Let's Burn Our Inner Demons

23 69
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

If other countries where people are still suffering from Covid see Indians celebrating 'Dusshera' or 'Durga Puja' they will curse us, lol. A huge crowd emerged during these festival celebrations and on 5th October it was Dusherra here which was celebrated like crazy and I also went to be a part of that event.

But first, let us know what is Dusshera or 'Vijayadashami' and Why Is It Celebrated?

It is the end day festival of Durga Puja which is celebrated on a different theme where Lord Rama one of the Hindu Gods defeated one of the immortal Demon with ten heads named 'Ravana'. This festival symbolizes the win of good over evil. And to remind humans to be in their limits and don't get engulfed by their inner demons like greed, power, ego etc.

Ravana wasn't that bad in fact he has a lot of morals like respecting women and giving people chances but one bad thing named 'Ego' took over his mind which resulted in his defeat. He had strongest warriors in his side but still he lost only because of his Ego.

How It Is Celebrated?

In some places live shows and acts performed by men and women are organized to teach people no matter how bad one is goodwill someday defeat it for sure.

But the main highlight is the Effigies of Ravana along with those of Meghnada (Ravana’s son) and Kumbhkarana (Ravana’s brother) are stuffed with firecrackers and set ablaze at night in open fields.

The demon is generally set ablaze through traditional methods using a bow and arrow which was the major weapon of Lord Rama but some use modern methods like guns and ropes and also like a time bomb. When the effigy is ablaze the crowd shouts with excitement. Man, I missed these united moments with people.

There were so many people around that I had to jump sometimes to watch the view, haha short me. The main effigy was 65Feet tall, don't know about the other ones. There were so many people around that I wasn't able to get good shots but thankfully one friend of mine had a drone and he shared some shots with me. See such a huge crowd.

I also met a lot of my school and childhood friends, so overall that was a great day for me to enjoy the festival and meet familiar faces.

In some places, firecrackers show also happen but to minimize air pollution this is slowly going out of practice fun fact is that vehicles produce more pollution everyday than this one-day firecracker celebration.

Sponsor Of This Article:-

Image by Unity, Follow NoiseOdyseeLinkedIn, and an article for more info.

Final Thoughts

I was thinking of not going as I already spent two days visiting places and on the third day I felt less excited but one thought clicked with me that this will be celebrated after 2 years, do you really wanna miss the hype? And there in 2 minutes, I was ready.

Also on this day, we pray to get good positive energy removing the bad ones from our hearts and mind. Ultimately burning our inner demons. Even if you are strong, successful, filled with talent never let the Ego takeover you.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram | Noise.app

21
$ 4.22
$ 2.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @Unity
$ 0.10 from @Erickchristianmontajes
+ 13
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Perfect realistic display of a culture! Good always triumphs in the end. Be good and remain so.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Channeling postive vibes and teachings that's what these festivals are made for.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have seen this festival in Bollywood movies. I guess you are Indian?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, I'm an Indian. Where are you from?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really do not think anyone is observing COVID protocols anymore. I suppose the vaccines gave us hope.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't know about other places but apart from the major metro cities of India, we rarely felt anything covid like so people still don't see it as a threat here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

On religious events we should not ignore safety measures. We can't spread the viral problem in crowd. Anyway, enjoy your event more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, covid is actually not that effective in India what we see in news still safety is needed as said.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry, my friend if I did not finish reading because your photo caught my attention haha. You look like my prince friend from Saudi Arabia :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, maybe I am in another multiverse.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You deserve all those days roaming around the best places in your place, you are very hardworking man, you always wrote good contents, now its time for you to enjoy things away from everything

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh thanks, still I found my work more interesting many times that's why I avoid outings but this time I needed a break and so I went out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahahaha youre born for it I guess, you love your work and thats good to know :) anyway do you have chamet ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I did used it some years ago, don't know if I remember the account details also I am a dead soul in social media platforms like that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we do have chamet, me and my partner use it and we find it fun, we have many friends especially in India, India has the highest users of chamet though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have said it well, COVID became a problem that even to go to church and worship God was a problem is it is called social gathering... thanks for the article it's really educating let's burn our inner demon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it brought a problematic change in the world seperating people from lots of things and so when it's gone people are enjoying themselves fully.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hardwork behind effigy should really be appreciated. It looks so colourful. When you mentioned about Lord Rama and Ravana it reminds me of Mahabharath TV series, which I never missed during my school days.w

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But these characters are from Ramayana, I guess you must have been confused with both the shows. Because both have similar dressed characters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am familiar with Indian Gods since it was discussed on schools but the celebrations like this is new to me and seems fun, I think it was already shared by maam blackdoll here about that celebration and seems like its full of fun and excitement after years of being on lockdown.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was a great experience, missing blackdoll's version of this post. If she is fine she must have enjoyed the festival.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These religious festivals are our identity and part of our faith. I watched some videos about holy and Diwali. Dussehra also well known festival in subcontinent. We must too precautions for our own safety in gathering to avoid any complications.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah safety is needed while enjoying festivals as sometimes people went overboard and do stupid things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago