Daddy Dearest - My father and my friend

6 41
Avatar for Venvie
Written by
1 year ago

This article was supposed to be posted yesterday, Father's Day but because there were so many activities lined up, I couldn't get a chance to write.

This is a letter dedicated to an amazing personality who has had great impact on who I am.

Dearest daddy,

Today is a reminder of how blessed I am to have you as a father. You've been there right before inception and when I finally came into the world, you became an every present figure in my life. You'd always get the latest toys,, and you ensured that your children never lacked a thing. When it gets dark, we'll gather in the living room waiting for our Ojuju Calabar to come and scare us away, and when we hear the growling sound, we scamper out of the room with our small legs laughing so loud. You know, it took me awhile before I understood that you were the one behind those scary, funny growls. I never allowed you to enjoy whatever you're eating to a full. I will always come close and keep giving you the "give me looks" which you always understand and share with me. While growing up, you told me that I could do anything that I put my mind to do that I could be a Jack of All trades and a master of all contrary to the views of the world but what's more important is that you didn't just tell me using the Bible as a reference, you also showed me a living example of that, yourself being a civil engineer yet a mechanical engineer, electrical engineer in one body thereby showing me not to always accept the notions of the world as true. You're my hero, Dad!

My alarm never wakes me up. You took it upon yourself to become my personal alarm. You'll come to my room and wake me up each day, and before I sleep, you always come around to see if I'm alright. An act you still do. Till this day. You never miss the opportunity to teach me about anything at all even when my siblings would say those are boys stuff you'll tell them a girl can do anything a boy does and vice versa.

You didn’t let me seek out adventures, you brought me along, showed me lots of places and your great story telling skills made me know about a lot of things that an average do not know about and when I get to share with my friends and teachers I was regarded as very smart. I would smile only if they knew that you were behind it all. For this reason, stuck with you in all you do, and gradually I began to share in some of your passions. You always nudge me not to be shy to express my thoughts and I got so attached and free around you. You became my best friend, and we talked about many things which I've taken to heart till this day.

Furthermore, you kept expressing your pride and acceptance of me, which made me self-confident and helped me scale through peer and societal pressures. Do you remember when we started the mini military school in the house? When I choose to play Commissioner of Police, thinking it was the highest hierarchy, and then you chose being the field marshal instead. Where you’ll ask me to investigate some persons, lol. After some years, I realized that Field Marshal is the highest rank and I stylish hijacked it from you which I use to ask for bribe every single time.

You've been there in my best and worst moments protecting and guiding me and I don't know how to appreciate you enough for your love, support and patience. You've taken a space in my heart that no one else can fill. I won't wish for any other General in this lifetime or the next.

I love you, daddy.

From Your baby girl and field Marshal

9
$ 0.92
$ 0.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.03 from @Lixten
+ 5
Sponsors of Venvie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Venvie
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ wow very impressive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good we still have good to say about our fathers, at least mothers shouldn't take all the credits always, nice one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That won't happen if father's are present just like my daddie

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwwn, I was emotional while reading this. I could imagine everything in my head, it was as if they were playing a video for me. It was similar to how I was brought up too, daddy's are the best also after mom.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's nice to hear that you can relate. My daddy is my number 1β™₯️

$ 0.00
1 year ago