My Chronic Back pain and Physiotherapy!!

18 62
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago

Flood and Cyclone Update:

Good morning all, hope you all are doing well.. For the past 2 days, we had severe rainfall, storm and blackout in our entire city and people have been suffering a lot. Thankfully this evening, I had my power back and thus am making this post.. it is STILL raining and the winds are blowing like monster waves... We might again lose power connection and my wi-fi is gone right now because the wind cut the cords off the pole and my internet company said we won't have wi-fi until tomorrow... one thing is happening another without a break for us.. am posting this from mobile data connection and not sure when I would run out of it though.. I hope you bear with me until the natural disaster in my city calms down...

Introduction to how I started to suffer with back pain:

As most of you know that I'm working in blogging sites and lot of other sites for a long time and I purchased laptop for the same reason because I had to work in laptop to write. My house never have a proper place for me to sit and write because I have the naughtiest daughter running around and it is very dangerous to keep my laptop on floor because either she could break it or get hurt by lifting. So, I had to keep it high so that she couldn’t get her hands on the system and hence I also purchased a bar chair to sit. The seating was quiet high and I had an unusual sitting position to write or I had to stand. It was all fine initially because i was busy and nothing came up. After doing the same work in the same way for many years, my shoulder, neck and back started to have cramps. I thought I was tired of writing and used to take breaks. But day after day, it used to become worse and started giving me migraine. One unfortunate day in last October, the pain got worse and i had to get admitted into hospital. I had to go through one week physiotherapy and had to take pain killer pills for one week and I never like stopped working in an intention that I had tablets handy.

My pain kept coming back no matter what. Doctor also suggested me to go do a 30 min walk everyday. I was quiet sincere in following that. But in December, my city got hit with worst floods ever and I stopped walking then and never started again (worst thing ever I know). Meanwhile, I was taking pills and rubbing pain removing gel for myself and within three months again, it got severe. Severe to the level that it was not getting cured anymore with the pills and gel. (I know I should have changed my sitting position at least, but we humans never learn right?). I went back to the same doctor again and this time he was genuinely concerned because he said for my age, I shouldn’t get these cramps as it is too early. He suggested me the same treatment again with addition of neck and shoulder exercise routine which I should start as soon as I finish my physiotherapy. So to finish off this post, I will do it like, what happened to me, how they are treating this and what should be done to stop it in future.

WHAT HAPPENED TO ME:

  • Unusual seating before the system for hours

  • Ignoring the initial warnings my body has given me and continuing the same way of sitting. I never tried to cure my initial body cramps. I always ignored them and waited for the worst to happen

  • Standing for many hours and working

  • Choosing other things as important and ignoring health.

  • Not taking interval often from work. Sitting in same position, same pose for eternity (what more can I deserve other than pain?)

Because of all these, I now suffer from something called “Chronic neck pain” which means the muscles went into ultra pressure and caused me pains. My situation is still not considered as an emergency. But if this continues, I might get “Shoulder joint instability”, “Dislocation” and there are so many scientific names.

HOW THEY ARE TREATING ME:

  • They gave me pain killers and asked me to continue for a week.

  • They are using Physiotherapy Vibrator massage machine to give a rapid massage to my back for 10 minutes. This will continue for a week and it works great.

  • After this, using electric heating pads, they are giving me a hot massage for another 10 minutes immediately after I finish my vibrating machine massage.

  • 30 minute compulsory brisk walk everyday. Hands and legs are asked to move while walking.

  • Neck and back exercises to be done continuously.

WHAT SHOULD BE DONE TO STOP THIS FOREVER:

Before I start, this section is not just for me but for everyone who works on systems, laptops. We all are educated and advise others, but when it comes to us, we some how forget the dos and don’ts. In my case, when my husband faced the same kind of problem way back, I used to advise him a lot about the points which I noted below. But when it came to my situation, I somehow forgot all those. This would be a nice lesson for me and for everyone who work for so many hours without knowing what happens to their body if they does so.

  • Check your posture of sitting. Your back should have a support and your hands should perfectly fit the keyboard typing level.

  • Never lean forward to type. Sit comfortable enough and start to work.

  • Take break from work. When you sit for an hour to work, take a break for 5 minutes. Walk around for a bit and relax your muscles.

  • Drink lot of water. Do not have water bottles beside you. When you have to drink water, get up and go to pantry to drink, that will be like a small walk.

  • Consider the early warnings of your body as serious. Start curing it before it turns out to be a huge issue.

  • If you do not have time for gym and exercise, you can always replace it with walking. Walk for at least 30 minutes or 3 kms a day.

  • Get body massage at least thrice a year this will relax all your muscles.
    That’s it from me guys, what I wrote is what I faced and sorry for not including those typical scientific jargon in my post.

I hope and wish everyone learns from my mistakes and take their health issues seriously. Because health is one of those things when we lose it, it is very tough to regain it.

Photo credit: Pixabay.com

Thank you so much my dear sponsors, shout out to the amazing you

Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty

Yours Bloggingly

@Theblackdoll

17
$ 5.10
$ 4.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 10
Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago

Comments

Hello, God willing, better soon. I identify with this because I also suffer from the spine and it is something that I have had to learn to live with and control, because whenever I make an undue effort the discomfort returns, so to take good care of yourself. Blessings

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope your weather improves soon and you can get back to business. And sorry to hear about your back. must be bad if you had to go to hospital for treatment. How is your mother in law, are there any improvements? you got a lot on at the moment, take it easy and get better soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you get well. We must take care of our posture when sitting. I also spend too much time sitting and not in a good position, we always try not to slouch, but it is very difficult. In the future it will be worse, so we have to improve now!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine is really my neck and shoulder. It's really painful and all I want is a daily massage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get better sis, back pain is also one I battle with. And guilty too that I always have a bottle of water within reach😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about your back ma'am, it was a pretty bad idea to always work on your computer while sitting on a bar stool, it encourages bad posture. I think at this point you should buy a gaming chair (they are super comfortable) as well as a laptop stand. Stay safe ma'am 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, it's been raining nonstop since last week, Mr sun will only appear for an hour then the dark clouds would cover it up again and then pours heavy rain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This your write up just made scared and changed my sitting position now. Haha! It's so true that when a body is being pushed to be stagnant in a 'non-free' position, it tends to result to body ache.

I wish you quick recovery ma'am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG, I hope you get better soon. And yeah taking care of our body is a must

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And you do not know that movement is life? Do more sports, at least movement, I think it will improve your health. I have the same problem as you, only from heavy physical labor in a constant state of nakladnom. Take care of yourself!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you get well soon...we should not ignore our body specially our health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You must do some exercise everyday madam specially you are facing your laptop all day, always remember that health is wealth and it will be hard to cure if we have illness due to our irresponsibility on our body. It's also good to have a good sleeping position cause sometimes it's also the reason why we are experiencing pain in our body. Get well soon madam and keep up your therapy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well soon blackdoll. Whenever you sit in from of your lappy even if you don't have a chair rest, sit with your back straight rather than hunched. Don't forget to rub your ointment too and follow the doctor's advice. Take care.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well soon dolly and fast recovery to your health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Get well soon doll. Praying to you that no more pains.🙏 Sending hugs doll. Yes doll you're right we need to take care our health since it's the main investment we have for everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you know that lately I am also reading this same problem. I'm in a lot of trouble. I understand your words or your troubles. I want it to get better soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh i hope you get better as soon as possible. Our healthy is the only source, so you should take your time for recovery...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear! Virtual hug for you. I wish you a speedy recovery. I know you are a hard working person and that costs this pain. 😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago