Fighting Against Postpartum Depression

24 33
Avatar for Yzza0625
2 years ago

Having a baby can bring different emotions especially to a first time mother. We can feel excitement and joy but we also feel fear and anxiety. But it can also result to something that we might not expect -deppression. It is mostly experienced to a new mom. According to Debra Fulghum Bruce, PhD, postpartum depression (PPD) is a complex mix of physical, emotional, and behavioral changes that happen in some women after giving birth.

Postpartum depression is not considered as character flaw or a weakness. This is just a product of giving birth. There are several signs of symptoms that a mother is experiencing from this postpartum depression. I will site some of those.

Intense irritability and anger

After I gave birth to my daughter, my emotions and attitude changed. I easily get irritated even in simple things and had short temper. I used to have long patience but now I easily get annoyed that becomes the reason of our fightings with my partner. Sometimes I can't control my anger that will lead me to throw things.

Fear that you're not a good mother

This is the feeling that I still have right now. I'm afraid I might not be a good mother to my daughter. Afraid that I can't be able to give all her needs. I have this fear that I might not perform my duties and responsibilities as a mother. When my daughter get sick, which is inevitable sometimes, I always asks myself what did I miss. And lastly, the fear that I can't give a bright future to my daughter.

Thoughts of harming yourself or your baby

Thank God I never thought of harming my baby. But harming myself, I thought of it multiple times. Every time that we had arguments with my partner, maybe out of anger, I harm myself. Sometimes, I banged my head against the wall, or slapped my own face, or pulled my own hair. The worst thing that I did in harming myself was I cut my legs with the nail clipper knife. Though the wound was not too deep but my partner was so afraid watching the blood that flows down on my legs.

Inability to sleep (insomnia) or sleeping too much

I already had insomnia even before I had a baby. But it gets worsened after I give birth. There were times that I can't have a sleep until morning even a little. I always rant to my partner about it. My eyebags were getting bigger and I had headaches.

Depressed mood or severe mood swings

Image: Google

Mood swings is identified as rapid changes in mood. I also experienced this one. I'm happy at one moment but after a few hours, my mood changed. My partner always complain this attitude of mine. But even me, I don't know why my mood changed easily. My mood is like a girl who always changed clothes.😁

Excessive crying

Since I became excessively sensitive, I easily cried even for a simple reason. There were also times that I can't hardly breathe because of crying. Watching sad videos made me cry too. One time, when Moira released her music video of Paubaya, I pathetically cried hard after watching. ( Parang nakarelate kahit hindi naman ).

CLOSING THOUGHT

Having this kind of depression is ponderous. It has complications if it is not treated. According to some medical experts, if postpartum left untreated, it can interfere with mother-child bonding and cause family problems. It also lasted for months or longer or sometimes become chronic depressive disorder if it remains untreated.

To those who suffers from postpartum depression, don't be ashamed. There are treatments for this. It is also good if you have someone to talk to ( a friend perhaps or your family ) to lighten what you feel. And as for me, I'm happy that I surpassed this depression ( thanks to my partner, friends and family ). The thing that I'm concerned about now is my excessive hair fall.

My warmest thanks to those who upvoted my previous article. It is very much appreciated. To my sponsors, thank you for trusting me. May God showers you more blessings.

Thank you for reading.😊

Lead image source: Google

-Yzza0625-

10
$ 0.37
$ 0.10 from @Zhyne06
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.05 from @Janz
+ 4
Sponsors of Yzza0625
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yzza0625
2 years ago

Comments

So child birth can cause this more effect. Kudos to all the women. Let's just relax, all would be fine. The kids would be well trained.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. It's really not easy to be a woman.😁 I'm fine now. I guess I already passed those stage of being a mother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahadlok ba manganak mamsh. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gajud mem. Pero nindot man pud sa feeling kung makakita na ka sa imong liwat.😁 Stay strong lamg jud ug keep fighting. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Abi ko bag ig panganak mahuman na naa pa jod diay. Pero lge mem oy. Kayahon kung naa na jod. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Way kahuman mem, tinud-anay lang.😁 Kayahon lang jud mem, saon nongsud man aning butanga.😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Harooyyyy! Mao nay giingon na laban inahan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to this except the hurting myself or the baby part..but crying? Yes I cry each time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap talaga eh no? May mga oras na hindi mo maintindihan sarili mo at bigla ka na lang naiiyak.😥

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka momsh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May nabasa akong post matagal na sa fb. Di ko lng sure if totoo. Bagong panganak lang sya and wala syang kasama sa bahay nila, nagtatrabaho kasi asawa niya tas wala rin nanay niya. Umiiyak yung baby tas siguro naririndi na sya. Pinukpok niya yung ulo ng bata ng martilyo, tas dun lang sya natauhan nung tumigil na to sa oag iyak kasi wala na. Di biro ang pinagdadaanan ng mga mommy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang nabasa ko din yan. Binalita pa ata yan eh. Hirap talaga kapag walang kasama sa bahay. Wala kang karamay. Buti na lang at hindi ako umabot sa ganyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang laki talaga pinagka iba kapag may anak na. Blessings pero lahat talaga mag babago . Kaya ako Enjoyin ko muna pagka dalaga ko 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama yan sis. Ganyan nga. Enjoy muna single life mo. Kasi kapag may anak ka na, hindi mo na magagawa ang mga gusto mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feel this and been in this situation until now. And I hated myself for being this weak. 😭 I just hope I can win this battle myswlf had made 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fight lang memsh. Kaya ra lagi na nimo. We're just here to support you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate so much madam.... So irritating then I get angry easily even in just simple things. I even thought of dying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapoy madam no? Pero karun kay ok2 naman ko. Dili na kaayo ko irritable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

O madam kadto rang first 3mos jud worst bisan until 6 mos after labor

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't relate to this one as I never experience it, too young to be pregnant and don't have a plan too as of now. But yeah, I guess this kind of depression was not that easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama yan. Wag kang magmadali. I-enjoy mo muna ang pagiging single. May malaking kaibahan na kasi kapag nanay ka na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po, I will. Tsaka wala pa talaga sa isip ko rin hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago