A Device To Give Backup To Your WiFi Connection

8 54
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Backup, WiFi, Router, Internet, Broadband, ...

Now that I was able to install a WiFi connection in my house another problem came just like as usual of the electricity power cut. From summers the power cut has been increased and in monsoon it's in its peak days now and it haunts us for the whole day and in the most important times, the electricity supply is switched off. I know there's a solution for Inverter but currently, I and my family don't have the extra funds to invest in that so we aren't buying it for now.

The constant power cuts were pissing me off as sometimes the electricity goes off for a minute and for hours and during that I can't use the Wifi and it's a big obstruction to the people who are pursuing work from home or learn or earn from home. So I researched a lot to get the solution for this problem and yay, I found one which I plan to share today.

What Is It?

Ignore the messy set-up. Small snakes everywhere.

It's a specially designed UPS for Wifi Router or Wifi Connection which can give power to your device for 1-11 hours depending on the type of UPS version you are purchasing and the battery it has. Just like as a power bank it works but it's a smart one as there's no connection drop or reset issue when the electricity powercut happens.

Things To Keep In Mind

Check your power input and output. The input is universal in those UPS but the output is different mostly.

But first, you have to configure whether your device is supported or not. As some mini WiFi UPS support only one device and single supply output of 12V, 9V, or 5V but there are also UPS supporting to two devices at a time which I have a Router and ONU device. The router needs a supply of 9V 1A while the ONU device needs a supply of 12V 0.5A. It's mentioned in their adapters you can check yours from there. And it's different for every device.

My Experience

I had two devices, so I had to take a 12V to 9B convertor cable along with a splitter cable as the UPS gives an power output in 12V, so a convertor and splitter cable is needed.

I had trouble finding a dual connection Wi-Fi Ups as the market has mostly one device supported varient of UPS. But I came to know about a local national company ' Energy Intelligence ' who has an excellent service regarding this and you can even consult them first, tell your device configuration and requirements and they will suggest you the necessary equipment and the correct version of UPS. I did the same. I order one which is promoted to give a backup of 2-4hrs using a single device. But I'm using it to supply power to two devices and till now I wasn't able to check its highest backup power as the powercut is not greater than 2 hours in the morning. Haven't got the time to check it at night. But overall it has given me a backup of more than 2 hours. And yes there's no connection lag or issue when the powercut happens such advanced tech.

Sponsor Of This Article:-

Image by Unity, Follow Noise, Odysee, LinkedIn, and an article for more info.

Final Thoughts

When the power banks came I was really surprised to see such advanced devices but this mini WiFi UPS thing showed me we are doing fine in advancing in technology and its utilities. And oh, I forgot to tell you it costed me around 28$. Some cables were missing and when I told them, they couriered me again with those cables. So overall the experience was and is good. It has a warranty of 3 years, no other company is giving such a long warranty. But sadly this company is only available in India for now.

So if you don't have a budget to invest in an inverter you can go with this device to make sure your Wifi lasts for some hours even after the powercuts. And damm, after the powercuts I can see everyone switching to Wifi and watching some shows in each room of my house.

Note:- Not a promotional post but a review post. After using the device for 20days.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram

22
$ 3.44
$ 1.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.11 from @Unity
$ 0.10 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 17
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Backup, WiFi, Router, Internet, Broadband, ...

Comments

Once i used wifi but I've too much internet problem than i started to use mobile network i think now it's better

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In my case it was opposite, the mobile internet sucks here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a great device that can really help a lot of us, I hope I can find that in our country because power interruptions are so often here in our place.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Check maybe there are other companies already providing good services in your place regarding this mini WIFI UPS.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That would be a great help for you. I am not so familiar about those things but it seems you really do. Hope it will work well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you face something like this situation in future I'm sure this will be helpful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We also suffer from the problem of power outages here and we resorted to a similar solution almost before we installed solar energy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Cool, that's also a great solution regarding powercuts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago