tantrums. That's why they take dowry." ~Unknown

Howdy my read dot cash family!!

How are you doing my read dot cash fellows?? I hope you are doing well and enjoying your day. I'm also doing well and enjoying my day at home because of Long March Rally of Opposition Party against the Government. Today I am being forced to publish article by an Indian Movie " Raksha Bandhan" leading actor of the movie is Akshay Kumar who is one of my favorite actor in Indian Bollywood Industry. Movie is linked below 👇

Raksha Bandhan Movie basically condemned the popularity of Dowry Articles in South Asian Nations. Dowry can be defined as the articles, amount and property that bride's family give her to brought her husband home as gift. Dowry has become custom in Indian and Pakistani Nations that has suppressed the daughters parents. That's how people prefer to born male child over female. Gender discrimination prevailed in the third world countries rapidly.

Raksha Bandhan movie is the story of brother of four sisters who promised to her deceased mother that he will not married until his sister's marriage. People demands large amount of dowry in order to allow their sons to get married with them. They rejected them because of being dark colored and obesity. They judge them by their physical outlook. The elders among sisters got married and later on killed by Mother-In-Law because of not bringing fridge in dowry articles. That time brother decided to fight against the curse of dowry. His sister's make their career priority and prove the society that they didn't need to buy the surname of husband. They become lawyer and police officer later on they choose partner who actually deserve them.

Dowry is known as Indian tradition. Actually dowry articles aren't prescribed by Islam. Although daughter is declared legal hier in parents property. The Muslim and Hindu lived together in Indian Subcontinent and many customs promoted among them. Indians gift their daughters large amount and property as dowry articles that becomes the essential custom later on. The daughter's family burdened with expenses of dowry and marriage arrangements. This is important reason that girls of middle and lower middle class does not get married soon.

Let me share with you my personal experience of younger sister's wedding. We have to gift her dowry articles worth of 10 lac Pakistani Rupees and also dining arrangements for 300 guests from groom side on the wedding day. Mom who is widow and mother of two daughters faced challenges to manage everything. Indeed, it is the reason that I am not deciding to get marry although I am 25 years old. I don't want to burdened Mom financially. Although I am determined to make my career and wait until I found the person who deserves me.

I would say to all young man who are looking for their life partner and all parents who are looking for Daughter-in-law don't trade your surname for dowry articles. You also have daughters and sisters that's why don't burden girl's family with dowry expenses.

" A young man who makes dowry a condition for marriage, discredit his education, his country and dishonored womanhood." ~Gandhi

We should join hand together to fight against the social evils that has become social custom. Such evils causes suicide, depression and social pressure in the society.

Dowry should be translated as following :

  • D - Donkey

  • O - Of the first order

  • W - Who can't stand on their own feet

  • R - Relay on their wives riches

  • Y - Yet shameless

That's why become a man not a beggar.

Here I am sharing heart breaking picture condemning dowry.

That's all that I wanted to say about today's topic. I would like to invite my read dot cash fellows @Amjad_Ali_Waince @ARTicLEE @LeonaReed @TheGuy @Kacy01 @Coolmidwestguy @Princessbusayo @Bloghound @bmjc98 @Sajib@Bisolammy to add some more words in the comments section about the social curse of dowry. I hope you will not mind mentioning you here. I want you to join hand against the dowry and condemned it to spread awareness in the society.

Thank you for your precious time to read my article. I hope you have enjoyed it. Please don't forget to like, share, comment, upvote and subscribe my blog ❣️.

11
$ 1.05
$ 0.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 7
Sponsors of Zainab_Fatima
empty
empty
empty

Comments

In the name of dowry so many young girls are getting killed in our country. Though on one side the law says giving and taking dowry is a severe mistake and legal action will be taken, on the other side the practice is still continuing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for the mention 😍

Here too in my country, dowry is usually huge in some part of the state and that's what has made some men unmarried till today because they're can't afford it

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right it caused late marriage of the male and female who can afford lots of expenses of wedding and dowry

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh I really thought that groom's family will be the one to give a dowry to the bride's family for chivalry. After all, it's your custom though, it's my pleasure to learn about your customs despite the issues occuring that government should pay attention with.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Government isn't implemented laws against such social evils dear thank you for your kind words and stopping by

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's engraved in people's minds here, the more the high income guy the more he demands. The current gen now don't support it. But a decade older guys are still taking it and no matter how much you shame these idiots they won't understand. But we can change the future now and I just hate this system, this shows like we are looting the girls family by taking her along with the dowry. It will change and it has to, I will do it from my side from my generation.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If we may change ourselves we may change the society. I appreciate your decision of saying not dowry for yourself as well as your generation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All I say is, Islam forbids auch things, and that is the very much reason why it is, to avoid gender discrimination. In our area, most places or maybe all places of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa the girl has been given respect and the boy has been asked for Mahar and other thing (like land, jewellery, monthly payment etc). They can't demand the bride. Though the bride family buy her daughter according to their status and love for their daughter (not forcefully, though it is some sort of custom too)...

I like the translation of Dowry

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right dear but in many parts of the country parents are being forced to pay heavy amount of dowry

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, sorry but you should have not mentioned Pakistan... LOL 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm throwing light on the true aspects of our social evils. Being I writer I want to pen what is right and wrong.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gender discrimination is wrong. It wasn't all that long ago women were considered less of a man in the States. There were even hand books for wives to follow to serve their husband. It was thought by many that the women's only usefulness was to tend the household and take care of the children. Not that long ago I'm talking about the 1950s.

Once women started to work along with their husbands they were not paid the same. It wasn't until the 1980's an uproar happened where women challenged their wages against those of there male counterparts, It was called the Glass ceilings. My mother was a nurse with an education and my father a meat packing foreman. My father wages were double that of my mother. Not exactly sure when women broke the glass exactly maybe mid 90's or later.

Back when my mother was a nurse it was basically only women in the profession. Better more equal wages lead to there now being male nurses. It's still not perfect but has come a long way.

What I think needs to be attempted in a country as yours. A strong united front of women to protest for better human rights. It has to be eye popping in numbers and will require great patience. I'm talking about 1000s of women marching to state their peace in front of your government leaders. Any men that can join can help the cause as well. One has to fight for civil rights and it's not an easy battle.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

Actually our society is male dominating society. Female how fight for their right and freedom crushes by the male members of the society. I agreed with your stance that men treats their wives badly and consider household chores to home boundaries. Although there is lots of laws for women protection but no implementation of that laws.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As far as weddings now the cost are split sometimes in the States. Really no set in stone rules with that. Sometimes the richer family taking most of the bill.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is different here. In Nigeria, the groom's family pays the dowry. We call it the bride price. In the Eastern part of Nigeria, the bride price is very expensive while it is quite affordable. Here, the man pays the dowry

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Man really should pay girl for wedding expenses and personal expenses but what happened southern part of Asia is rediculous and condemnable

$ 0.00
1 year ago