Five Reasons Mumbai is NOT for You

51 95
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Dream

Mumbai is a city of dreams, and at the same time, it is the city that never sleeps. Dreams come true only when you dream with your eyes open. Time check- 3:45 am.

Having lived here all my life, I give you Five reasons why Mumbai is NOT for you-

This picture was taken from the 72nd floor

1. If you are content where you are in your life, Mumbai is not for you

Mumbai- The Economic, film, art, and entertainment capital of India. Everything and anything is possible here if you are determined to work hard. This is a city of hustle-bustle and struggle. People come here with big hopes and big dreams.

Mumbai is a center for anyone in search of work and better career options. People from all over the country migrate here in search of a better life.

These examples shall give you a perspective of what I'm trying to convey-

Dhirubhai Ambani came to Mumbai in the early 1950s and began his business trading in spices before the oil network, soon he was a business tycoon. His net worth when he died was 29 billion US dollars, in 2002. (Source- Free Press Journal). One of his sons, Mukesh Ambani ranks among the Top Ten richest people globally.

Akshay Kumar worked as a waiter and a cook, before getting success in Bollywood. He was on the Forbes list of high-paid entertainers, ranking 52nd in the world. His net worth is  $48.5 million. (Source- Wikipedia).

I too aspire to do something big in life. We Mumbaikars are content in our lives, but are always looking for more!

If you are content where you are, Mumbai is not for you.

2. If you like to sleep early, Mumbai is not for you

You can watch a movie in the theatre past midnight, or go on a coffee date after a really long day at work without worrying about the cafe being closed, or you can simply shop for new clothes in the middle of the night, or wander in a mall with your friends all night.

If you're studying late at night or preparing for a presentation, and are craving Pizza, you can order your pizza at 4 in the morning! I have ordered my fair share of Pizzas between the hours 2 and 4 am during exams.

Shops, malls, pubs, and multiplexes were granted permission to remain open 24/7 in early 2020.

The permissions were temporarily withdrawn due to the pandemic.

If you do not like to experience the nightlife, Mumbai is not for you.

3. If you like Mountains or Beaches, Mumbai is not for you

There are few mountains on the outskirts of the city, which can be your weekend getaway. The lush green terrains are just so beautiful during the rains, makes it a perfect hiking spot.

There are few hill stations on the outskirts of the city which is a honeymoon destination for a lot of people here.

Being in the coastal region, there are a few beaches here but they are not very clean and tidy (you see what I did there? *wink wink*). Anyway, you won't find blue water white sand beaches here.

But, all in all, nothing beats the Himalayas in Northern India and the Temples and Beaches in Southern India. The location of Mumbai is such that both, Northern and Southern India is easily accessible.

If you'd like to spend your life in Mountains and beaches, and not in business offices and skyscrapers, Mumbai is not for you.

4. If you are suited to a specific food palate, Mumbai is not for you

We have designated lanes called 'Khao Gully', containing rows and rows of street food. Mumbai is a cosmopolitan city, people from all over India come here seeking job or business opportunities, they bring with them their cuisine. Chole Bhature from the North, Momos (Dumplings) from far East, Dosas and Idlis from the South, just to mention a few. This is in addition to our own local food!

With the advent of Globalization, Western food outlets are making a way in too!

We've been witnessing fusions and food inventions as well. How about a chocolate Pizza? Dear Italians, please don't come after me after seeing this.

Or how about a picture of your friend and yours on your coffee?

If you do not like trying new dishes, Mumbai is not for you.

5. If you dislike celebrations or festivals, Mumbai is not for you

YouTube Fan Fest and Comic-Con, we have them everywhere, but I'm not talking about them. I'm talking about religious festivals. Festivals are the life of the city that bring people closer to each other, to God, and to their spiritual selves. The festival season begins in July and lasts up to November.

If you're too lazy to go to the place of celebration, the celebration comes to you! 'Sarvojanik Mahotsav', or community celebrations, where people collect small contributions from everyone and everyone celebrates together.

Ganesh Chaturthi shall begin from tomorrow. Large groups of people bring in idols of Lord Ganesh (remover of obstacles) in processions with pomp and show either in their homes or in temporarily set pavilions. Drum work and firecrackers are abundant. If you see an idol passing, everyone on the road stops doing what they were doing and says a small prayer with sincerity and faith.

In every corner of the city, you'd find temporary pavilions which shall be decorated with lights, flowers, music, an and idol of Lord Ganesh in the center. This festival goes on for 11 days. The celebrations are grand and the idols are huge. How would you like to be where everyone is dressed in their best, offering you sweets (Prasad) and are thrilled?

I genuinely thought the entire world celebrates like Mumbai during festivals. I took them for granted and never left my house to witness the celebrations until someone from outside Mumbai said, 'You are so lucky to live here, the city is lively during festivals, nothing like back home'.

If you do not like your heart racing because of the energy around you, Mumbai is not for you.

Whether you are a morning person, or a night owl, the city is always awake. The flower market in Dadar opens as early as 4 in the morning, the club closes at 4 in the morning. There's everything for everyone here.

If you get to write about the city you love, you can write endlessly and effortlessly.

It took a lot in me to stop writing and adding only a few pictures.

I'm aware this article won't do the city justice, but I have attempted my best to not be redundant and have tried to be crisp.

If you get the subtle tone in my article, tell me one good reason why one should NOT visit your place?

(All of the attached pictures were taken by me)

Let's thank my sponsors for believing in me, you guys are the best:)!

Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty

19
$ 6.03
$ 5.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 7
Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Dream

Comments

A pesar de que vivo en Cuba me gustaría visitar tu país ya que por las fotos que pones se ve espectacular además de la vista en sus comidas se ve deliciosa. Lindo día te saludo desde Cuba

$ 0.02
2 years ago

¡Oye! Que bueno verte :)!

He escuchado mucho sobre Cuba. Me fascinan los low riders, los cigarrillos cubanos y el hermoso paseo marítimo.

¡Visitaré tu país algún día :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always wondered why Bollywood was never renamed Mollywood. In many ways Mumbai reminds me of New York. You did your city proud.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I always thought it was because Mumbai was called Bombay back in the day. Our High Court is still called Bombay High Court. Here, when they rename a city, they don't rename the High Court because no one has the power to do it. Maybe they have rules of similar lines in the industry? I don't know lol

Thank you :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've loved what you write about your city. And based on that, I can say that Mumbai is for me. I love vibrant cities.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi! Thanks for dropping by :)! I cannot imagine myself living in any place other than a city. I vacation in the mountains, but I know I have to come back :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoy very much the countryside, the mountains, and the beach. But I'm definitely a city person too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading the reasons given by you, it seems to me that the city of Mumbai, which was built for me, has everything I want. So in the future I plan to live in Mumbai . Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hehe you're invited! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am born and raised a city girl in our country. I relate to this so much!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Which country Sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm from the Philippines. Specifically in the Metro Manila area. So I'm also kind of used to the city life. The food, skyscrappers, night life, job opportunities, etc, almost similar there in what you described in Mumbai. I think I could live there and adapt easily! Hehehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, I think I have heard of this place from your friends :)! I think I can live in the Metro Manila too :)! But I am a pure vegetarian.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think there are restos here that has vegetarian offerings! But not as many.

But overall, I think you'd still enjoy here!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow already loving the city

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hey, thanks for dropping :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've met may Indian colleagues when I was in Tata Consultancy Services way back from 2013 to 2019. But most of them are living in Chennai.

Nice article to describe Mumbai by the way ...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hey :)! A lot of my friends work with TCS :)! Thanks for dropping by :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow.. That's cool

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If this is an article designed to keep me AWAY from Mumbai, then you miserably failed in your attempt. lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

lol I'm glad I would love to have you here, I can already imagine so many topics for conversations :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think we could have a bit of a fun time. Party time, baby. Party time. Although I am old, so it might be a short party. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh maybe it's perfect for me then. Haha. Interesting it's like cities here in Metro Manila (NCR), Philippines. Everyone from all over the country comes here to have a better life.

I checked the population and wow that's a lot of people in Mumbai. Do you have terrible traffic there during rush hour too? 🤔 Looks like we still sleep around here because cinemas aren't showing movies past midnight at all. 😆 (pre-pandemic)

But wow living on the 72nd floor of a building, whoa that's so far up in the air! 😮

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, there are a lot of people here. Travelling during rush hours in a pain, hehe you must avoid those hours at all costs.

I don't live on the 72nd floor. I had just gone to visit and see how it's like :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah so it is no different there then. Hehe.

I don't think we have any super high buildings like that here. Someday I will experience that too. 😆

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the waiting for the lift is an issue hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh hahaha. I didn't think of that. Yeah it would be a problem if there are only a few elevators.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the high speed elevators makes your head spin hehe takes some time to get used to it. I'm not used to it. My building has only 6 floors and I live on the second.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Learning about Mumbai from reading your piece I can most definitely say Mumbai is indeed for me. Such lovely place to live and I really like that it's none of those points highlighted above.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you find it fascinating :)! Hope to see you here someday :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard many times about Mumbai but I never heard this much.Its day and nights,its foods and its festivals, all make it attractive and that's why people migrate to Mumbai. Thats good people can find bussines opportunities here.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

All of that is true :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can relate most of these to Chennai also... but NOWHERE close to Mumbai... The celebrations and dancing is still less here, also less food options because people do not eat anything other than dosa or idly usually here haha... people are still health conscious to some extent :)

I believe Mumbai is like India's New York.. I'm equally fascinated and also disturbed by Mumbai lol... I cannot take crowds, they overwhelm me because I grew up in a temple city called Tirupati and i literally grew up watching MILLIONS of people every year for 25 years.. I just cannot take it anymore... SO, I prefer, if I go to place, I need my space...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tirupati? Oh, you mean the Tirupati Balaji Temple? My gosh, I want to visit the temple some day :)!

You should visit Rishikesh some day. I bet you'd love it. The Himachal are beautiful and peacefully. It does not get too crowded there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard a lot about Rishikesh... will surely visit one day if God allows :) and yes, I was talking about Tirupati Balaji Temple, I was born and lived there for 25 years :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always prefer country side, beaches and mountain areas over cities. I don't usually like cities. Mumbai is also same with my place in here, a place where it doesn't sleeps lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehe I get where you're coming from. People from the cities prefer mountains, while people in the mountains are looking to come here.

I vacation in the mountains, but I know that I have to come back hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you dont like crowded and many entertainment and a lot of noise, Mumbai is not for you, wow n agree with it as same as how Nourah my friend explained to me years ago she kives un Mumbai and show me pictures of her there and how beautiful the place itself.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Do you have a friend who lives here? Would love to meet them :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah a long time friend my coworker in kuwait but we lost contact, just missing her,shes a good one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aww :)! Why don't you search her on Instagram or Facebook? :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We dont have this apps before, we're using friendster before

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohh, I see.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mumbai is not for me too! :D I thought this was something else but then I smiled in the end. Lots of interesting things to see in Mumbai. I hope visit this one day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

aww :)! I love it here very much :)! I can't imagine myself in a quieter place. I would get depressed without the noise hehehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you'd like to spend your life in Mountains and beaches, and not in business offices and skyscrapers, Mumbai is not for you.

but food looks great!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The food, ah the food :)! Can you imagine all those pictures of food attached are all vegetarian? We get non vegetarian food here too! I had to stop myself from writing about the food. The article would get too long unnecessarily.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

of food attached are all vegetarian? We get non vegetarian food here too! I had to stop myself from writing about the food. The article would get too long unnecessarily.

vegetarian sounds so healthy... they are indeed healthy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mumbai is for me no joke on it. I chase and seek better opportunities. I love the store opening and closing time that I imagine when my insomnia attack I can go everywhere to unwind and eat every craves. Chocolate pizza was quite interesting. My love for mountains and beaches can wait thou. I love the way you feature it and makes me to go there.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You'd love it so much here :)! I vacation in the mountains, but I know that I have to come back hehe. If I go to a quieter place, I'd get depressed. I'm an introvert hehe, weird no?

$ 0.00
2 years ago