Come to Scotland with me

44 84
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

30th November 2021

Happy St Andrews Day to all you wonderful readers reading this in read.cash

So today is St Andrew's Day. What is that you may well ask? Well, I shall tell you.

Saint Andrew's Day is also called the Feast of Saint Andrew or Andermas is the feast day of Andrew the Apostle. Saint Andrew's Day is Scotland's official national day. It has been a national holiday in Romania since 2015. Saint Andrew is the patron saint of Cyprus, Scotland, Greece, Romania, Russia, Ukraine, the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople, San Andres Island (Colombia), Saint Andrew (Barbados) and Tenerife (Spain).

We don't have a holiday in Scotland, in fact, it is hardly ever mentioned.

Saint Andrew was one of the apostles of Christ and was sentenced to death by crucifixion by the Romans in Greece, but asked to be crucified on a diagonal cross as he felt he wasn't worthy to die on the same shape of cross as Jesus. This is why there is a diagonal cross on our Scottish flag - the Saltire.

I got the memories yesterday from two years ago when I had a day in Edinburgh, so being St Andrew's Day I thought we would see bits of Edinburgh, after all is it is the capital of Scotland.

This was taken from Princes Street Gardens, do you know what the skyline is of? It is Edinburgh castle which was more of a troop garrison point than a castle.

Every year in Princes Street Gardens they hold a Christmas market and have the Eye, I am sure your city has an eye and this is Edinburgh Eye or Edinburgh Big Wheel, you do get some great views. I shall go there next week as I know I often can get chestnuts there @Jelenaaa

In the background is the Walter Scott monument the famous Scottish historical novelist, poet, playwright and historian. You might have heard of some of his famous novels Ivanhoe, Rob Roy or some of his famous poems The Lady of the Lake and Marmion.

He was also one of the founders of my school.

Do you know that we actually have an extinct volcano in Edinburgh called Arthurs Seat.

This was the view from up the top of the Big Wheel. Arthur's Seat is an ancient volcano which is the main peak of the group of hills in Edinburgh which form most of Holyrood Park where the Queen has a house and is home of the waste of money Scottish parliament! Arthur's Seat and was described by Robert Louis Stevenson as "a hill for magnitude, a mountain in virtue of its bold design". A wee prize for telling me in the comments one of Robert Louis Stevenson's famous books!

Did you know that Edinburgh has a canal running to Glasgow, and that was how they used to transport goods from East to West Scotland and vice versa. Unfortunately, it does not connect to the English canal system, so you are pretty limited in how far you can travel.

Edinburgh Castle. Every summer they have a world famous military tattoo, it is an awesome sight to see, and have military bands from all the world and fireworks etc. Very expensive but well worth it doing it once.

There is a quick wee visit to Edinburgh, and I think I shall make an article in the next couple of weeks when I go back and take some pictures. Fingers crossed for some good weather.

But in the meantime, as today is Tuesday it is Chooseday or in Scotland we call it Coosday because you know a cow is actually a coo!

Here you go a picture of a bonnie Highland Coo!

They are gorgeous shaggy wee beasts but I am so wary of those darn horns!

Oh blimey, tomorrow is December and you know what that means right?

There you go readers, thank you for having a wee read of this! I hope you liked it, let's spice it up and get your story telling heads ready. Roll on December and roll on Christmas!

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

24
$ 10.73
$ 9.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @CoquiCoin
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 16
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Thank you for this wee tour of Edinburgh. Maybe one day, I can visit it in a detour when you invite me to ride your narrowboat ;) I loved the picture of the castle.

Of course, I read Robert Louis Stevenson's Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde a long time ago.

And yeah! happy December, Ed! By the way, my birthday month, and since I won't have my Archie's memoirs first draft, you'll have to come up with something else to make it up to me, LOL

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You know Jeckll and Hyde were from Edinburgh where RL Stevenson was from. Yes we need to take a wee tour of Edinburgh before we test your skills on the narrowboat 😁 Yes I have not forgotten December is your Birthday month, and I have my thinking cap on 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm just teasing you with the Birthday gift, lol. And yes, I would love to visit Edinburgh someday ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because of this, I am now eager to visit Scotland DF hahaha. Anyways, i love the cow's hair hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I need to find some baby Highland Coos DF they are just the cutest wee things. Hehe they do have the cutest of hair!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how you added your picture at the end.... you look great 😂😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Best selfie I ever took!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a sight to behold and the ways you navigated us through all of these memorable moments of festivities in Scotland is awesome

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I appreciate that Sammy. Scotland is a beautiful country, there is beautiful places in all our countries 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Edinburg is beautiful place. It will be a destination that I must visit one day... It was very interesting for me to read about it. Oh chestnuts, that's great. 😊 I didn't know that you say coo for cow. I like its hair style so much, it is perfect. 😀 I know Stevenson's Treasure island. 😊 I remember it from the time when I was a child.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes Treasure Island was one of his most famous books. Yes a cow is a coo🐄 Ah the Chestnuts I might go to Edinburgh next Friday and try to have some.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a good walk you have given us through Scotland. Even cows are redheads? LOL

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha even the cows are redheads haha you are so funny 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cow's hair is amazing, much prettier than mine, haha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Prettier than mine too 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The cross is really for st Andrews??? God bless Scotland... A really God fearing country... Yeah!!! Coos are gorgeous!!!! I hope to visit Edinburg someday...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes the cross on the flag is for Saint Andrew. The coos are really gorgeous and the babies are so cute. I hope you do visit Edinburgh one day :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks you're really nice... Just like Edinburgh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love it! Love Scotland, my mum lives there since 10 years and never mind visiting her (except when there are midges)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oh does she really :) Haha the midges are worse by miles on the West Coast 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh man they ate me alive once

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last photo looks like me when I am not in a mood hahaha. Thank you for the amazing virtual tour, my master! 😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha you mean my wee BC gets in a mood haha My pleasure and I hope you enjoyed it:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful views, it provokes to visit those wonderful places, I read Ivanhoe sometime. I like those cow horns, although I don't think she combed her hair for the photo.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe I think she does not need to comb her hair :) Ivanhoe is great and I have not read for many years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seeing the Edinburgh castle makes me wanna visit Scotland so bad hahaha while reading this kuya, I feel like I was in that place hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

aww well I am glad inday Jini I could put you there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never been to Scotland. The pictures draw me to think about coming. Thanks for the short trip through Scotland

$ 0.03
2 years ago

My pleasure it does have some awesome places to see :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are so many nice places there Mr. Ted. I want to go there and tour Scotland.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

When the weather is good it is a wonderful country to tour :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to ride the Ferris wheel🙈

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe it was fun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the castle capture! Many beautiful places in Scotland. I hope to visit one day 💙

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks Monika, was really pleased with how the castle pic turned out, not meant it at all, yes I hope you visit some day too 😁

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Will sure let you know Ed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interested on the boat going to glasgow hmmm and i really want to tie the hair of that bonnie wee coo 😂😂😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha I just knew you would say that about the coo 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Saint Andrew 😁. Tomorrow is already December.. Are you excited about your contest? 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe oh I am, I know what it is now 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy St. Andrew's Day po. I wish I could visit Europe and see all those historical landmarks.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat Glessa you never know, one day you might get to see some

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I am claiming it po sir Ed! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe good for you:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago