The three Musketeers of failure

18 97
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

This month of May has been a rollercoaster for me. Unlike April, this month started with a rapid decline in the price of major crypto currencies including our beloved BCH.

Even my writing streak here on this platform is nowhere as good as that of April as I have missed more than twice the number of days I didn't write in the month of April.

I just don't know, it is seems the month of May wasn't really a happy month for me. Well I am grateful that with all the turbulence I'm still alive and there is no recent loss of any loved one.

Sometimes I hit depression mood anytime I think and view the trajectory of my life. I do write motivational articles sometimes, but I really don't fancy it. Because anytime I publish one; I tend to laugh hard at myself. I just wish I could just follow what I wrote. If I could; I'm definitely sure I would be happier with my Life.

Today I have decided to narrow down my habits and things that hinders me from progressing into three. These three habit I have termed the "three musketeers of failure"

The first musketeer; procrastination

Well for those who don't know, I can describe myself as a serial procrastinator and it is really something I am ashamed of.

You see the effect of procrastination isn't felt until something grave happen as a result of you procrastinating what you ought to do.

Something happened to me some hours before publishing this article and it was as a result of me procrastinating, and my nonchalant attitude of not doing the right things at the right time. Now I have to pay a price for it, infact a bigger price.

This act of procrastinating has also affected me academically and I believe this slow killing habit has made me an average or even below average student when I ought to be among the toppers or the "creme de la creme" of my class.

The second musketeer; lack of concentration

I easily lose concentration whenever I am doing something or I resolve to do something. I might be doing something now and the thought to check my phone or something else would pop into my head and I'll just forgo what I ought to do or was doing. This lack of the ability to focus and concentrate makes me muddle up whatever I'm doing.

Instead of me completing one thing, then move onto the next. I'll be trying to solve all at the same time. Which is practically impossible. Then instead of solving one completely I don't, instead it result in me touching half here, half there. As a result it all becomes strenuous, time taking, and meaningless and most times I don't get the desired results.

The third musketeer: lack of priority

The third musketeer is a child or family of the second one and it's "lack of the ability to set priority".

You see the ability to be able to decide and know the important thing to do at a particular time is very fundamental and key to make headway in life.

The ability to discern what is important and weigh duties carefully carries a lot of power and without having this you might get lost on how to solve problems and arrange your life.

We humans always have our mind burden with thoughts of doing a lot of things at a particular time. Choosing what comes first and last is what can be hard to do.

Yeah it might be easy for some people but for some like me it can be difficult. For example it is 10 am on Saturday, you feel like doing the laundry, watching a movie, house cleaning, reading your book, drafting your article etc.

Prioritizing involves one taking up all these activities one by one and weighing them, by asking your self which of these activities are important and relevant to do at that moment.

Why I write this

I am not writing this article to belittle myself but perhaps by writing about these habits that hinders me might help and be of lessons to others and most importantly to myself perhaps it will spur me to make the changes that are needed.

Thank you for reading

Noise cash

Noise cash is back; up and running. If we aren't friends on noise cash yet, you should click on the my username "TomiAjax" so we can be friends.

Screenshot of my noise cash account

29
$ 3.38
$ 2.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ling01
$ 0.10 from @Giddyboy
+ 24
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

Procrastination just like you said kills a person slowly which will make such person lazy. Procrastination is a killer of time and energy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Procrastination does kill time and energy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right friend the low price and you are also right that the person always has a burden in the mind of the thoughts of doing many things at a particular time. So this is a good lesson

$ 0.03
1 year ago

We are all procrastinators, it is how human are but our ability to have it controlled matters. I also drop motivational sometimes and laugh hard because it just too funny

$ 0.03
1 year ago

It is really funny when you are write the solution to the problem you have and you are still facing it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Shit...we humans are just funny in nature I guess

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I fall in the category of the procrastinator, I use to do this well but I'm getting it worked on, by setting out plans for my daily doings and mandating it to to be done at that the moment scheduled for it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I would say the first two are my bodyguard, especially the first. I lose concentration easily though, but often flowing in and out.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Procrastination is a real badoo. I can relate to it a lot but I'm working on it now. The cure for wanting to do many things at the same is having a plan. Map out what you want to do in a day and adhere strictly to it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like your advice Venvie.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right tomi .. these three musketeers are the strongest brothers of failure and they creep up on you without you Knowing it. Gosh it’s so scary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really scary, I pray they get off me

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They say don't leave today's work for tomorrow. don't delay anything. The other two are very important. You would never be underestimating yourself by writing this. There are others who have these. My new account in NoiseCash https://noise.cash/u/Marazow

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There really is a lot of work to do out there for many of us. Procrastination births all of these failures. It's evil.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really evil.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You know why I'd put myself among the first musketeers? Well, I procrastinate a lot of the time, which isn't ideal, but I believe there's no way humans can stop procrastinating. When we have a lot of tasks on our table, we tend to put off others for another day, which leads to procrastination, so the best thing to do is not procrastinate for too long.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is one thing to find out that you have a problem, and it is another thing to work towards eradicating that issue. You are not alone in this table expecially the part of not being able to complete one thing before moving to another, others might inturn describe it as being multi-tasking, but believe me. It is far from it. I strongly believe that maturity will find a solution to this problem, perhaps, there was a time u never thought you had a problem.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I like your comment Danfoster, yes there was a time I didn't think being easily distracted was a problem.

But now I'm old, It might play me down when it comes to handling important things. Hope to change the bad habits

$ 0.00
1 year ago