Stay Focused - Here's How!!

20 56
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago
Pixabay.com

Often times when I talk to my friends or even kids, I keep hearing something again and again from their mouths is that they are unable to ficus on their work and thus resulting it to laziness and procrastination. Over the years, I gave a lot of advise to people that came with variety of backgrounds and variety of issues but with same complaint, cannot focus.. and my advise was different to each person based on their issue.. Today, I have decided to compile all my advise into a post to explain how to stay focused on your work and finish them like a pro...

Disclaimer: These are some basic advises that I gave for several issues, you can use which ever that suits you and if you are diagnosed with other mental disorders, you might need therapy and this post isn't alone enough... Now, let's go...

Say No to Distractions:

When I said about distractions, I meant of those that you can control.. Imagine you are writing your project and you also want to listen to some music as you write it, (because this is something I do and I know a lot of people told me they do), you wouldn't find it easy to finish the work.. unless or otherwise your mind is severely trained to do multiple duties at once, stay away from those distractions..

  • Stay alone while working. Just think only about that work

  • Inform your peers or family members not to disturb you

  • Social media can be a blessing but sometimes it's a curse too... one of the top most reason for getting distracted...switch off from your social media.. or a simple thing, turn off the notifications on your phone and computer

  • Brain works quicker when the environment is peaceful, so make sure you are in a quiet place while trying to finish your job

  • Say no to anything and everything that will take you away from work

Regular Breaks:

So when I said regular breaks, don't take breaks every few minutes.. you will not be able to focus at all. Set a timer for 30 minutes, finish whatever you can do and then take a break for 5 minutes.. That small break will give you an idea about how much have you accomplished and what's the next step to be done.. ideas will come like a flow and you can go back to the work and finish it.. make it a cycle. By doing the same thing, you can actually Set Goals.. like you can write down in a paper about, by this time, I should have finished this and for the next 30 minutes, i should do this.. so by setting such goals, you are dividing the work into small pieces and finishing them step by step would be easy.

Write clearly in a notepad about, what should be done, what is achievable, your resources available to use, what are your realistic goals etc., if you do this once, you will have a hang of it and can easily focus on everything easily.

Pixabay.com

Eat Well and Stay Hydrated:

It has been proven several times that not much can be accomplished in empty stomach. So before starting a heavy task, always fill up your body for next few hours, when I say fill up, make sure to eat healthy foods that can help you stay active... Include food with lots of protein and carbs that needed for that energy. Avoid eating candy or sweet junk as it can fill up your stomach and does not compensate to anything for your body..

Hydrate your body well with lots of water. Instead of keeping a water bottle beside you, go walk to the water to drink it in that 5 minute gap I mentioned before.. Take coffee or tea in small quantities, the caffeine in them can also keep you active and focused.

Sleep, Very important:

Not many people think about this and how important sleep is to the human body. Our human body is the best machine that was ever created and it too needs some solid rest every day.. if you need something that you need o be stay focused the next day, get a good night's sleep that night.. so that your mind and body are relaxed and actually help you stay focused instead of fighting against it with nasty hang over or dizzy feeling. I know so many of my friends sleeping on their exam day unable to finish their tests even though they studied well... Remember, resting your mind and body is as much important as finishing complex projects.

Be Aware:

Being aware means "living in that moment and knowing what to do".. Before even starting the work, you must be able to know what is your goal and what you should have achieved by the end of that task. Being mindful is very important so that it will help you recognize if your conscious is drifting away from the work and thus you quickly come into reality and again focus on your work.. Don't let your min wander away.. to make sure it doesn't happen, make a note of to do list... make steps and start to finish one step after another.. Everything depends on planning.. make 2 plans, if you fail in one, you can always try another...

It's Okay If You Can't Multi-task:

Oh Lord, I have example for multi tasking failure in my life only..some people take several tasks upon their shoulder at once as a challenge upon themselves and were unable to finish either of them properly.. if you cannot multi task, that is perfectly fine.. finish off the simple tasks first and then you can move to bigger ones, so that all of them are done in designated time.. Remember, choose "efficient" over "quicker" and "Quality" over "Quantity"

Practice Meditation or Yoga or Exercises:

All these are created to keep humans in a state of peace and fitness. If you have fitness and peace, you can achieve any goal with great focus... Have a hobby, any hobby that helps you keeping you fit and healthy.. These techniques also help you to stay away from negative thoughts, Panic, fear, anxiety...

Hope you got some pointers of how to stay focused... Bless you all...

Thank you sponsors :)

Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty

Yours bloggingly

@Theblackdoll

25
$ 4.42
$ 3.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 11
Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for these tips doll. They'd go a long way. I listen to music while reading or working on a project. Sometimes it helps, sometimes it totally distracts me and I just end up getting carried away by the music lol. I love reading or meditating in a very quiet environment. Noise makes it so hard for me to achieve anything done. Sleep helps me too, a lot. Whenever I get so tired of reading and I'm finding it hard to assimilate anything, I just close the book(s) and take a nap. I always end up feeling refreshed when I wake up and ready to digest so many words! 😌 Once again, thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting tips, very practical and easy to do. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a lot of things I'm doing at once and I'm literally losing my mind already. I guess all I need is some meditation and blah blah..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nothing works for you with that attitude lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol!... How are you today? Dear crush.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes fine sweetie, hope you are fine too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have send all of the above listed pointers and they worked well for me except meditation and yoga, because I have never tried it, although I have heard about fantastic results and the excellent benefits of yogo. Don't even know how to go about it because its not a popular thing in our part of the world

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said... you've noted to points for us to stay focused,we shouldn't have any form of distractions while working like hearing a piece of music though most of us can handle that but it isn't palatable and also we shouldn't do our work in a noisy environment we wouldn't be able to stay focus with our work so we need to look for a quiet room to stay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are too many distractions here in our house and this is exactly what I'm doing before writing my article. Social media and noisy background is my biggest distractions among all of these. But I'm glad that I can still have ways to avoid them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You said it well sis, everything that you have mentioned can really help us to stay fucos and let us succeeded with our goals. It is really hard to stay fucos on my part as i have a toddler and so the end, I ended without any achievements 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much, this is exactly what I needed today. I've been staring at my work without actually doing it because of distractions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm going to try these technics to see how it will work out for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good and informative article, you gave us a lot on how to stay focused and healthy at the same time. Its always great reading articles like these and boosting people's motivation as I have wrote a similar one some days ago. Stay focused on your goals everyone. 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg! I need this! Huhu. The distraction this days is eating me and the goal I want this month is quite hard to achieve.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those are accurate advise but varies on every persons situation..as for me I can multitask a lot.. just that I'm too grumpy when situations aren't going my way because it seems my time frame finishing all the task at once was broken.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Worthy writing and well said. Complete focus is must for getting less distractions. Tough but possible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well advised and I would like to add a comment about multitasking is 'actually multitasking is not good it interferes with the efficiency of works' and with it, I do not mean to say that we should do one work at a time only but we should not deviate ourself to other tasks when we are really doing something important

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Myself, I can't concentrate when there is a little noise, that's why when reading, I can't listen to music too. My brain is not built for that. I also need to sleep a lot or I would find it hard to focus. That's why I completely agree with all the points you've highlighted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for this doll. Yes it's really good if we work in a peaceful place doll. I'm sure there will be no distractions going to happen. Better if we avoid those things that can distract us. Better to be in advance and prepare always then having an active mindset too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be successful in life, we must first set goals and then move on. It feels good because without focus we can never do any good work. Eat Well and Stay Hydrated is so important. Proper sleep is needed for everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago