Learning can be fun

17 56
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

My first year in university was very difficult. I got to discover that University is quite different from high school, and in its method of teaching too. In university especially in the first year; people in the same faculty usually take common courses together in a very large hall.

You have to be in the hall very early or you won't to seat at the front where you can hear the lecturer clearly. If you come late to the lecture hall you might not get a seat, as the class might be full.

As a result I wasn't grasping what was being taught in class. I remember a certain day two weeks to the beginning of exam. We were having chemistry in the lecture hall, I did my best to pay attention but still yet I couldn't understand the topic being taught by the lecturer.

It felt as if the lecturer was teaching in a foreign language. I saw some people in the hall jotting down points in their notebook and I felt like I was dumb.

After the class I asked some other acquaintance of mine, if they understood what was being taught, most of them were as confused as I was.

I wasn't able to get any one who understood to explain in details to me. I felt bad and angry. According to the lecturer this was the last and of the most important topic in the course, and it going to appear a lot in our examination.

When I got to the hostel I told some of my roommates who were in higher levels; the problems I was facing. I was glad I did actually because one them suggested I check the net for free tutorials on any topic I was finding difficult to understand. He suggested I use YouTube so I get to watch videos that would break it down and simplify the topic .

Well, I never thought about using YouTube, perhaps it was because I just started using a smartphone then.

I went to YouTube and started searching for videos, and oh my goodness I saw a lot of videos on that topic, the next problem was knowing which video to download or not to.

Lucky I came across the channel called "The organic chemistry tutor", this man simplify the topic as if I was in kindergarten. I had a "B" in that course when I was thinking I was going to fail.

What lead to this story and this article today was the poem I wrote; "Learning is fun"

My poem

Learning is fun, when you're learning in the right way but learning within the education system has been flawed for a long time, with the school system being so rigid that it sometimes focuses too much on theory than practical or real-life skills.

The traditional form of learning relies on teachers' lectures, but this doesn't always work all the time. Inside the education system, students are forced to learn in very specific ways which may not be suitable to every student.

This is one of the reasons why students often feel overwhelmed and even bored when they learn topics that seem too complex or unrelated to them. This leads to a feeling of discomfort, which then discourages students from continuing with their studies.

Being taught by a good teacher.

Teachers are people who show us the path, but it is left to us to do the walking. Just like YouTube teacher I found, he taught me the basics of the topic and I was able to use my imagination to define it the way I feel it is best. The best teachers are the ones who don't tell you how to think, but help you discover it for yourself.

Learning with the right tool

Never in the history of mankind, access to information as being so free as today. That because we live in a very unique time. There has never been a generation more connected than the current one. The internet has connected us in ways like never before and knowledge has been available for free for anyone who is interested in learning about any subject.

Technology has made revolutionizing the education system a lot easier than it was before, thanks to online learning tools.

Being enthusiastic about what you are learning

If you are enthusiastic about what you are learning then you will learn a great deal. If you are not enthusiastic then you may remain stagnate. That is why it is essential to keep learning as we grow older. That does not mean that we have to become stuck in the classroom for the rest of our lives. It means that we should be open to learning. Learning only stops we kick the bucket

______The End____

Thank you for reading

21
$ 4.98
$ 4.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @Big-E
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
+ 16
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

That's why we need to grow, because that is how education works, it could be difficult but if you will study and love to study then you'll achieve what you want

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Studying can be difficult but if one put his or her heart to it. Excellence is gonna be the result

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You know we are more perfect than ourselves in every area of our life. The same things apply to teaching and learning. Some students find learning as something worth doing every day(fun), while some are not, they are also teachers who know the best way to make students flow with them while they teach while some are not. They are just in between each other

$ 0.01
1 year ago

One thing I discovered is that the teacher who applies the right methodology attracts the learners and the success rate in such a subject is appreciable. Hence, learning can be fun rather than scary.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly sir, especially coming from a well experienced tutor as you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right my friend. During my first year second semester, one of my lecturers made two of our courses difficult until we sat down to read more on our own.

For those lecturers that taught us well, their classes were always interesting and fully attended.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A good teacher class is always interesting and never boring

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can relate to this. remembering now a physics lecturer of mine makes me laugh, like the man literally came to class and dictate physics (physics of all courses!). When he asked us '' do you understand?!" Everybody replied "No!", he just said "OK OK that's good that means you are getting it, let's move on". We didn't know if we were to laugh or cry to such statement😂.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ha! What kind of lecturer is that, the scenario you shared is very hilarious.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now I see!! You like to always write poem huh 🤔 I’ve not been admitted yet but most of my friends also complain this to me that the lecturers doesn’t teach or explain adequately and also they talk to the crowd as if they were talking to 3-5 students. I think this happens in Unilag.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love writing poems but it been a while since I wrote one last.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being taught by a good teacher; makes me remember my shorthand lecturer, but for him... I wouldn't have loved shorthand.

Our own lecturers train and teaches us like teachers would do. A good teacher and being enthusiastic about what you're being taught indeed gives learning a better atmosphere.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I guess you're a good teacher too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Adjusting from secondary school to the university can be difficult. Two different worlds, but you have to adjust regardless

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Change is constant, we just have to adjust with the change that comes with progress

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Friend really studying at a University is very different than in high schools. But sometimes that also depends on the person studying. If you are a really good student. Any high school grade is really available

$ 0.02
1 year ago

There is a lot of difference between the two.

$ 0.00
1 year ago