The Real Value of a Job

41 101
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Job, Employment, Career, Salary, Value, ...

I got a permanent government job with lucrative perks.

I joined the permanent government job with immense hope.

  • It was a scientist's job to conduct research and developments in critical technologies for the defense ministry.

The defense research department was under the supervision of a respected person who later became the president of India!

  • The job was giving a good salary and perks.

  • It had full pension benefits.

But, there was a little problem!


But, I was not satisfied with the lucrative government job.

  • The scientist's job in the government defense R&D organization had no freedom of research and innovation. It was a tedious job of a technical manager!

  • Above that, the department was filled with corrupt technocrats, whose morale was too low, comparable with corrupt politicians!

The respected advisor of the department had a pretended image of a saint and supported all the corrupted practices.

I was not surprised when the same person accepted the invitation of the ruling political party to be the president of India. (He later tried to get nomination for the president position for the second term!)


The real value of a job relies on ethics and conscience.

  • I quit my permanent government job in 2007.

  • I worked as a professor in private engineering colleges for about ten years.

I have been working as a freelance developer of technology since 2017.

The earnings of my freelance work are now finite, and often very low compared to the salary of my last government job, but their real value is infinite.

  • Corrupt policies may give monetary gain, but employees lose mental peace.

Try to be away from jobs that embrace corrupt strategies and techniques.


Concluding thoughts

One can decide how to live.

  • Either live with dignity, high morale, and ethical standards.

  • Or make little and big compromises here and there, and earn a high income.

It is up to you.

=> Do whatever your conscience says you to do.


I thank @flapiz .. because the idea came while writing a comment on her article.


{Sponsor info}

Image Source TheGuy – Follow him on Noise and Hive for more insights.


Cheers!

Unity (Debesh Choudhury)

Text Copyright © 2022 Debesh Choudhury — All Rights Reserved

Join me at  

OdyseeLinkedInTwitternoise.cashread.cashpublish0x, and Facebook

Lead Image:  I created a GIF with my title texts and photos by Ben White and Noah Silliman on Unsplash.

All other images are either drawn/created/screenshots by myself or credited to the respective artists/sources.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

#job #employment #career #salary #value #ethics

Oct 21, 2022

22
$ 3.68
$ 1.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @TheGuy
$ 0.15 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 21
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Job, Employment, Career, Salary, Value, ...

Comments

I'm wondering how could you directly talk about him like he was so and so. He or someone close to him can see him and being at such a good position they can harm you.

Ahhha glad to know you worked as a professor. I respect teachers and especially mine. No doubt I have been learning for you too it make you my teacher.

Yes I could be less than that government job, but at least you are satisfied and not being a part of that corruption. I really respect your decision

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for your frank comment.

I knew him as the advisor of defense R&D, and as a staff Scientist, I closely experienced his administration. I even have a letter of mine with his hand-written reply!

I also experienced corrupt administration in the engineering colleges I worked!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mistakenly posted direct reply.

It wasn't a frank sir, I really meant that.

I think you have shown us that very letter somewhere or talked ... I forgotten

Corruption has overcome our entire system,. Almost everywhere and everyplace has this cancer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Frank means candid or open. It is a positive trait.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Apologies my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes its always a matter choice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There comes into play your ethics and values vs the company's and the people you work with. Most of the time, it is the people and the work environment that is toxic but the job itself is valuable not just to you as employee but the impact it has to the community.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You wrote my mind. The dead work culture and the unethical management helped me make the hard decision to quit a permanent government job.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In fact you made the right decision as long as you are happy, you may have good salary but your environment is toxic, its not worth it, you are talented and skillful enough to have confidence quitting your permanent job

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for understanding my situation. Still, when very few of my ex-colleagues sometimes send messages or telephone me, I feel nostalgic!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do understand your situation because Im on your situation right now, but I cant quit 😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Take time and make practical plans.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Practical plan is to stay in my job, so hard to find other job nowadays, I need money because I have my wife and my little daughter to fed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yours is a good plan of action. Stay focused :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sacrificing for others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To me working under someone is not a good feeling due to constant pressure and misbehaviour, that's the reason I will never indulge myself in a job. I enjoy and want the freedom. I am more free, creative and stress free without it. And I don't want to live only for earning money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Freedom is an orientation that many of us can't neglect in life. You are one of them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You hit it on the head. Taking a job isn't always about the pay. How the organization is perceived by it's outside environment is important as well. Is the organization truthfully and legally making decisions to meet it's objectives should be considered as well. The larger they are the more likely they are to be corrupt. Not always of course :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I can agree with you. Big organizations are indeed likely to have more problems and corruption.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is more politics in government jobs. The tendency to take bribes is high in government jobs but the pay is comparatively low. I really need a job now. But I am not getting a job.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Set up a new chapter on LinkedIn (if you haven't yet had one), and create a personal brand image. You get many free features, such as job search, campus for the students, etc. https://read.cash/@Unity/setup-a-new-chapter-on-linkedin-caa49f15

Networking with LinkedIn members will help you get into a network of global professionals.

Then, join freelancing platforms, such as Upwork, and find work.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks friend for explaining the work areas. I want to do freelancing, let's see when I can learn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Student life is the best time to start learning to earn :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not everybody can have a government job but here it's happening as politicians are destroying the working class and (independent) with more and more taxes, the worst and expensive system in the European Union, so all people want a position in any stupid public office although they do nothing there... just going out for smoking or shopping in working hours. But if you check numbers, they are receiving more money this year (next year elections) but how can those salaries be paid if people who produce are less everyday? Not sustentable at all but they are happy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree. The elected politicians, i.e., parliamentarians and other elected positions, raise their daily allowances, but the common citizens' income reduces, and the price of food and other necessities rises!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't like government job due to corrupt policies and involvement of Corrupt system. You are right, a job should be reserved with free and faire policies.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Corrupt policies give monetary gain, but employees lose mental peace forever.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A government job is always lucrative! It comes with a lot of benefits. In a society, people value and respect that job. But how you feel about it can change everything.

When there is a question about morals, you have to decide what to embrace. We need money to live, but we are not living for money. Thank you for sharing this.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Morals and ethics drive people to protest against corruption. The more people care for integrity, the more they do good for the future generation. But the needs of life play the spoilsport while doing these.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True some jobs is not just amount being paid well, is the nature of the job

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jobs often put some compromising situations in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The value of jobs varies from person to person. But honest people will take the decision of honesty. Well, earning money is hard but choosing the way of earning, good or bad , is more harder.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You wrote a good sentence:

earning money is hard but choosing the way of earning, good or bad , is more harder.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Integrity is more important. Keep it up sir

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am glad to get your agreement :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am very happy to have inspired this article. I admire you for taking the moral ground profession wise and following your heart despite the great risk.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks a lot for your appreciation :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thats why many expert is always saying love your job even it is small or big, but at the end of the day when we need to grow and makes more valuable many of us are looking in big company and having a good benefits

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But, most people accept compromising job assignments because it is challenging to live with uncertain income.

$ 0.00
1 year ago