M for Marmalade

55 69
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

2nd March 2022 2/?

Hello Hello all you wonderful awesome readers and writers!

Are you rocking March now, touch wood I am, so let's hope that this rockingness it keeps on lasting all month long๐Ÿ™

I posted a picture of a bee yesterday and whilst I was searching through all my bee pictures of which there must be over a hundred, I also saw a picture or three in my gallery that brightened up my day. And then I read about marmalade this morning.

So guess what I decided this morning. Yes, I decided that the time was right to have marmalade for breakfast!

This was a brand new jar of marmalade that I had not opened. I remember as a kid helping my grandmother make jams and marmalades. The marmalade though was always made with oranges which sometimes I found a bit too sweet, I don't sugar control was really a thing back then!

If you look at the label on the jar, you can see that this one is called Three Fruit Marmalade, which means that not only does it have Oranges but it also has Grapefruit and Lemons. I wonder should it be two grapefruits or grapefruit what a difficult language English really is!

Anyway I decided to have some marmalade on a piece of sourdough malted wheat bread with a wee dod of butter.

Of course, I had to have a cup of ubiquitous coffee with it. That was my breakfast and it was bleeding delicious. I think I shall be having that again very soon.

I am not a big breakfast eater, I know from your pictures that some of you though like to eat a feast for your breakfast!

The more I eat then the more I want to keep eating throughout the day. It is as if my gastric juices start flowing and tummy says feed me, feed me NOW.

I often used to only eat one meal and that was at night.

Enough of the food, what was the picture that I had seen in my gallery that reminded me of marmalade?

Well if you saw the lead image I am sure that you know the answer by now?

This is a marmalade hoverfly, the markings give it the name marmalade.

More specifically the marmalade hoverfly has the scientific name of Episyrphus balteatus. Although it lives all year round, you tend not to notice them in winter in the UK. Gardeners love them because they feed on aphids and they are also nectar feeders on garden flowers.

Whenever I see one, I think spring is coming, now that the small flowers are starting to pop up, hopefully, I shall see some of these wee beauties flying around and yes they really do hover. Yes I am willing warmer weather to get here, like yesterday!

Unfortunately, many people confuse them with wasps and kill them. But I urge you, please leave all hoverflies alone, they are wonderful creatures like the bees. You don't kill bees so please don't kill hoverflies either.

It is a football night tonight and my dinner is almost here, so I am going to love you and leave you. Thanks for reading and have a wonderful day wherever you may be and whatever you may be doing!

Copyrightย @TengoLoTodoย ย ย ย 2022 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

PS I thought I would leave you all with a picture of my dinner. It was from a Variety box from a local restaurant called Zaiqa. Fast hot and delicious and always scores a ten out of ten from me! Can you guess all that is there in the way of food? By the way do you say kebab or kabob?

25
$ 5.72
$ 4.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ellehcim
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 16
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

We know grapefruit (pomelo) as grapefruit (toronja), in English it is written the same. Those foods you present are very exotic. I love beekeeping and honey production, I couldn't have an apiary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My second meeting marmalade today, the first marmalade was on Facebook and she name it for her cat, hahha! Now, this one here looks really delicious! I'm good with coffee and bread for breakfast too..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ah yes I have known a couple of cats called Marmalade, but this was delicious. Yeah coffee and bread is a good breakfast I think!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are all these Scottish foods? They do look good, hope they Taste same.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is a mixture of Scottish Indian and Turkish foods and yes they do taste delicious

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You bet!! ๐Ÿ˜œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I can't eat marmalade, too bitter. I love apricot jam though!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Too bitter really, for me they are usually too sweet lol Oh I have not apricot jam for a long time!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excuse me?? stop making us hungry grrrrrrr

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Excuse you, I have been excusing you for years B ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am afraid of bees because when I was younger, my childhood friends would throw stuff at the hive to disturb them, and then we run for our lives. But I appreciate their role in the ecosystem. The food made me drool.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I also used to throw stones at wasps as a child, but now they are a bee lover

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah kids will be kids, they are the our essence, without them we would not be here. Am glad you were not stung as a child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I see a bee, I always make sure I cover my face :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just reminded my school tiffin days. Yes, I had that and still want it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ah you should have some more brother

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I typed grapefruit and grapefruits and it's not turning red so I guess both are okay :D

That marmalade looks really sweet.

I guess the fear of bees stinging that have been inculcated in us since we were kids have been passed on that's why anything that resembles bees are processed by the brain as enemy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Really it is wasps that we are afraid of, and parents would make us fear wasps. Ah so it can be grapefruit or grapefruits, thank you for that kuya! It is sweet if only oranges but this was not so sweet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly I have experience to create a marmalade in the school before and seeing your article makes me want to try it again, I forgot the steps tho.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You made marmalade at school? Really there are no ends to your talents! I am impressed more and more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜… I think most people, or like 80% are afraid with this kind of bee, oh wait this is also a kind of bee right? Anyway people really thought that this is dangerous as everyone thought that this kind of bee's bite people.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe that is it it is not a bee and not a wasp. People should not be killing bees, without them pollinating flowers we would all be dead

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly some people like these flies or some kills them because some flies bite the human body and it get damaged cause infection on the bitten part of the body

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes flies I don't like as they bring disease, but hover flies are good for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And now here I am craving what you eat kuya. A cup and bread is that enough kuya until evening comes for dinner?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sometimes just a cup, then sometimes I eat like a pig inday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im not a fan of sweets. But I do love honey ๐Ÿ˜ not fruit marmalade โœŒ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Because you are sweet enough na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm craving right now for a one warm cup of coffee and a bread toast with the marmalade jam on top. Such a foodie sirโœจ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe I will make for you when I wake up๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yummy. Now my mouth is watering Uncle Ed. I need to eat bread with marmalade too but I wonder where can I find a marmalade here.

The kebab looks yummy too

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe it is yummy, I actually toast the bread, I think there is marmalade there, maybe slightly different name wee teacher

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello Teacher Ed! I just came by to say hi, and now I am craving for a marmalade ๐Ÿ˜”

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe I am glad you did pop in, is this you back regularly now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well.. most probably YES!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marmalade makes me remember Paddington ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes Ola! and Paddington Bear is such a cool๐Ÿป

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely....I love Paddington. ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why so delicious sir? ๐Ÿฅบ๐Ÿ˜ I want marmalade too. ๐Ÿ˜ I felt hungry. ๐Ÿคค I want to try that one with bread sir. The other one is your dinner. It's really mouth watering. I am Foodie lover sir! ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe I know you are a foodie lover and it is cute๐Ÿ˜ I won't make you hungry and post about food today then lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. If it is about food sir I felt hungry. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Citrus marmalade is so good. My friends from Greece often give me their homemade marmalade. It's delicious. I love the picture of marmalade hoverfly. And your dinner is rich.๐Ÿ˜Š I don't know what is up in the picture, these rings? Squid maybe? But how do you eat squid with kebab. No ๐Ÿ˜€ I have never tried kebab. We have "ฤ‡evap", it is not the same but it is translated into English as kebab. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe the rings are onion rings, there were samosas, pakoras and bhajis under all the chips. IT was a feast, kebab can mean quite a lot of things, that was a dinner kebab in the pitta bread. The marmalade hoverfly is gorgeous and I posted a couple more in hive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know what it's called, marmalade hoverfly! ๐Ÿ˜ Hello master, good afternoon.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Annyeonggg my wee BC๐Ÿ’™ Yes it is a marmalade hoverfly, you get lots of different hoverflies and they all hover๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't tried to eat a bread with any marmalade. Maybe I should try? Haha. I saw a lot in the market, its orange marmalade. I used to pair bread with peanut butter. Hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oh you should try wee singer hehe and I eat bread and peanut butter, the white bread is the best!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. I'll try uncle. I'll buy marmalade when I visit supermarket again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never tried what does it taste like with marmalade,and I just saw it on paddington's show on tv for kids.Your photos are great especially the bee.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yessss Paddington Bear, he is brilliant and loves his marmalade. It tastes of oranges, thank you I love taking pictures of bees and flying insects

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like snatching the marmalade from you and tasting how it is. Perhaps, I might ask in a supermarket in my area if I would find it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe if you were here then I would let you snatch it๐Ÿ˜‚ Yes see if they have it in a supermarket, they might do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new month big tengolodo , thanks for your support and love.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My pleasure and happy new month to you ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago