Hardcopy Or Softcopy, Which Is Better

15 78
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Today's era is involving at a faster rate than expected in terms of industrialization and modernization leaving humanisation. But that's not what we will discuss today.

The way to read and write has evolved significantly. Earlier we used slate boards and chalks to write something than to erase the written thing we used cloth or duster, and then came the books. Taken from nature, especially from trees. Books and copies were very low cost earlier and they were bought in Kilograms earlier. Did you know this?

In fact, I still remember 10-15 years ago one of my uncles used to bring me copies to write in kilos and they were of good quality. Now one copy cost is 5 times more than what it was earlier.

Then after the revolution of smartphones and the internet, everyone shifted the way to read and write on devices like smartphones, tablets and laptops. The prime example of online classes is in front of you. As you grow up in your studies you are now using phones or laptops to read and write something. Did you notice this!

Those who are in college can understand it better as they mostly deal with PDFs nowadays. The use of books and copies is decreased by 50%. Everything is softcopy now even the Newspapers, money etc.

I won't show you my dirty handwriting, hihi!

And so while doing a Crypto calculation today, I found how bad my writing has become, hah-a. As I pick pen very less now.

But no matter how much easy and convenient softcopy is, does the hardcopy holds a candle against it.

Let's see this clearly through some differences among them.

Hardcopy:-

  • Can be stored for a long period if taken good care of, not to mention the smell of books. Ah, mmm lovely.

  • While writing or reading in a hardcopy we enjoy doing both, I don't know why. Is it just me who finds it more interesting to read hardcopy books than PDF ones? Doesn't harms eyesight at all.

  • A more reliable and trustworthy source of information as none can edit books easily. We all learnt about the truth and history through hardcopy mostly.

Softcopy:-

  • Easy to use and ready. The privacy is more here as you can set passwords in your files.

  • Will make you lazy and harm the eyesight to a great degree.

  • Easy to transfer but easy to manipulate also. As anyone can edit and share someone's work and can give false information. And so the copyright policy isn't supportive for writers at all.

  • Writing here is fast due to the advanced keyboard system.

Final Thoughts

I may have missed some points which you, my lovely ones are free to point out, please! No matter the ease of use and facilities goes to softcopy. But I still found writing and reading in hardcopy peaceful. The vibe there is different for me.

What about you?

Though I mostly use my phone to make posts but if I want to gain knowledge, I prefer to read a book.

Also one more thing in terms of energy consumption and pollution overall softcopies are more eco-friendly.

But storing them on the internet for a long time can cause more energy consumption as you have heard about emails, it's best to delete unnecessary emails. To reduce carbon emissions which are required for storing them by servers.

I think the era of books and hardcopies will never die. They are overall more health-friendly. In fact, we should focus on making children realise that it's better to read books from an early stage. This may improve their health a lot. As nowadays, I saw kids studying mostly through phones and damaging their eyesight. It's proven longer use of any digital screen is harmful to the eyes. So if you don't want your kids with glasses early. Please look into this a bit.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram

29
$ 5.36
$ 4.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.09 from @Talecharm
+ 24
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Hardcopy and anytime for me. I make use of softcopies but not as often as hardcore. I tend to focus more will reading from a hardcopy source, and also my eyes are not strained too much. For me the place where the softcopy is better than the hardcopy is that you can conveniently carry a hundreds of it around.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is definitely more enjoyable to read a book or feel the smell of texture compared to online

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Next level drug for some of us, haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will definitely pick hardcopy over soft copy. reading softcopy comes with a lot of distractions, plus I like the smell of books.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I do love everything digital, especially for the opportunities it offers, see, I'm from Venezuela and a book is very expensive here, but thanks to my phone, during the quarantine I was able to read approx.approximately 40 books, which, having to buy them physically, I would never have been able to. On the other hand, there is a negative point and that is that spending a lot of time staring at a phone can Cause damage

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah the ease of use and availability is cheap in softcopy compared to hardcopy. But it does cost our health.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Itโ€™s hard to choose you know. Because as you said soft copies can be password protected and easily portable. But they really strain your eyes. While hard copies donโ€™t strain eyes but yes you canโ€™t carry heavy bulks. So both have pros and cons

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I prefer Soft Copy. Digital environment seems safer.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

One of the major disadvantage of soft copy to me is that It distracts me and in no time, I begin to explore my phone

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yup, the notifications and the distractions are a lot using softcopies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do prefer hard copy books, but there are times what you want is soft copy because of the convenience that comes with it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Both has equal importance but as time going to digital verse the soft copy becoming easier , cheaper and lite to keep , handle , store and carry.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

When Airtel started its business in India, it had a free webmail facility called bharatmail which I used in early 2000. I didn't have a mobile or use any paid service of Airtel/Bharatmail. They used to send printed email greetings by post to the Indian addresses free of cost. They reached the people by sending hardcopy emails to the people.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow this is interesting, I didn't knew Airtel pulled something like that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same with me I only use the pen for exams to write and sometimes I don't even understand my writing because I am used too of typing on mobile and laptop

$ 0.01
1 year ago