I Tried to Pay by Bitcoin Cash

Avatar for Unity
Written by
2 years ago

I have read that cryptocurrency is the future.

I have been experimenting with cryptocurrencies by earning on cryptocurrency-based content publishing platforms. I have also earned by using the Brave browser's reward program. I have also tested Presearch, a search engine that returns some crypto tokens while searching.

I haven’t invested in any cryptocurrency. My hardcore programmer friend, a permanent resident of the US since 1987, had watched the development of Bitcoin etc. He never invested any money on cryptocurrency. He is happy investing in the stock market.

He smiled when I told my American friend about earning cryptocurrencies by blogging. I told him, "It is real; people are getting Bitcoin Cash and are converting them to fiat."


I had read some cryptocurrency whitepapers and more

I have been reading and knowing about the technology of cryptocurrency since 2017. I, along with a like-minded person from Europe, who has a strong background in engineering, studied a lot during 2017 – 2019.

We have interacted with a cryptocurrency startup based in Singapore. They have been innovating on smart contract using Ethereum. They also developed their cryptocurrency and have collected a good sum of funding.

We have ghostwritten several tech blogs on Medium for their superior smart contract. The use case could not yet come to real-world applications. My European friend and I didn't try to implement their crypto token for any smart contract application by our own hands.


Today, I am earning token Bitcoin Cash by blogging

Reading, writing, telling people about cryptocurrency is one thing. Earning cryptocurrencies or converting fiat money to cryptocurrencies is another thing.

Today, I have decided to try hands-on testing at least one Bitcoin Cash payment.

I buy all grocery items from a nearby grocery shop. The shop owner's father created the shop some seventy-five years ago. The shop owner's son (say Bittu is his name) is a freshly passed out mechanical engineer. Bittu didn't get a suitable job. So, he is helping his father in running the grocery shop.


Today I have decided in paying with Bitcoin Cash

When I reach the grocery shop, Bittu is going out on his two-wheeler, a scooter. I have told him, "Bittu, today I will try to pay using Bitcoin Cash." Bittu smiles like my American friend. I am adamant. So, I have made him create an account on a popular cryptocurrency exchange.

I have shown Bittu how to share with me his deposit Bitcoin Cash address. He has shared the BCH address immediately. I have selected a few items, such as one litre mustard oil, soaps, tooth paste, etc. That totals a cost of approximately INR362 or US$4.73.

I have logged into my ReadCash account and initiated payment to Bittu's BCH address. The payment GUI on ReadCash points to Blockchair-dot-Com to check the status of the transaction status.


Payment of US$4.73 by BCH has taken almost 47 minutes

Bittu is still smiling and looking at my face. He probably knows what will be the result. Bittu's smiling face hints at something I don't want to result.

The waiting is too long. The shopkeeper boy then takes his scooter and has gone out for his work. He returns after half an hour or so. He is nodding his head with a sign of denial. The payment of US$4.73 arrived to Bittu’s BCH wallet after almost 47 long minutes!

Bittu again smiles and has gone inside their grocery shop to entertain new customers. My Bitcoin Cash micro-payment has eaten up a long time. I don't have anything to say to the young boy of 23. I am not an expert on cryptocurrency transactions. I can only expect the process of cryptocurrency transactions may have to improve.


There could be a solution to this! But, what is that?

  • I am curious to know what is @Eybyoung 's experience of taking BCH payments in their shop. I don't dare to tag the expert people.

I expect expert people will give me some solutions.

  • The payment adoption with Bitcoin cash may change the small business arena, if and only if, the time and transaction fee are vanishingly small or in good comparison with VISA and Mastercard.


Closing remarks and questions

  • Maybe, I am a newbie and do not know how to manage cryptocurrency transactions.

  • Maybe, the wallet chosen is not the right one. Wallets of different cryptocurrency exchanges may take different processing times.

  • Maybe, the amount of cryptocurrency has got a role in transaction time.

  • There could be many more reasons, and I wish to know.

  • Will anybody give some clue how cryptocurrency micropayments may be done fast for BCH and other cryptocurrencies?


Postscript

I practice Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) for many years. I have secretly added, "Arts" and "Fine Art" to my interests. So, now my interests become STEAM - Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics.

I develop solutions for password and cybersecurity relevant to blockchain and cryptocurrency.

Check my writing communities:

Thanks to all my sponsors, whose names appear in the "Sponsor" pannel.

I hope all members of the blogging community strive here and elsewhere.


Cheers!

Text Copyright: Unity

Lead Image: I created an animated GIF with my text title and a Photo by Tima Miroshnichenko from Pexels, and a screenshot of a part of the BCH Logo download page https://bitcoinbch.com/resources/logos.

All other graphics and videos are credited just below it.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

I am also on Noise.Cash ... click the link if you are there.

March 08, 2022.

15
$ 5.86
$ 5.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @SolarPhasing
$ 0.10 from @sj0820
+ 8
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Why wait? Bitcoin cash has zero confirmation times. BCH is fast, cheap and realiable. Have a look at "Bitcoin Cash City" Videos on YouTube for other merchant experiences. →https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCITfFRIHm4RD2xv_RB378IQ/videos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, I shall view the video and learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, @Eybyoung I wish to know your experience with BCH payment in your shop.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For sure a business is NEVER going to spend that much time awaiting a transaction to complete in real-time environments like a retail store. It may be something that could work for an online retail environment, but never for offline, at least not at the current transaction speeds.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, some easy way-outs should be found. In the meantime, crypto technology will/should also improve.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agreed. It gets better everyday,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every day we see more adoption. But, cryptocurrency technology is not progressing much. It is promoting/milking the same technology without much innovation. I mentioned finding an indirect way to show the payee a quick confirmation about the payment.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It all depends on some factors.

  • It depends on how much sat/octets you pay the fees (For exemple with Electron Cash Wallet, you can set it.).
  • The saturation of the network at the transaction time. And in your case.
  • Some cryptocurrency exchange are waiting for all confirmations of a transaction to validate. So it can be long. But the money is really sent before. For exemple, I use one exchange where only 3 confirmations is enough to credit your BCH in your Wallet.

With Electron Cash Wallet you do the in/out pretty fast. And the payment appears instant, even if it needs to be completely validated.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Your detailed advice helps. I shall check the referred wallet.

$ 0.01
2 years ago
$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think BCH have a good future or I hope so, in the meantime let's keep earning more!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In my first experiment of BCH as a payment instrument, it took a long 50 minutes to complete one successful transaction. Our local grocery shop owner's tech-savvy young son did not like it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well maybe the first steps are like this, but it's a starting of something that can be much better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully, it will improve. Maybe, the technology will need to change/innovate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Technology and innovation need to be used and proved since the first steps, it's how it will improve, hope so.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I guess that there are indirect ways to facilitate a fast showing of the "payment of [this] BCH done" message to the seller.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also work Presearch search engine. I know it's a good coin. But bch is the best coin.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Read the article. My experimental BCH payment took almost 50 minutes to complete. The shop-owners may not waste such a long time in only one payment. They have to serve many customers in 10 to 15 minutes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago