Wellies in the school courtyard

40 55
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

18th December 2021

Happy Weekend all you awesome readers and writers of read. How has your weekend been? Mine is pretty cool so far, I watched the mighty Rangers labour to a win this afternoon. But a win is a win, not matter what we way it is obtained.

I have a load of articles that in the pipeline, but I was reading this article A Shitty Tumble from @Plint and in it, she ended with the question ... What is your most embarrassing childhood memory?

Well I am not sure this is the most embarrassing but certainly is one that I am reminded of very often.

What do you call these?

Here in the UK they are Wellington Boots or Wellies for short.

I remember one summer I think I was ten and going to be going to the big school after the Summer holidays!

During the summer holidays we had to go to a camp for a week, it depended on which military you were going to be. I had chosen the Navy so was going to a Naval Base for the week. How exciting and nervous all at the same time!

We had to meet at the school with all our equipment and then we would be loaded onto buses and then venture to our bases and enjoy (or get tortured as it turned out!) our week long 'vacation'.

This is the school below.

It is an old school in Edinburgh, Scotland that opened in 1824 so almost 200 years old! Well, that is the courtyard that you can see.

So I get dropped off by mum and there were loads of other kids there already. Me being ten was one of the youngest as there were children upto the age of 17 there.

So being a kid and not wanting to be seen to be a mummy's boy, out I jump out of the car, grab my bag and run off to a couple of friends from the junior school that I recognise. I then turned around expecting to see that my mother had driven off.

But no!

There she was, bless her, standing outside the car.

"Edward you have forgotten Wellies, come and get them!" she said.

There was a huge cheer from everyone, and off I trudged to get them. How I wished the ground would open me up. As I took them from her, she kissed my cheek, man alive did I turn red!

It might not be the most embarrassing memory of my childhood, but I am constantly reminded of it, as the house where those wellies hang is up the road from me, and I walk past it often and still smile now whenever I go past it.

As my mother passed away several years ago, it also serves as a funny and good memory of her that I am reminded of often constantly!

Life is short, so cherish every moment.

Have you submitted your entry to my challenge, remember I am putting up $80 of my money in cash as prize money for you all. So if you haven't done so, check it out here Christmas Challenge 2021 and submit if you haven't done so already!

Oh yes, just a wee tip, if you have entered and posted your article, please make sure that your entry does follow the rules and requirements, entries that do not comply will be invalid and not eligible for prize money. So, please read and edit your article if so needed.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

CopyrightΒ @TengoLoTodoΒ Β Β 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

22
$ 7.98
$ 6.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Musician
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 16
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

So funny and nice memory. 😊 When we mention our parents, we make them alive. But for me, it is very hard to speak about memories because my whole life suddenly became a memory when my father died. I don't accept the fact that now everything is a memory. It is very hard for me...

One more thing, I love Wellington boots. We call them "Velingtonke" . πŸ˜€

$ 0.03
2 years ago

aww big hugs to you Jelena, it is hard when our parents have passed away. aha now I learnt a new word Velingtonke, hvala for that !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A 10 year old man who is embarrassed by his mother with a pair of boots and a kiss, I can't imagine you. Haha... I had to buy some things for the challenge, I have it ready, now I have to write, soon you will have my article.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am looking forward to it Frank :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I gave 0.50$ tip for your article, because it really touched me. Share half of it with others. I almost lost my father too, so every little thing reminds me of him. It doesn't matter if it is big or small, memories are memories

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Memories are memories, you are so right. I lost my father too so I appreciate your awesome tip, and thank you I am paying it forward.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already told you but I love that memory and I would have done the same as your mom. My challenge entry is in the oven, I'll post in a couple of days ;)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe yes you did :) I need to round up all the articles as they don;t all seem to show when i search the tag :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had the same problem with the gift challenge and the tag, but it saved me that all the articles of the challenge where I was tagged, I marked them to read later to have them all in one place. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is what I am doing, just going through them all today, will see the ones I have

$ 0.00
2 years ago

childhood. the cuteness that happens maybe we don't understand the word embarrassing, because we are still small but when we talk about it when we are adults. people might laugh.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes that is very true, how things change the older we get.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that's a good memory to cherish. by the way, I had the required photo for the challenge but no story yet, hope I can make something from scratch.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh I saw your pics, that was cute and I wish you see snow too!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a very cute memory you had with your mom. My mom isn't that sweet, she didn't even bother to bring us school but she is willing to chase me with her broom stick at the playground as i wasn't yet home at 6:00 o'clock in the evening, that's the most embarrassing I had with my mom. But of course my mom is reasonable as I am a girl, as she says girls should be home before the world turned dark, I'm a little stubborn back then.πŸ˜…

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha I am laughing at you being chased around the playground with your mother and her broomstick lol I do think you are still a little bit stubborn 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I were one of thosw kids, I won't laugh.. that was such a sweet moment, your mom is so sweet. :)

Still drafting my wee article for the contest, and materializing my "READ" masterpiece. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yea she was sweet and it is a good memory of her. You wouldn't laugh, well that is because you are sweet too Elle :)

Aww I expect to smile when I read your article and look at your masterpiece πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My Mom isn't a touchy one, so I could not remember she kissed me aside when I was a babyπŸ˜‚ and same she never dropped me off to school

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh well, sometimes it is better not to be touched or kissed by your mother, so as not to get embarassed lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a cutie experience was that. I find that cute, your mom is so sweet, kissing your cheek:

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes looking back it was cute, and a good memory of her:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really cute! Especially the part when your mom kissed you. A mama's boy huh πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

lol is cute now and a fond memory, not so sure about a mama's boy though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So touchy Teng... Your mom is so sweet and thats normal to a mom. Ive got 2 boys but my eldest dont want to be treated like that also hahaha..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe yes you are a mother Jean so is normal for you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww that's cute! A bit embarrassing for sure but cute 😍 those are great moments that always put a smile on our faces, and keep alive in our hearts those who are no longer with us.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So true Rebeca, a cute but fun (now) memory :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A school that is almost 200 years is typically an old school one hahahaha. Ypu also reminded me of the fact that i was the youngest in my class then but my mom never dropped me off for school as ypur mom did you cos we don't have any car and as for the xmas contest, then all I can say is thanks for the reminders once again

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha very clever Sammy, yes an old school πŸ˜‚ Ah cool, you were the youngest in your class, that is awesome, we were the trend setters;) Normally I got the bus to school, but she made sure I got there and drove!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder how you must have felt at that moment when she called you back to get those wellies plus the kiss. Your friends just have laughed.. πŸ˜ƒ

It's nice you still have those memories upstairs, a reminder that we should savour every moment with our loved ones. My mom also passed away few years ago amd all I have now are memories

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe I was so embarrassed, but it was funny. We did share many a laugh about it when she was still alive. It is a good reminder like you say that we should savour and enjoy every moment with our loved ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take care of each other, love! Understand, forgive always. And cherish each other always, Life can never go back...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, life is short and can be gone in an instant, nor can we go back. It did make for good laugh whenever we talked about it though :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That moment πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Lucky for me, I never had such moments as I was always going to school all by myself

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe well it is funny now, but not funny then 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha don't forget your wellies! My mother used to always embarrass me by singing out loud in the super market haha, never wanted to walk next to her in the shop!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha did she really, was she singing in French too practising for getting you more clothes πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha man she did think of that cleverly! Will use that with my children one day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hell yes she is a quick thinker, I bet you got that from her too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago