Chatting on social media

14 52
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

How we conduct business evolves as science and technology advance. Man's only method of communication before the creation of the telephone was through handwritten letters delivered by individuals.

But all of that changed with the invention of the telegraph and the telephone communication. More users outside of business usage resulted from the telephone's advancement and affordability.

The email was developed as a result of the emergence of the internet, substantially altering how we interact. A rise in internet users was brought on by the introduction of mobile internet browsing. The emergence of social media platforms like Facebook and Twitter facilitated communication and helped to create a global village.

Communication is always in constant improvement, and today we have a plethora of apps we can use to communicate via the internet. The internet today is what we all use in almost every part of life, education, communication, business etc.

Social media and I

I was able to explore the internet and join my first social media, Facebook, after getting my first Internet enabled phone. Since then, social media has been an integral part of my life. I can connect with old acquaintances from my past and speak with new ones thanks to Social media. However, social media has its own pros and pitfalls, just like every innovation.

How chatting on social media has been beneficial to me.

  • I'm usually alone most of the time, but social media has made it possible for me to stay in touch with people around the world. I get relief from my loneliness by chatting with pals on social media.

  • I've been able to learn a lot of useful knowledge via conversing with friends and acquaintances. For instance, I learned of the site "Hive" through a WhatsApp conversation. Talking to others exposes me to concepts and knowledge, and it also allows me to get advice from those who are more knowledgeable than I am.

  • I don't have to spend as much money on calls because I can chat. You can imagine how expensive it would be to constantly phone a buddy who lives abroad or even in my own country. When you chat, you have a lot of fantastic options that you don't have with calls, including exchanging audio and video.

Disadvantage

  • For me, social media chats have the drawback of taking up time. My time is constantly stolen by it. Chatting there requires more time, I often find myself chatting with friends instead of doing something important.

  • I find it difficult to ignore messages, therefore I frequently respond as soon as I can. I end myself becoming hooked as a result, and before I know it, the time I had planned to do anything significant has passed.

Solution

But there is always a solution, just like there is to every issue. Recently, I've been successful in keeping my social media usage to a minimum. Since I was able to remove Whatsapp, which was my main source of distraction, I discovered that I had more time to spend on more essential tasks rather than speaking with people or on a subject that would not be helpful to me.

14-10-2022

4:15 PM

Lead image from Pixabay

Thanks for reading!


Note that this article was originally posted on Hive by me https://ecency.com/hive-153850/@tomiajax/chatting-on-social-media


Author's links

17
$ 2.71
$ 2.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 11
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

That's wise. Finding out what works for you and not and doing something about that to maximize your time on the essential ones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all need to always maximize our time and use it for better things

$ 0.00
1 year ago

WA is a security vulnerable app. I discarded it after my friends almost forced it for some time during 2018.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So you have never used WhatsApp?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So you finally uninstalled Whatsapp too, allow me to officially welcome you to the no-whatsapp club 😂 social media is great and all but it becomes a problem if it's taking up the time meant for more productive activities

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have gone back to WhatsApp, because the strike has been called off.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is why I went for the do not disturb mode once I want to engage on some important tasks and I won't disable it until I am done with whatever I am doing and it is helping me.

The thing is if we aren't careful on how to limit our usage of social media, it would definitely take a bad turn on us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it seems you have strong self-control unlike me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No matter how much we try to cut ourselves off from social media , we will end up going back to it sooner or later. I've uninstalled Tiktok so many times but I later installed it back. Knowing when to stop will actually help

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, if one can develop self-control: one would be able to know when to stop.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Social media has been a of great advantage to me, ànd I try not to abuse it, through social media I knew about read cash

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes social media has a lot of advantages. I also got to know about read cash through social media

$ 0.00
1 year ago

More then 90% users on social media spend time meaning less and worthless. I cut off FB, insta , telegram totally.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's great sir, it means you spend more time on relevant things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago