Doomed to Dance!

15 51
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
2 years ago

The Netflix movie titled; "Ivy and Bean; Doomed To Dance" is a comedic family movie. Although I had seen the movie flyer before, I didn't have it in mind to watch because from the flyer I could see that it was a family movie and it might not fit my taste in genre. The reason why I watched the movie was due @HappyBoy 's suggestion which he made as a comment on my post.

Why do I Love the movie?

Even though the movie made me feel sleepy since it wasn't an action or thriller movie, I didn't regret watching it. The reason for this is because I found the situation I was once in, highlighted and played by two amazing kid actors(Ivy and Bean).

Those two, especially Bean get excited when she hears about an extracurricular activity. She always wants to try it out. She had tried learning gymnastics, trumpets, and baseball. But guess what? She quit within two weeks of beginning.

I was once like her too, because I remembered as a kid I didn't know what I wanted to do or become.

How it influenced me.

I am influenced by the way Ivy's and Bean's parents allowed and supported them to learn whatever they wish.

Definitely, when I become a Dad one day, I would be supportive of my children's dream to become whatever they want to become (as far as it is legal).

Most interesting scene

Even though the movie was slow for my liking, I can't deny that there were some funny and interesting moments. The part I found interesting the most was when Ivy and Beans made a spell to make their mums forget they took ballet classes because Bean promised her mum she would never quit. But it turned out that their spell didn't work(lol).

Remarkable scene

One of the remarkable scenes was when Ivy's mum allowed Ivy to quit ballet. Ivy asked her mum,

"are you not mad at me."

Her mum replied she wasn't, and she was supportive of her learning and discovering new things. She made it more positive by stating that by taking ballet her daughter had discovered she wasn't good at it.

But a different scenario played out between Bean and her mum. Her mum told her that she can't quit ballet, and Bean protested saying,

"Ivy's mum let her quit. Why can't you let me too?"

Bean's mum replied,

"mums are different just like kids are."

She went on to add that the reason why she didn't want Bean to quit was that she wanted to teach her how to stick to something. She told her daughter that, ballet is hard but if she(Bean) worked hard and persevere she might discover that she is good at it.

If you ask me I would say both mums are right, but I like Bean's mum's idea. There is nothing easy to learn, but if we are determined and work hard it would become easy.

This was also a message for me because I started learning web development recently, and to be sincere: I found it difficult sometimes and I have felt like giving up. But just like Bean's mum said, if you work hard you might discover that you are good at it.

Impressing Actor/Actress

I marvel at the acting talent of "Madison Skye Validum", who played the role of Bean in the movie. She is just Nine years old, and her acting was great. In the nearest future, I foresee her becoming one of Hollywood's top actresses.

Significance of the movie. Is it worth watching?

Even though I felt sleepy while watching it, perhaps due to being tired and the lack of action (lol). The movie is a must-watch for every family. It teaches kids valuable lessons, not only kids but parents too. The contrast in parenting and the friendship between the two kids(both of different races) makes it significant to watch.

26-09-2022

11:00 AM

Thanks for reading!

Lead image from Unsplash


Author's link

14
$ 1.34
$ 0.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 11
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
2 years ago

Comments

The title attracts me. I am glad that movies are inspiring you:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha 😃. Glad to see you here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After action movies, the next that suits my taste are comedic movies.

You said well about this movie, it seems it's worth the hype

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is, especially the fact that the lead actors are children

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will search it. I'm going to search the title. I'm going to added it on my list. I love the story. I will try this one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's great. I hope you did enjoy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will friend. Thank you again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like both idea. It only shows us that people have different perceptions, but in both ways, kids can learn and decide which way to go. You could learn by pursuing or by learning you can't do it because you belong to another skills.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly Julalaine! Learning is a process of discovering what you like and don't like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The movie seems to be very interesting. I must watch it and I will surely do that. I love family movies and you made it seem more interesting when you explained that it is about parenting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwn, I await your review of the movie

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents should be like that - supportive, encouraging, accepting and loving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish all parenting were like that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will have to go and watch this movie also, It will be interesting and educational when it comes to life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah it is interesting you should watch it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago