The Online Reunion

41 79
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

The fire was ignited on Good Friday by my close friend who decided to share a broadcast to our "alma mater" high school group chat, I kindled the fire by expressing my surprise that the dormant group chat was still in existence.

Others joined too and from one message, it turned to hundreds of messages. And currently the fire of messages is still burning since Friday the number of messages (in different forms, pictures, text, voice note) must have been more than two thousand.

It seems we have all missed one another as it been six years since we all graduate from high school.

Now we are all scattered in different fields and works of life, some are in tertiary institutions (like me), some have graduated from tertiary institutions, some are now married, some have given birth to kids and some didn’t think of furthering their education and some are working in companies or are into business of theirs.

Oh! Tempus fugit! (the Latin expression for; ‘time flies’ ). It all seem like yesterday when we were young teens receiving classes together, but now we are all adults.

When the group chat was still dormant we were not up to thirty but now a lot of people have been added, as a result we have more 55 people in the group chat. Everyone is confused as we all ask; "oh who is speaking", and we decided to share pictures to help remember one another and clear the confusion.

Sincerely speaking it is fun and exciting chatting with those former high school colleagues once again. Few of us see ourselves sometimes especially those who still live in the town our high school is situated or those who are studying in the same institution.

Apart from being exciting, the online reunion is actually an eye opener as you get to see different things my mate are into. Some have a particular skill and they are very good at it now.

For example we have a software engineer in our midst who specialize in data analysis and artificial intelligence. Sometimes when I look at what some of my mate have achieved I feel disturbed, envious (not in a wrong manner) and feel piteous.

But I was brought to my right senses when someone reminded us of a colleague of ours; a very jolly guy who was in art department. This lad "kicked the bucket" more than 2 years ago. Then I ask myself why do I feel so bad or sad. I realize that being healthy and alive is something to be grateful. (This just a reminder that not every of our set is still alive)

The scammer party

I noticed from the reunion that some of my former classmate have become rich. Most of them who are rich have not gotten their wealth in a legit manner that one can be proud of.

Many of them (most especially the guys) are into what we know as "yahoo, yahoo" (a local slang in my country for internet fraudster.)

Internet fraudster is becoming a norm in my country, many use the "lack of jobs" (a cock-and-bull story) as a pretext to get into it. Young boys and men that are involved in fraud these days don’t even hide it anymore. They all flaunt their wealth in public, they wear the hottest and nicest clothes, they use the most expensive phones. It a common thread, that even ladies these days want to date or marry a yahoo boy all because of money and materialistic possession.

This raise a cause for alarm because if you ask anybody, they all know one person be it a friend, a family member or an acquaintance that does fraud.

Bad image

This internet fraudster gives the country a bad image, sometimes when someone online ask what country am I from. I feel shy to say, due to the image these fraudulent individuals have painted about the country

This bad image is making many talented youth lose a lot of opportunities as many international companies don’t want to hire or employ a Nigerian, or some certain payment system are not supported in the country.

Just yesterday while I was viewing one of my friend's whatsapp status I came across a TikTok video showing the ranks of the top ten countries with the most scammers.

A screenshot of the video

As you can see from the screenshot my country; “Nigeria” was ranked on top.

What you should know

I want to tell everyone reading this, that not every Nigerian is a scammer. Nigerians are very intelligent and hardworking people, we have people that have contributed immensely to the development of the global world in different sectors ( I'll probably write an article about great people that are from Nigeria)

Remember that every country on earth has its share of good citizens and bad citizens. Don't let the actions of the bad citizens cloud your mind and make you prejudice a particular nationality🧏

Thank you for reading 🤩

24
$ 3.47
$ 2.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @esmeesmith
$ 0.05 from @BSzandra
+ 15
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

Scams are everywhere. We just have to be vigilant.

Good for you that you had time to catch up with your former classmates.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We just need to vigilant, is your country in the list?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Make sense. You guys are peaceful. I remember my school online reunion, we fought on phone 😁😁. I didn't use the word quarrel because the fight was loud😁😁. Blocking each other 😂😂😂. But I love the fact that you saud every Nigerian is not a scammer

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Little jibes were thrown at each other too, but in general we acted maturely

$ 0.00
1 year ago
$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't worry my country will take over yours soon, haha. But seriously I have never got the impression of judging people over some videos and news. Because most of the time it's over cooked. And I only knew that Nigerian people are the most fun and jolly type people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I doubt if your country can overtake mine😅. The numbers of fraudster are increasing here day by day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Alumni party is always for showing off wealth. These guys are tarnishing the name of the country every day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They are seriously doing that and it is just sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Before now, a lot of people weren't bothered with the activities of yahoo boys as young as there weren't the one getting scammed but people started feeling the heat when it became too rampart and started affecting our image abroad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Even those yahoo boys do things in secret before but these days they are flaunting their wealth and are even proud to say that this what they are doing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad to know you reunited with your high school classmate via online means, social media precisely. What saddens my heart is the rate at which Yahoo is increasing, it's rising at a very alarming rate, you would see young guys and girl showing their pride of being yahoo people, oh my goodness! How did we fall into this in this country. This act has spoilt the name of our country, that other countries' citizens now fear us even than the deadest bomb, because they're afraid of being scammed. What pains me most is that we that aren't into the dubious Acts are getting implicated, in the sense we hardly get opportunities from abroad nowadays. They are beginning to term all of us as scammers. God please help us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We should all play our part by educating people around us on the dangers of fraud and we shouldn't support those that are doing it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember when we had our own reunion. We blocked each other last last😁😁 but now we're good. Thanks for making it known that not every Nigerian is a scammer

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's what the world is turning into and we find ourselves in the midst of so called yahoo boys.... They keep making their money illegally and when they are arrested they still get out freely to continue their so called work

$ 0.01
1 year ago

God knows I have been quiet on that group, I don't even open the messages again and if I accidentally did, I leave and don't bother reading through because I don't understand why someone in a reunion group would wake up one morning and start asking for introduction including what one does for a living🤦🏽‍♀. Because most of them are financially ok now, through their illegal hustle, those that are still looking up to God should goan die,right? It's well.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Lol,I exited my high school group chat 2days after I was added. I always come online to see tons of irrelevant messages, using abusive words on one another. I jejely used the exist button. I don't have strength for drama. For internet frauders ( Yahoo Yahoo), 70% of Nigerian youths are into Yahoo,is no longer a hidden something,they flaunt their wealth and if you are a lady you aren't dating a Yahoo guy,you are not among the happening babes oo 🤣 May God help us all

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Imagine, many ladies leave their boyfriend all because of greed and they go and begin to roll with yahoo boys.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah,Yahoo guys gives them money in bundle unlike regular boyfriends. All they care about is the money without trying to know the source of the money or the implications afterwards.that was how a student from my school was killed by the so called boyfriend and slept with her corpse for 6days after engaging her.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

For real, this is really scary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, sure!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You don't need to be shy to say your country. If there a lot of scammers...who cares? Say it proudly you are not one of them. Anyway...there are a lot of poor people unfortunately and this is the reason in my opinion. If someone badly need money he won't care about "rules". In my country there are a lot of scammers too. For example foreign people who are vacation here often pay huge bills in restaurants and pubs and elsewhere. They don't know the prices here and they can't argue because of the bills sometimes. I am not proud of my country when I hear these stories but as you sad there are good citizens and bad citizens everywhere. We know we are good ones and that's enough 😘

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ma'am BSzandra, I appreciate your immense contribution. Yeah the situation is critical in my country, especially lack of jobs and massive inflation. But I feel that isn't an excuse for one to go on defrauding people.

Thanks for also sharing the example of your country.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember when I was added to my highschool reunion group, had to start checking people's pictures one after the other. Time flies indeed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some people you will hardly remember them

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My country is ranked sixth, I hope it won't be bad for other real users who are really struggling in a good way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're from Indonesia right.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, you right sir.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every country and even individuals has bad characters sometimes. The reason why Nigeria is the highest is because the government are not providing adequate infrastructural facilities and yet the youths ( scammers ) are anxious for money.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for this .. I feel like people should understand that not every Nigerian is a scammer although if we see opportunity many of us go scammer but still 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I no trust you Jumper 😅. But sincerely the prospect of huge money is actually tempting

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah but it is hard and illegal

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂 Bro make we no lie na Nigerians dey scam pass🤣🤣. Also why are you not yet married 😏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mofif, wait am I so old already. If so help me find a wife

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ok just send in your specs to my dm. I am the best matchmaker in the business.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right friend when in a reunion, many different lives we can meet. There is a rich and moderate life

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Réunion parties are a place to oppress nowadays. Some people just go to see who has and hasn't made it yet. Yahoo yahoo is very common in Naija and that's not something to be proud of, again Nigerians are awesome and intelligent humans.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Reunion is an avenue for the oppressors to oppress. So if you've not really made it or have enough money at your disposal, it's advisable you stay on your own till then. Nigeria is at the top of the list, most probably because of our population and the rate of unemployment but it's worthy of more to know that not all Nigerians are scammers. Some persons worked so hard to get to where there are now. But these scammers are just up there destroying the image of the hardworking Nigerians. Let's just hope things get better for Good 😊.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The oppression is much, the state of the country isn't encouraging and it helps breed scammers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reunion parties are very interesting and fun to be, I remembered the one my set did last year December, we all had fun and shared ideas together. Every country has its own bad and that shouldn't affect the good ones.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Comrade, you've spoken well. Yeah reunion are interesting and fun

$ 0.00
1 year ago