Is Blood Still Thicker Than Water?

31 43
Avatar for Yzza0625
2 years ago

We hear all the time that blood is thicker than water. In fact, I learned a story about this proverb when I was an elementary pupil. But what is this "Blood is thicker than water proverb mean? According to the Wikipedia, Blood is thicker than water is a medieval proverb in English meaning that familial bonds will always be stronger than bonds of friendship or love. Family comes first all the time. Whenever if there is one member of the family who got a problem, your family will always got your back. That's what we used to believe. But there was one situation that lead me to this question, is this proverb still applicable in our current time?

Today, I will share you again my story. Actually, it is not my story but my husband's story. This was his experience when the time I gave birth to our daughter.


Story Time

In my previous article with a title "My Pregnancy Journey", I shared there what I've been through during my labor. What I didn't know is that while I was busy battling my own battle of pain, my partner was also fighting his own battle. I was admitted at the hospital 2 o'clock in the morning. We didn't have enough money at that time because we didn't expected that my baby will come out at that day. I still have schedule to meet my OB doctor at that week, so we thought that I'll have my due date on the next week. My partner was still a student at that time also, so our money was only intended for our allowance. It was already Thursday. The money that was left was only 500 pesos. When I was admitted at the hospital, the nurse gave us lists of things that are needed to be bought.Those were things that are necessary for my delivery. Our money was not enough to buy all those that is in the list. My partner left me at the hospital and head back to our boarding house to get some important things and to borrow some money to his sister. We know that her sister has money at that time because she was saving it for her to buy a new phone. But her sister did not let him borrow. She denied that she has a saving. So, my partner didn't force her anymore. He went back at the hospital. I noticed that his slippers were broken. He told me that he was just running because there were no vehicle. After putting the things he got from the boarding house, he left me again to buy the things that the nurse were asked. When he was at the pharmacy, he calculated the price of the items. His money was insufficient. If only his sister let him borrow even just a small amount I think that would be enough. He saw a woman who also bought some medicine in the the same pharmacy. He took a quick glance at the purse of the woman and he saw that she has a lot of money. He was so determined to buy what's on the list because it was very important. So, he gathered all his courage and approach the woman. Though he was so shy , he swallowed his diffidence because he was so desperate at that moment. He borrowed 100 pesos or $2 to a stranger. Thank God, the kind woman let him borrowed money. He was so glad because he could be able to buy all the necessary things that are needed for my delivery. He thanked the woman and promised her to returned the money in the morning when his mother come. When I was in the delivery room, his mother came. He asked the amount that he borrowed to the woman and returned it as what he promised. When I came out and placed at my room, the stranger woman who helped my partner visited me. She looked at our baby and she was happy. I didn't know that that woman was the one who helped my partner. I thought that she was just a random person who wants to look at our baby. I didn't know that she was the angel who helped us.


CLOSING THOUGHT

I only learned what he has been through few months after my delivery. When I knew about it, I felt sorry for him, but on the other side, my admiration for him grows even bigger. I know him as a tight-lipped person and I can't believe that he did that for the sake of me and our baby. He said that he can't really rely help from his siblings. He is also not so close to them. Maybe because he is the only male in the family that is why he can't get along with his siblings. It saddened me knowing that the people whom he can lean on in times of difficulties don't have the heart to help him.

True essence of a family is being supportive and loving with each other. Always there for each other through ups and downs. Family should be the foundation of love, devotion and support because family is not just an important thing, it is everything.

Before I end this article of mine, let me share this message to you.

β€œCall it a clan, call it a network, call it a tribe, call it a family: Whatever you call it, whoever you are, you need one.” β€” Jane Howard

Sponsors of Yzza0625
empty
empty
empty
A million thanks to my sponsors.πŸ₯°

Lead image source is made by yours truly using Canva app.

14
$ 5.47
$ 5.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Shyness
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of Yzza0625
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yzza0625
2 years ago

Comments

It really saddened me if I heard stories like this. Families should always be with each other most specially in times of emergency, sadly when we expect them at that times they are nowhere to be found. I can relate to your story sis, but with a different plot. Anyways, thanks for sharing your story😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your final reflection is beautiful. Family is everything. I liked your story. Regards

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank ma'am. And thank you for reading.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sorry to hear about your boyfriend's sister... she might have her own reasons... thanks to the lady who helped...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe sis. I was thankful nga wa gihapon mi gipabayaan ni Lord.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thankful nga wa gihapon mi gipabayaan ni Lord.

yes..dili jd ta pasagdan ni Lord sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha not all thicker madam kay unsaon naa may selfish lage hahaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lagi madam uy. Naa juy taw nga mga ing-ana.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

D malikayan madam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lagi madam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na basta nalampos rapud madam, it's their conscience na lang ug naa pud πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This story just shows that blood isn't that thick anymore. Sometimes, the people who will be there for you are the ones that you never expected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sis. Nakakalungkot man pero ito na yata ang reality.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was a sad but fulfilling life story, your husband really loves the both of you so much. Your exactly right maybe not all of those people who we treated as a family will help us when we needed them the most, I feel irritated to his sister I'm sorry but I feel so upset about your husband's effort when he approached to his siblingπŸ˜“. That was a tough one ! Just a wandering newbie here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala na kaming magagawa sis. Yun na talaga ugali ng kanyang kapatid. Anyways, welcome here! Sana mag-enjoy ka sa platform na'to. Welcome! welcome!😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your husband is truly your bestfriend and hero. That just shows how much he loves you and your baby.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sis. I appreciate him even more.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bsta naa nay baby buhaton jud ang tanan. Na admire sad ko sa gibuhat ni ong girly. Hehehe bahalag uwaw bsta ky mapalit tnan. Laban lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lagi girl. Iya jud tawon giton iyang pagkamauwawon. Wala naman sijay laing choice. Pabaga na lang tawon sija sa iyang nawng.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saludo gyud kos imu partner ate. Pero na sad gyud ko nganung inato man about sa iyang sis..πŸ˜” Sa time na karo te wa gyud mo pasagdii ni God kay naay angel na mitabang ninyo...πŸ™πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lagi Lang. Dili man lagi magpareho ning managsuon. Uban naay close ang uban pud dili. True, I believe jud nga sent from God jud tu si yaya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hays, pero karong panahona ate, blood is no longer thicker than water. Maypa ang mga tao nga dili nato relatives, sila pa to ang kusog mo tabang. Pero ang atong kadugo, di gyud mo ila. Tagdon raka kapag kwartahan na :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tinuod jud na sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Family first dear, God gave them to us and gave us to them too. ❀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir. Family should comes first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is sad... but also good that someone else was kind enough to help your partner at his lowest. Malalaman talaga natin kung sino ang totoo sa mga times na challenged tayo and the ones who come to our aid are the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True sis. Kaya laking pasasalamat ko kay ale kung sino man siya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heaven sent :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Heaven sent :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ang igsuon maamsh oy. As a tita duty nalaman unta ba. Pero wa gihapon mo pasagdi sa Ginoo. God is good!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lagi mamsh. Wa man pud mi pasagdi ni Lord mamsh. Gitagaan gihapon mig taw nga mutabang namo.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago