COVID Scare | Investment Pieces For Your Health In This Time Of Pandemic

8 25
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

I don't know how many times I have experienced COVID scare in these two years of a pandemic but one thing for sure is that it freaks the hell out of me. I mean, who wants to get the virus? Of course, no one does. We are already two years into this pandemic and it's like a cycle. Strict restrictions and getting back to opening the borders of each province again.

I can still remember my first COVID scare, it was when the time our neighbor who works at a bank got infected by the virus. She lives literally across from our house and it's near. As good neighbors, we were the ones who took care of their needs since they weren't allowed to go out of their compound. We would buy food, medicines, and gas for their generator. It was scary knowing that the virus is airborne. That there is a possibility that it would infect us.

At first, I didn't know about it but I've been hearing conversations about it from my Mom. But then I figured it out and eventually, my Mom told me about it. I have the right to know about it since it's a potential threat to my health. The good thing about them is they didn't hide their statuses. They told our barangay captain to announce that they have tested positive for COVID-19.

Just this morning, I have once again have been through a covid scare and I am still in that phase. My Aunt and the rest of her family are sick and showing symptoms of Covid. They already isolated themselves and they do not leave their house. But there was a problem. My grandmother's sibling who lives there needs to be admitted to the hospital. Since they cannot go outside, my Mom and Brother needed to pick up my grandmother and bring her to the hospital. Thankfully, she's fine now but still admitted to the hospital and doesn't show signs of having a fever.

What scared me the most is that I went there just this morning because I needed to get some clothes and money to bring to the hospital. Of course, I was wearing a mask when I went there. And as I arrived home, I quickly disinfected the paper bag and the ang pao that has money inside. It's just so scary that the simple flu can freak the hell out of me. I mean, it's because of the pandemic. If this wasn't the time of pandemic and I had flu then, I wouldn't panic so much.

Investment Pieces For Your Health In This Time Of Pandemic

What I meant about Investment Pieces in this time of pandemic are the ones that can help to protect us from the virus. And these are just the pieces that are on my mind that are very essential:

Facemask

Facemask is a very important thing to have and wear. It filters the air and protects us from the droplets that are in our surroundings that might potentially carry the virus. There are facemasks in the market that aren't really effective in terms of protecting us from the virus. Some of those are the cloth facemasks and the ones that are just for aesthetic needs.

The good ones are the N95 or KN95 masks or if you can't afford these, you can always get the affordable ones that have a three-ply like the surgical masks. Also, you should still wear your face masks properly. I noticed other people who wear facemask that doesn't cover their nose and sometimes the mask is under their chin. Facemasks should cover half of your face for you to get protected.

Alcohol and Disinfectants

I saw a video yesterday from TikTok that the best alcohol is the 70% solution. It was explained by a doctor that alcohol that has a high percent solution doesn't automatically mean that it will be effective to use.

You can watch the video through this link.

Vitamins and Supplements

I made a post on my noise.cash account that I wanted to buy this brand of multivitamins. For me, this is worth it since it's already 500 tablets and it will last me over a year and I can share some with my siblings.

To compare the price of the former brand to Kirkland, the latter one is much budget-friendly. Anyways, you can always buy the supplements that you want. The effectiveness of a supplement is not according to its price or to whether it's branded or generic. It does the same thing.

Throat spray and Mouthwash

If you guys don't know about this, throat spray and Mouthwash actually kill viruses, bacteria & fungi that thrive inside your mouth. By the use of this, you can lessen the potential spread of viruses in your household and can ease the itchiness on your throat.

I highly recommend this since I've used this a couple of times already when I have a cough. It works well for me and it has a soothing relief. Although, the downside of this is that it's not budget-friendly. It sells for about 600 pesos. But I assure you that this is worth the price.


Final thoughts...

Having to experience a covid scare again reminded me to take going out easy. Being fully vaccinated isn't going to protect me from the deadly virus. I will probably not go out with my friends in the coming days to isolate myself.

The products that I've mentioned are just recommendations. You can still opt for the more affordable ones. If you can't afford or continue to have this at your home, then, the best way to save your money is to limit going out of your house.

Again, I am reminding everyone to not stop wearing facemasks. I know we are all eager for this pandemic to end but if we are not going to work together, then this wouldn't have an end.


Author's Note:

Thank you for reading this! CHED has already announced that limited face-to-face classes are going to push through even if the location of your university is under alert level 3. The best thing that you can do is to stay safe and healthy.

Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty

Check out my previous articles:

6
$ 4.82
$ 4.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Comments

Ayunnn. Sa wakas naalala ko din 'yung isa ko pang nakalimutan na bilhin kahapon, mouthwash. 😅 Wala kasi sa list ko ay. Hehe bukas ko na lang bibilin since I'll buy some cough remedy for our cousin. I'll take initiative na kasi sa amin s'ya often na nag-istay eh.

Anyways, ingat sa ating lahatt. True to what you said, ang dami pa din na mali ang pagsusuot ng facemasks. At the first month of surge of Covid-19, ganun si Mama eh pero okay na now. Natuto na sa sobrang paalala ko, hahah. Then meron pa din na iba na undenial about sa existence ni virus. Ayna kahirap pagpaliwanagan minsan eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mura lang sis yung gargle wash sa betadine. Bumili yung cousin ko kahapon tas less than 300 lang. Ingat ka sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kuuu basta akoy naga fm kada lalabas , keri na. Tapos di rin naman ako palalabas ng bahay at di nakikihalubilo sa kahit na kanino so I'm good I think. But we have alcohol din syempre.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din naman Ate. Halos naging home buddy na talaga ako ngayong pandemic unlike before na halos everyday ako nasa labas. Lumalabas na din ako ngayon ate kapag important o kaya naman to meet my friends but I make sure na wala akong symptoms ng covid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas better talaga mare na hindi itago na positive to spread awareness narin diba. Kasi dito samin parang timang, tinatago nila kung sino yung positive tas yung mga tao hindi aware kung sino yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Siguro kasi Mare natatakot rin sila majudge tas yung iba kasi baga parang binabato ng ibang tao. Tas yung iba wala na din talagang choice. Kunwari walang wala din, kahit may sakit na sila, pipilitin pa rin nila mag work.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaso ang mahal ng mga vitamins at supplements 😢

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga eh, yung presyo ng vitamins halos pambili na ng pagkain. ;"(

$ 0.00
2 years ago