What Is A School For?

12 38
Avatar for TAHANAN
1 year ago

“Everyone is intelligent, but our grades mades us idiots”

- Jobin Baret


Since elementary, my name is always in the list of honors. I experienced to be on top, to received various certificates, to have a big size of tarpaulin when my face and full name was placed on as one of the congratulated honor students. I experienced all that along the way at the beginning of my high school days and ever since of the elementary. I wasn't shared it to brag, or to bring any emotions in others. I just wanted to include it as part of my introduction. So, bcs i’m consistent honor student since elementary, my atmosphere is so complicated. Therefore, i always carrying the expectations of my family, my relatives and more. I suffered from pressure, mental breakdowns, and frustrations. I experienced to judge when i get low grades, to hear the words “bobo ka na” when my surroundings didn't satisfy and appreciate my efforts. There are many times that i skipped my meals, having sleepless nights just to finish all my written works and to pass it earlier. It's okay to me because tiredness can rest, but having the highest grades and compliments are priceless.

But then, i've realized that i was slowly killing myself. I was slowly killing myself because of paper works and deadlines. I slowly ruined my mental health because of grades and compliments. I was killing my body, ruining my mental health and making my life as complicated. I was realized it last year. And now, i've been learned my lesson and i won't pressure again myself for the sake of grades. I made that mistake once, and it's enough.

After my realization, i think more and there are many questions that entered my mind. It's all about School, the system of school. To be honest, all the lessons that taught me is truthfully, i forgot. I forgot how to work the Pythagorean theorem, even my teacher in math discussed it just a few months ago. The computation in Mechanical energy, Potential energy, and the one that i've also forgotten. I know that we're just sing the same song. Have you experienced to avoid eye contact to your teacher during recitation? Or to afraid of raising your hand because you fear of being wrong? Well, i'm aware that millions of students have had experienced these two things. And it's an enough proof for me that the school ain't the institution to learn and building up our intellectual. Does the school is just a game for grades? Just a game for memorizing?

According to Wikipedia, “A school is an educational institution designed to provide learning spaces and learning environments for the teaching of students--” Learning environment when the students are tortured for how many words of essay?? Having 2 or more projects due by before 11:59 pm??

OUR TRADITIONAL TEACHING IS CERTAINLY USELESS.

Why? Just think of it.

A teacher would discuss a lesson, then it will throw it in a test. Do you think it's a true education???

When you're holding a Rubik's Cubes inside the school, teachers will teach you how to memorize the cubes, but not how to align and connects the cubes.

I know that we need to learn how to write, read and how to deal in some arithmetic. How to properly use such English words, it's okay. But teaching me how the typhoon will be landing, such and metaphoric? Gusto ko magkaroon ng pag-asa kay crush, pero hindi maging katulad ni mang tani. Bakit kasi gan'yan.

What if the school teaching the student how to handle the stress, rejection, bullies, depression, and anxiety? Some say, for you to be able to success, you should have a degree first. I'm not doubting because it's something proven. But Harvard studies suggest that the most predictable for success is self-control and emotional health.

Why are the school aren't taught the skill we need for our entire lives?? Because some of the social media platforms were created by drop-outs. The Facebook and YouTube, and even Snapchat. There are many people's that successful without having any degree or without going to school. I don't say to drop out because i just wanted to convey that our future is in our hands. There's no test in our future, and there's a big difference between PEOPLE WHO'S INTELLIGENT and PEOPLE WHO'S GET HIGH SCORED. Students that always got high scores are just expert in memorizing the lessons, i could prove it.

Imagine that you're a student who just sitting at the back, you just always used to speak least. You always get low scores, and you're always do not raise your hand. But you're passionate, you have passion inside of you. And when you improve your passion into legacy, you discover a cure for Cancer or HIV. Now, how could you improve your passion and be passionate if everyone is already judged you by your scores?

SO, WHAT IS A SCHOOL FOR?

IF SCHOOL MAKES YOU SCARED OF FAILING, WHEN FAILING IS A TRULY WAY TO GROW AND LEARN.

I cherish thee < 3

6
$ 0.74
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @JenThoughts
$ 0.02 from @Bisolammy
+ 1
Sponsors of TAHANAN
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TAHANAN
1 year ago

Comments

Sabi nga you will learn everything sa labas ng school dahil nde lahat natuturo s school.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yess. certainly. lalo na kapag pagdating sa tamang-asal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like this part when you asked, "What if the school teaching the student how to handle the stress, rejection, bullies, depression, and anxiety?" , naisip ko, "wow, sumagi sa isip mo yun?" At ang nakakatuwa napansin mo talaga. Ang education natin masyadong nakapokus sa academics. Marahil akala ng marami na ang mga nararanasan natin gaya ng stress,rejection ay madali lang ma overcome katagalan pero ang totoo mas madali sana kung may sapat tayong kaalaman. Nice article!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

kasi part of real word na when it comes in stress, rejection, bullies, depression and anxiety. sa mga 'yon ka maraming matutunan. anyways, thankusm po!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With high honors ako noon, di ako nawala sa top 3 ng campus namin. Pero nung nag grade 9 ako, bigla ako nagising isang araw pagod na pagod ako sa hamon ng buhay. Dyan nagstart ung grades ko na 90+ nagdown sa 80 until 70 and di nako nakabwi. Pero after that, super wala akong regrets. Kasi kahit ganyan ung nanyare, ung result.nya if di mapapantayan ng mga gradong nakuha ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

nu'ng grade 9 rin po ako nag down 'yung 90+ ko to 80 until 75 na. iba talaga when u realize na grade is just a number.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

School is definitely a place for learning. But that learning should be through practical learning. Instead of textbook memorizing it's better one see and kearn. There you succeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yea. it's all about learning system. thankusm po!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a topic with deep meaning. You also have the point that school should be a place of learning where students shouldn't be afraid to get wrong and be wrong. Because mistakes will give us big lessons to learn. As a person, we need to attain education about the basics and needs of life while most of them have been forgotten to be told in the four corners of the room.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes!! because at the end of the day, the reality of this world isn't need the diploma bcs it's depends on our 'diskarte'.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I understand your point. Sometimes, the school makes the child scared to do the things he knows how to do because he believes that he can't do it better. They also make students scared to fail and hide the fact from them that failure is allowed to be able to succeed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

true. when i was in elementary, i'm always afraid to failed and to experience failing. but i've realized, failing is different from failure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago