Having the things that you don't have when you were a kid.

28 39
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

This TikTok screenshot that posted on Facebook got me a couple of days ago as I am relatable with the caption.

The most simple things in our lives right now, was like a dream when we're kids.

And I even shared it on my wall and said it's true.


I came up in a poor family wherein I didn't experience the life that other kids experience. I am a 1990s baby and I know some of you too. When I was a kid I am happy every time that my mom will told me that we will go on the town proper because I know we will be buying something or eating something. During my childhood days I am happy when I have a 5 pesos pocket money when I am going to school and because 5 pesos is not that big money that time , all I can afford is to buy a piece of snacks and a drink that cost one pesos. Sometimes the canteen offers a hot soup that is packed in a plastic container and we will eat in by mean of biting a little portion of the plastic and there's no spoon needed.

I can't afford to buy a chocolate drink that time like Chuckie or buy a delicious bread like crossini because my pocket money is only five pesos. I only tasted those kind of food when my classmates gave some to me. You know , sometimes our rich classmates didn't consumed thier food and then they gave it to me and yeah I will accepted it.

I grew up eating junk foods that cause one pesos. Did you know the candy that you can buy 4 pieces for only one pesos? And thought reject kisses chocolate that sell for a cheap price.

I am only staring at the biscuits like cream o in the store because even if I have a money to buy that one I will still choose to buy the bread in the bakery worth 5 pesos because its big and I will he full when I ate it.

During my high school days , my pocket money became 15 pesos and I can afford to buy a shake worth 5 pesos and a flying saucer worth 7 pesos but I didn't buy those kind of food always because I am also saving money out of my allowance. Sometimes I don't have allowance and I experienced going to school without a single penny in my pocket.

On my college days , though my allowance increase the expenses also increase. I have a 70 pesos allowance daily and my fare that time is 50 pesos and my lunch is 20 pesos. Sometimes I will walk instead of riding a tricycle just to save 15 pesos and I will save it.

Then I graduated and experience to work and started earning money though it is not high as the other but still you can now buy the food that you really wanted when you were a kid.

I remember when I was working I don't want a fastfood anymore because I always ate it everyday then I remember when I was in the province I envy those people who eating in the fastfood.

Those chocolate drink or even the milk that you wish to drink before you sleep when you were a kid , you can now drink it because you can afford it.

Those sleep wears , bags , phones that you wish to have during your teenage years , I can now buy it. Though it not high end as the other , for me it's a victory that I need to celebrate because finally I have those stuff that part of my dream when I was a teenager.


Earlier I shared this thing to my husband because we were eating a party size piatos and a cold milk after we eat dinner and he said when he was younger he didn't experience to eat piatos because it was pricey and konti padaw yung laman. Then he added that our son is lucky because he experience to eat the food that he wants unlike us. Like he was eating a cupcake earlier and eat marshmallows and eat chocolate , drink C2 and then ate piatos again and sometimes he even wasted it because he wants another food but I always reminded him not to waste any food because there's a lot of people who experience hunger.

You know thier friends here , a couple of weeks ago I cook some pancake and then my son and niece didn't consumed it all and then they forget it after that's why I decided to give it to their friends. Then you know what happened? The pancake was gone instantly and even kulang panga. Then I remember myself on them when I was young.

18
$ 10.04
$ 9.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 9
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Naransan ko rin to, yung baon ko 5 pesos sa umaga 5 pesos sa hapon. Pero mura lang bilihin nun kaya okay lang naman. Kaso yjng mga gusto kung mabili na masasarap can't afford like chuckie ganyan,parang tuwing linggo ko lang siya naiinom kapag bagong sahod yung kuya ko. Nung high school 20 pesos lang din baon ko at nagsasave ako ng pers para makatikim din ng pagkain na gusto ko. ๐Ÿ˜… pero masaya parin noon kesa ngayon kasi yung 5 at 20 noon may nabibili ka ng nakskabusog mgayon naku wala kana atang mabibili na mabubusog ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung bobot ba tinutukoy mo my yen sa candy na 4 pcs ang laman? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala nmn syang tatak madam haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Been there done that ms. Yen. 5 pesos lang din baon ko. Glad that during our time tag 3 pesos palang ang banana cue at 2 pesos ang ice juice kaya solve na. Hanggang tingin lang noon sa mga baon ng mayayaman nating classmates. That's why today, kung may pera ibibili ko tlaga sarili ko kung anong di ko mabili noon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

rich kid can't relate kasi yung iba nabibili gusto nila hahaha. Relate na relate ako nito kasi 1-20 pesos lang kaya kong ma afford dati, tas ngayon kaya ko nang bilhin gusto kong mga foods na hindi ko mabili dati, tas super satisfying hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True hehehe. Nakakatuwa Lang no

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

But come to think of it, the foods we crave then are not healthy anyway :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes hahahaha. Ngayon mas naappreciate ko Yung mga fresh na pagkain e. I mean when I gave birth.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Nakakatuwa talaga now ate kahit din po ako nung bata ako diko nakukuha mga gusto ko kasi mahirap lang kami. Now, ganon padin naman pero paunti unti nakakaya ko na din po bilhin gusto ko pero kuripot kasi mas gusto ko paglaanan ng madaming pera yung mas importante.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay this reminds me of the girl i was before. Yung curious talag kung anong lasa, tapos hanggang tingin lang kasi walang pera. Unlike now when students go to school they have allowance yung iba hindi papasok pag wala, nabibili na nila mga food na gusto nila. Ngayun ne medyu angat2 na ngayun ko lang talaga natikman food na gusto ko noon may iba pa nga na hindi kasi di padin afford

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pero atleast may progress diba.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Relate ako jan sa mga di mabili nokn at di makain. Pero ang saya pa rin noon ee kamumura ng tinda galamo sa piso ang dami mo ng mabibili. Yong cents noon malaking bagay na aigooo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo hehehe. Ngayon yung piso mo jusko ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Damin ng pinagkaiba ng mga bata noon sa ngayon, di ba? Ako din numg bata madami din hindi nakuha, ka ngayon I am treating myself with the stuff I want, syempre kapag may pera lang๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba Ang saya? Yung finally nakakain mo na Yung mga foods na tinatanaw mo lang dati haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

The best ang feeling!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kmusta na nga pla apply mo? Dito nagtanong e no haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Demo teaching na sunod interview.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo miss yen. Tama ka halos mga bata ngayon nakakatikim na ng gusto nilang kainin unlike noon na sobrang layo. Ang bilis ng panahon. Dami ko din experiences elementary pa ko miss yen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro halos lahat Tayo na medyo Hindi RK hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

You also reminded me about all the memories of childhood, although we were given a little amount, but at that time it was still a source of pleasure for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. We are happy on the simple things back then

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Sometimes we have to think back and we will realize that most of the things we have now, use to be a dream to us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

true iba talaga yung feeling na nabibili mo na yung di mo nabibili nung bata ka pa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo mommy parang victory na din naba hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Relate ako sayo sis batang 80s naman ako , pero yung kahirapan natin ngayon hindi na ma experience ng magiging anak natin kasi gumagawa na tayo ng paraan para hindi nila maranasan yung naranasan natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh? Batang 80s? Ngayon ko lang Nakita avatar mo . mommy nadin pala ikaw

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago