The Value Of River Water In Village

14 69
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Everyone has different needs, what may be useful for me can be useless for another person. Or what I'm enjoying is like a dream to some. I think most of you will agree with this!

On the way to my province. I stopped myself to see the big river which branches into small rivers and provides water to a number of villages. People use it to drink, wash clothes or take baths.

In fact bathing in this big river is the best feeling which I enjoy here.

Generally, people in villages get water to drink or for food from 'Wells' and 'Handpump'. Some even use it for bathing. But the water level goes very down during the summer and the wells get dried and so to save it people there prefer to bath or wash clothes in rivers. I know some may see it as a source of water pollution but there's not much choice for them. And the sediments in river water purifies the dirt and bacterias and running water making it actually clean water suitable for drinking or bathing. Hmmm, eww don't worry people don't drink river water. It's for emergency purposes and they filter it using old fashioned way.

Which I will share with you, process by process in my next visit.

It's the rocky zone, the sand zone was farther and I didn't wanted sand in my shoes.

And this time I saw that the water level is very low and there's very less running water. The reason we all know, global warming and climate change. This and the previous month they received less rain or else this river was inaccessible to enter even during these summer months. You know for irrigation they heavily rely on rivers and lake water doesn't last till summer and usually gets dirty with time. See how hard farming will be for them if they don't receive rain sooner. They are already late by 15 days. This is my favourite river. And yes, I don't go near the rocky zone. I go where the water level is below my neck as I don't know swimming. Poor guy, you don't know one of the most important survival trait.

In cities, we enjoy water so much in our baths during summer but in village baths like that aren't possible as they have to save water. The only solution is the river but the best time is 8 a.m or after that, the river water gets boiled water.

They can do deep ground boring but that's costly and village people don't have that savings and money even if all of them combine their efforts. The handpumps are there but they usually get damaged and don't last long as everyday people use them for a longer time. And the water from the handpump tastes iron like and contains a high amount of iron not fit for long time consumption. See so many difficulties.

Final Thoughts

I have mostly shared the beauties of village or countryside in my recent posts but this is the struggle of some villages where the government hasn't reached and are lacking some advanced basic facilities for survival. The life is there is hard. One can't enjoy water fully like us.

In fact, you have read some have to travel km just to get a bucket of water. This is true. What may be easily available to us may be hardly available to the other?

It's best to be responsible and act accordingly with those resources and facilities.

I forgot to mention that a majority percentage of village people have cattle like goats, cows, buffaloes etc and their consumption of water is ultimately through rivers. They can't go and drink waters in wells like us and we can't provide them everytime they need water.

This is the story of a village of a developing country. If you have better facilities than this in your province. That's great use it for the best purpose.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram

28
$ 4.85
$ 3.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Talecharm
$ 0.10 from @Unity
+ 22
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Although I love in the city but there's a big river here that the people around to visit regularly. This is because it's is infested with ferocious crocodiles. You know crocodiles are very cunning, you won't even know they are close by. They can lay still for hours without making a sound or disturbing the surface water. And oh boy! They are very fast!.... The name of my city is called the crocodile city, when translated in English

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh my, that's dangerous. Here I think less than 5% rivers have crocodiles in it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I always pray before that rain welcome pour us, but it happen that rainy days exceeds it have alot of destructions especially our rice field had been destroyed with whirlwind and continuous rains

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sometimes when we have rainy days just like what we have right now, I can't imagine other places having a dry spell.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have always seen water as one of the essentials in life. Whether water from rivers, or anywhere.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ohhh I remember back when I was young when I visited my aunt's house, there's this well in their place that I get to enjoy. I feel like I'm in a fairytale land in someway heheh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Relate! I used to wash clothes in river and take a bath too when I was a kid! Oh, those happy days!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is true that borehole or tap water is lacking in a lot of villages and they are more inclined to get water from natural sources such as rivers and streams. The stream is particularly used for cooking/drinking.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

When were there in village we use to have pump hand pump which were awesome

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Here is a saying that "No one knows what they have until they lose it" and it is true, it reminds me of what you just related, not everyone goes through the same battles

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hopefully, the government considers the community's needs; water is readily available in our province, and we can get clean water from a tap established for everyone to use.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

How many province are in your country?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rivers are one of the glorious source of water by nature. The agricultural sector depends on the water of River more then 80% because other sources like pumps , tubewell , rain covers only 20%. The life of village depends on agriculture mostly so rivers are life for them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We are living in an area, where we have two rivers, one is 10 kilometers away from our home, and another is 40 kilometers away. Rivers effect on the level of water under ground, and the taste of water..

$ 0.01
1 year ago