2021 split in two

48 53
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

22 December 2021

Well hello you beautiful people of read. Are we ready for Christmas? I will be after tomorrow!

What a year 2021 has turned out to be. Here in Scotland, we started the year in a lockdown and here we are, about to end the year in another lockdown!

1st January 2021. Part of the traditional festive Scottish traditions was to go for a walk on Ne'er Day (News Year Day) and that is how I started 2021. A walk on our local beach in the bracing wind sure does blow the cobwebs away from the New Years' celebrations of the night before. I am lucky in that I live in Burntisland a seaside town in the Kingdom of Fife in Scotland, and this spot where I took the picture from happens to be only a five-minute walk from my front door.

25th January 2021. During the night I heard an almighty pop and bright flash coming from my kitchen. I got up and discovered that the socket where my halogen oven had been plugged in, had blown. It seemed rising damp had got into the electrics and caused all sorts of problems. I called the landlady and she eventually sent an electrician to repair the socket etc but would not reimburse for the oven.

However, it would turn out, that this was a blessing in disguise as you will find out later on in this article.

11th February 2021. Snow! Living on the coast we don't actually get much snow at all, and it is still exciting whenever it does snow. I don't know about you, but our worst winter weather seems to be from about mid January until mid February and this snowfall happened on the 10th February, two days later it was all gone.

This picture was taken in the park which was at the end of my street. You can see the traffic cone on top of the statue on the right of the picture, why do kids do this, it happens all over the UK.
The building in the picture is a burger joint and I would be ordering from them later in the year in picture 6.

15th May 2021. I am a massive bluenose. This means that I support the Rangers Football Club, a football team from Glasgow in Scotland. You might call football as soccer, but that is a debate not to be had here. Rangers have had a terrible time. Basically, we were relegated directly from the Top tier league all the way down to the fourth tier league and made up way back to the top via promotions.

Our arch-rivals Celtic meanwhile were going great guns as they had no competition and they were chasing a record ten league titles in a row. Rangers had other ideas and we went the whole season unbeaten and finished the last match beating Aberdeen 4-0 on 15th of May. The picture is of Wee Ger watching the match wearing his miniature scarf. Rangers fans get called many things, and Ger is a common name. He did enjoy himself but refrained from drinking any alcohol!

8th June 2021. I was brought up in Edinburgh and often go back for a visit. One of the perks of having to endure so many lockdowns and working so much from home during this pandemic is that I became addicted to YouTube. In particular, I fell in love with the thought of living on a canal narrowboat full time in England. There are so many vloggers showing us their lifestyle on the canals that I want to do this in 2022. I did know that there was a canal in Edinburgh, but did not know it was the original way of transporting goods between Edinburgh and Glasgow. This picture was taken very close to my old school and amazes me just how much the canals have been refurbished and is a thriving part of Edinburgh's charm now.

Being the bluenose that I am, I included this particular picture of a blue canal narrow boat from the many I took that day. When we say narrow it is because they are generally no more than 6 foot 10 inches wide.

This is part of a contest that I participated in at hive see the full post here

Don't forget tomorrow December 23rd is the last day for entry to #ChristmasChallenge2021

Copyright @TengoLoTodo   2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back.

22
$ 6.66
$ 5.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 11
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for the tour again hehehe.. Being at a snow is just a dream only Teng😅... Anyways goodluck to the contest.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You can sit on my tour anytime Jean and thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanky Teng and Merry Christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

2021 is such an unforgettable year. Everyone has a story to tell. We'll just keep praying for safety.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes 2022 will be much better I am sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm a nice and wonderful recap of your events for the year.. 2021 was a good year in general compared to 2020 when the pandemic started but hey I trust 2022 would be even better

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes I feel 2022 will be much better and back to normal bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice photo, impressive snow falls one day, the next there is nothing, no trace. That blue boat is very narrow. Have a nice day

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is very narrow Frank, thank you and Merry Christmas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

....

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You really are the sweetest 💙 Salamat and Merry Christmas :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the seaside! It was really a blessing in disguise that you got a new flat because you discovered the park and met the ducks!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly Glessa, good things happen for a reason and those ducks wanted someone to feed them!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup, I totally agree! Merry Christmas sir Ed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe Merry Christmas Glessa, hope you all have fun :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you po sir Ed. Let's find out tomorrow lol :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do let us know Glessa :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really liked your entry on Hive. And a blue boat like the one in the picture would be perfect for you. I hope that wish comes true in 2022. Just imagine, you, the boat, and the parrot 😉😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha the parrot, oh you are too funny Eli, yes that is the sort of boat I would want. We never know what will happen 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, no kidding, I imagine you surfing the canals in your boat with a parrot perched on your shoulder. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe I get a parrot shaped drone Eli 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You live in beautiful seaside place. I have never heard for Burntisland but I like to discover different places. Living on a boat or near the water is something that interested me a few months ago. I discovered a place near Belgrade, called a nautical village, consisting of 16 raft houses on the river Sava. I spent few days there, water really makes me feel calm and relaxed. I would be very happy If I could live in some seaside town, like you. I was born in seaside town and I always dream of coming back there.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Biser (or Pearl) nautical village, I just googled it Jelena, that looks pretty cool. Burntisland is a small town here in Fife. Ah you are a seaside girl, well I have been close to the sea all my life, even when working abroad was always close to the sea. Hopefully you can go back and live by the seaside!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, Biser! 😊 It's a pretty quiet place, to get away from the city crowd... It will be difficult to return to live where I was born, Serbian people are not a favorite people there because of some wars in the past, but as a tourist I will definitely go there in the summer. I also googled Burntisland when I read the article, very nice place. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice post! Has the new lockdown been announced yet? We also started and finished this year in lockdown... Get me out of here, I am bored!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

They all keep changing what is allowed and what is not allowed, and Scotland is different to England, so who knows what is going on. Well I have done all shopping, so only place will be the Park I goto as football cancelled as well!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I want to play with that snow kuya🙈 You're genius kuya for remembering those events.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh I wish you can do snow angels in the snow inday :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish to see real snow too 🥰. I like the blue canal..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I am believe you will see real snow one day and yes the blue makes it awesome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What catches my attention is the snow, huhu... How does it feel to walk on that cold softyyy icee. Is that edible how does it taste?. Im curious.. Lol ty sir

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hahaha! Well I too love the snow atleast knee-deep snow all around

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Snow, snow snow, i want to experience that too but it won't happen, maybe I would just dream about it, hehe

That's a nice compilation of your 2021. I hope 2022 will be full of happiness and positive things for you

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ah I wish all you filipinos get to see and touch snow and see how cold it is lol Thank you, yes a great way to capture a year I think :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it really that cold when having snow? I am really curious about it, haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

living on a boat sounds interesting! will check the other half of this in hive and good luck!!! gave me an idea on how I'll do mine lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe yes I like interesting things, and Salamat I am looking forward to seeing yours now. Always good to get good ideas :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my message is maybe if you make a summary of the end of 2021. include your family and this is all complete. always blessed

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is a good way of doing it frenly yes thank you , and you stay blessed too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All the best to you on the contest :) I wish you will live the way you wanted in 2022. Living on a boat seems fun!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you CJ, and thank you for writing yours, that is how I saw it, still need to hive properly, I run out of RC then forget to get back on it haha. Thank you, here is to a rocking 2022 for us. The boat would be cool, so let's see, and am hoping you and especially farmboy are holding up, never easy losing a parent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very welcome :) Oh yeah the RC. I also run out of it at times.

Looking forward to a rocking 2022 indeed. Been a tough 2021 but it was equally good. We are holding up, still coming into terms with the loss but we are holding up pretty well. It's the only way we can move forward :) Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And 2021 also split into the worsen part of it :<, this xmas supposed to be happy and enjoyable but no..a lot was affected by the typhoon and I feel sorry for them. I wish they can celebrate Christmas with a smile, and not a sadness.

But wait, is it not too cold when the snow started to falldown? xd I want to experience them sooner.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes the end of 2021 is terrible with Odette, my heart goes to everyone. Haha yes it is cold very cold when it is snowing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's like a complitaion of tge things that happened throughout the year. I wanna do this too! 😄

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It turned out to be exactly that, and oo you should SuperElle 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So that's the summary of your 2021? Pretty awesome way to publish that. Don’t worry dear. 2022 will enrich more happiness in your life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes I was going through the pictures for a challenge and it turned into a summary of 2021, yes 2022 will be a great year for all of us :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago