My Mom Is An Addict

29 49
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Have kept this to myself for over 23 years now, I just can't anymore. We stood still while the car left, wishing she was conscious to wave at us but she didn't, rather was shouting and hitting her head against the window. He looked at me, and I winked, that was all mom left for us. She told us, winking meant, everything was going to be alright and that was all I told kelvin. Have lost count of the number of episodes she has had, so we were no strangers to her behavior.

It all began shortly after Kelvin's birth, when dad left, because their quarrels and fights became unbearable. I came home to meet dad pack his bags, I knew everything wasn't fine from the way, mom was sitting. While leaving dad hugged me, and told me, he will be back, but till date he hasn't return, It's over 25 years now.

Mom actually loved my dad but I couldn't understood reasons for their incessant quarrels. I knew she missed him, from the way he stares at his picture, from the Late night sobs emitting from her room. I wish I was of help but all I could do, was to play with little kelvin. It went on and on, until one day, Lisa her friend visited her. Mom sent me to go play with the other kids, I was shocked but that was the only freedom I had, so I wasn't going to interrogate her.

Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty

After a long hour of playing with friends, I was tired and it was getting late, I had to run home. They she was smiling and nodding to a tune I never heard. I perceived this leaf-like smell in our sitting room. I knew everything wasn't fine, I turn and they was my little kelvin, lying peacefully in his cot. I wish he could talk, then I would have asked him all the questions. The night drew near and I was expecting her soft sobs, so I could cry along, since I was scared something bad must have happened to mom, while I was away with friends, I heard nothing but only perceived the leaf-like smell again. Whatever spirit mom was conjuring, I would have loved to see him to. I crept out of bed to my mom's room, they room was dark, and filled with smoke. I stood for hours hoping to hear noises, never knew when I began to cough. Yes! The smoke was Choky too, mom put on the light, and I could see how disappointed she was. I smiled foolishly, I never knew what she was doing. I was happy, at last she was going to forget about dad, never knew I was selfish. Yes! I was selfish, I never knew the happiness I wanted for mom was detrimental. We hugged and returned to my room, no sobs, just the leaf-like smell.

Sativa from unsplash.com

Days turned into weeks, mom was gradually feeling better, thanks to the leaf, but how it was administered was still strange to me, I wasn't comfortable asking her, since I didn't want her to be reminded of dad. Then one day, Lisa came visiting. They both stayed in the sitting room, I was happy since I will be given the freedom to leave the house, but no! I was. They were comfortable having me around, they chatted for long and then came the leaf-like smell, I tipped toe to the sitting room, I was shocked, the smell was coming from my mom's lip. Little kelvin was playing by the corner, I took him out to play with friends. I was worried for my mom's new source of happiness, but I didn't want her to stop.

With time, she was now at liberty, she could puff her smoke even while we were having our breakfast. I mustered courage and inquired about the name of the leaf, all mom told me was, "it was called Sativa" I was relieved atleast I knew what name it was. One day in class, the teacher asked us to mention food that makes us happy, never knew when my hand was raised, only to echo the word which was on my mind "Sativa" , oh! Oryza sativa she said, I nodded in response, the trouble came when I was asked to state procedures of how it was prepared. It is very simple, I told the teacher, just burn it, and the smoke comes out from your mouth . Everyone was shocked. I was invited me to her house, and was scolded, she told me, what I explained was bad to health, she asked where I saw it prepared, but I had to lie, I watched it from the Tv.

Thought of losing mom, kept disturbing my little mind, when I got home, there she was puffing her source of happiness like no man's business, I just stood by the corner, shook my head and went inside my room. I knew mom was not going to be fine,but I wasn't ready to listen to her late night sobs, so I had to let sleeping dog lies.

With time, sativa was used to mom's system,slowly the late night sobs returned. This time, they were intense and terrifying. I walked to her room, and there she was puffing her sativa but they was no happiness anymore. She looked at me "they have stolen the happiness off sativa, are you guilty of this" I shook my head, walked up to her and held her. I had mixed feelings that night, mom wasn't smoking anymore but then, her sad days are back. It was weekend, I was home with my brother while mom stepped out. I stayed all day with my Kelvin, when mom returned, I felt this joy written all over her face. I was happy for she was happy, we chatted, ate the cake, she bought for us, and for the first time, we stayed together to watch tv in the sitting room. My heart began to beat faster, as the night drew near. We told each other good night and retired to bed, I was curious to hear her sob, but she didn't. Never knew when I slept off, woke the next morning. I noticed some powder close to mom's nose, I brought it to her notice, she smiled and cleaned it.

MOm's nose powder from unsplash.com

She behaved normal anytime they was powder in the side of her nose. As usual, I didn't want to ask her. It went on for months, then years. It got to a point, she wasn't concerned of cleaning the powder off her nose. The little powder stole all our life savings and even our valuables. I still remembered how two hefty men, came to carry our Tv. Mom was indebted to them. They were the dealers of the nose powder mom was using. Resilience was her watchword, because she never gave up on the powder, until all the furniture in the house were seized. This threw her into a new wave of depression, and she sort a new way to be happy......

To be continued...

Lead image : unsplash.com

11
$ 0.60
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 3
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

Drug addiction can be very bad, I also have a friend who experienced this but she quite better now through some therapies and counselling. It's nice meeting you though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so nice she quitted on time, coz drug abuse is detrimental

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish she will come out from drug addiction.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe she will

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oops Look how far pain drives us. It's sad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pain will make you do what you shouldn't have

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No, no, no. The Devil is not happy with it. How did she do that! Didn’t even think about you all!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nope, she didn't. I thought the devil is happy with her

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Drug addiction is harmful for health. Hope she will realise that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish she did

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think she needed professional help if none can be obtained from family members. I used to see "powder" from my papa's boots and I didn't know what it was. But I knew for sure it wasn't good because I saw him behaving strangely. May his soul rest in peace.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, she is.. Thanks for your contribution

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alrighty dear. You are welcome.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks friend... How are you ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am doing great in this hot night lol. I am going to study soon :) Just checking and was shocked how the BCH took a big dip lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Why not take a cool shower !

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I already did my friend and it's still hot :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is fine :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

π‘€π‘œπ‘ π‘‘ π‘‘π‘–π‘šπ‘’π‘ , 𝑖𝑑𝑠 π‘Žπ‘™π‘€π‘Žπ‘¦π‘  𝑑𝑖𝑓𝑓𝑖𝑐𝑒𝑙𝑑 π‘žπ‘’π‘–π‘‘π‘–π‘›π‘” π‘Žπ‘› π‘Žπ‘‘π‘‘π‘–π‘π‘‘π‘–π‘œπ‘›, π‘Žπ‘›π‘‘ 𝑒𝑣𝑒𝑛 π‘€β„Žπ‘’π‘› 𝑀𝑒 π‘‘π‘œ, 𝑖𝑑 π‘π‘œπ‘šπ‘’π‘  π‘€π‘–π‘‘β„Ž π‘ π‘Žπ‘‘π‘›π‘’π‘ π‘ , π‘‘β„Žπ‘–π‘  𝑖𝑠 π‘žπ‘’π‘–π‘‘π‘’ π‘‘π‘œπ‘’π‘β„Žπ‘–π‘›π‘” π‘‘β„Žπ‘œπ‘’π‘”β„Ž. 𝑁𝑖𝑐𝑒 π‘‘π‘œ π‘šπ‘’π‘’π‘‘ π‘¦π‘œπ‘’ π΅π‘‡π‘Š

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you dear.... Next to meet you too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Addiction is an ugly motherfucker. I’ve known addicts and I was even one myself for a few years until recently. May grace watch over you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So glad you pulled off it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ooh.. I felt sorry for her kids, if shes doing that at least not infront of her kids or else they will end up like her..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

always welcome πŸ’šπŸ’š

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That’s not necessarily true. Some people will use that as their inspiration to stay clean

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right but at least she should have his it from her children

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Absolutely

$ 0.00
1 year ago