Chicken Soup for the Soul Saved Me

48 77
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

About two years back, I was visiting my brother who was living alone in Kerala for his studies. He was facing severe physical distress and had no one to look after. My parents were dead worried for his life. They sent me there to take care of him.

Lots of shouting and screaming were involved at home. The overall environment in my family was unpleasant and disturbing.

It was around the time I was being bullied by a senior at the office. There was no point in making a complaint, the managers were aware of her acts. A break from the office environment would do me good; I thought. It was a zugzwang.

My boyfriend (ex now), the only person I could lean on, and talk about these things decided it was an excellent time to discontinue our relationship.

He wasn't a pleasant company, to begin with. My wavering mental health had become truly a reflection, a consequence of a terrible company. I absorbed his traits completely. I swallowed his arrogance, and became an arrogant person, I learned about self-pity and wallowed in self-pity. We are strongly influenced by the people we keep, and it was really time to say goodbye.

But I wasn't ready.

A culmination of everything happening to me and around me made me unstable. I was very close to having a panic attack. Since I couldn't cry in the presence of my brother, I went to take a shower.

When you're showering, it gives you time to do a lot of thinking, self-reflection, and studying the circumstances. Within minutes I broke down.

Sometimes, life shoots all the arrows at once. With every breath, it was difficult for me to dodge them. I didn't know why I was put in this situation. I was consumed by negative thoughts. You know the kind.

It was a long shower. I remember sitting on the floor while the water ran through me. I vividly remember the design on the tile I was staring at but I didn't know what to do.

I came out wearing my favorite denim skirt, stared at our dinner sitting on the table, and without uttering a word, I left the room. Fresh air would do me good.

It was around 9 in the evening. They have a large campus, and lot's of students around.

I wasn't really thinking of what to do now. In times like these, you do not think straight. I was strolling around and reached the library. I was overwhelmed by the large bookshelves and the collection of books.

(Picture taken from Upsplash, the caption feature don't work on my computer)

I found a copy of Chicken Soup for the Woman's Soul. That was the only copy of Chicken Soup for the Soul in the library. I needed something to keep my mind from the negative thoughts. I had read Chicken Soup for the Soul: Older & Wiser in the past. So I had an idea of what's inside. A sense of familiarity made me feel safer and brought me comfort.

I found a quiet place to sit and read straight for 4 hours. I was not distracted by anything. I was out in public, everyone saw me, but I saw no one. It was now 1 in the morning and it was getting cold, so I went back to the hostel.

When I went back to the room, the automatic lock had done its thing. I realized that while leaving the room, I had pulled the door in a fashion that had locked it.

I was out with no means of getting in. The door could be only opened from inside. My brother was sound asleep. I had no mobile phone either. I knocked a couple of times and left.

I am not new to being left out of the room/house while my brother is sleeping inside. (Reference is being made to my other article- One Human Day).

He was on medicines, so I had no reason to complain.

I was hungry, so I went to the night canteen grabbed some instant noodles. The night canteen was lively, lot's of college students around creating a ruckus. I left to find a quiet spot and continued reading.

It was now around 4 in the morning and I was through reading the book. I went back to the room, knocked; yet, no answer.

I went back to the night canteen, ate some sandwiches. I was now furiously reading the cover from end to end. I was reading the author's notes. I was reading the acknowledgments. Any possible word on the book, I read. Chicken Soup for the Soul kept me company the dreadful night.

The library opens as early as 5:30 in the morning; I returned the book, thanked the librarian, and left.

(A picture of the college campus during the day.)

The Sun was coming up. Sometimes, you just look up at the sky and pray for it all to be over.

A year later, my brother bought a copy of Chicken Soup for the Soul for sleeping in early that night.

You see, I am not a writer. I am a storyteller, and often, my tales are 9 hours long with a read time of only 5 minutes, but, that night, it left an impact on me.

Let's thank my sponsors for believing in me. You guys are the best:)!

Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty

18
$ 7.29
$ 6.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 9
Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

This is why you deserve sponsorship on here. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘ I'm surprised no one ever bothered you while reading outside until late at night. At least it was safe enough since you're inside a campus. πŸ˜…

Lol to be locked out of where you're living/staying is such an experience. Good thing you had money in your pocket/wallet. πŸ˜†

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha, I was without money also. So at the canteen, they just needed the ID number and then they'll bill the total at the end of the month :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh that's good to know. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You reminded me of the night I read chicken soup for the soul, that night I couldn't stop reading and cried a lot. there are stories from that book that I can't forget.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh my gosh, I'm all for happy tears (if they were that). Which one did you read?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This post made me feel like I was reading through your personal diary, something about it felt so personal and I even hesitated if I could continue lol.. people who do not stay with you when you are at your low does not deserve to come back when you are at your peak... I'm glad a book helped you to keep you away from negative thoughts, just like how the paranormal genre helps me..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I've been meaning to ask about the paranormal stuff. How did you get interested in it? You post a lot of those.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was young and until I was 20, I did not believe in paranormal at all, when my friend used to discuss about ghosts during leisure, I used to laugh at their faces judging them believing in these... until that unfortunate day a spirit tried to kill me in my sleep, after that self experience, my obsession started with the other world and to say I'm obsessed now, is an understatement... Paranormal is all what I see/listen/read these days.. nothing else nothing else amuses me anymore. I will post my paranormal experience on October 1st as I had already planned to do that for Halloween month

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read about your astral post also!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad that the book helped you through the hard times. It must be hard holding the tears and stress in front of your brother and family members. I know that feeling.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm sorry you had to go through a similar incident. Reading helps.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand how difficult it would be be to avoid crying in the presence of your brother. Anyways I am glad you find peace reading Chicken Soup for the Soul.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thank you :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading this makes me miss our school library, I and my friends are always at the library reading books

$ 0.02
2 years ago

that's so cool. We were scared to visit our school library because of the angry librarian :/

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are strongly influenced by the people we keep, and it was really time to say goodbye.

this caught my attention for it is so true. You will absorb their traits no matter how hard you try to resist, hence, the saying, "birds with the same feather, flocked together."

Chicken soup really saved you that night,

$ 0.02
2 years ago

that is so true! How could I not think of the idiom while writing the article :/.

Yes, it really did :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Btw, what's the book all about?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a compilation of short real stories of people. For example, Chicken Soup for the Woman's Soul would have stories of Women, similarly for the Old and Wiser Soul would contain stories from the elder crowd.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see, it has a deep content..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

zugzwang - a situation in which the obligation to make a move in one's turn is a serious, often decisive, disadvantage.

thank me later guys...

We are strongly influenced by the people we keep, and it was really time to say goodbye.

I am sure I had seen that book somewhere..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Chicken Soup for the Soul is a very famous book! A good read :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im glad that you are safe that night and you have chosen books to read. Haha I'm laughing at your brother, even if maybe someone killed a pig in front of your house he still won't wake up. πŸ˜…πŸ€§ .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

wohoo hahahaha, you'are really funny :) He had taken medicines which put him into deep slumber.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A dreadful night is the most challenging to find distraction. Negativity will try to surpass. I thought it is about a recipe of chicken soup, sorry for that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha aww. it's a book, actually. A good read. I should've thought of this before keeping the title.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reflections in our own lives can stem from the metaphors and examples of others. Just like we take in art through our own perceptions, seeing different things in the paintings than even the painter sees and other viewers perceive, and we hear songs with meanings to us different than the songwriters and others who hear the same song with different interpretations, certain writings can do the same thing.

So much of this stuff can add to our own realizations and help to make us better understand and cope. Sometimes it is just what the doctor ordered, even if it was not the intent of the artist, or the songwriter, or the author.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So an analogy of songs- sometimes I enjoy the music, sometimes I connect with the words/poem. Depending on my mood :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awesome is how I describe Chicken Soup for the Soul, I did not know they have now over 200 books in the series though! I read the original and is a must read. I believe in the Universe and like @tired_momma am a big The Secret fan!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I must find the original CSFTS and The Secret too! I have added them to my list :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please if you don't mind, could you please name the author of the book, I think I would like to check it out, it seems like a good read from what you have just written. If there is anything I have learned so far is that Tough times don't last forever.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's by Jack Canfield. They have over 200 books. You can pick any. ALl are a really good read. It's a very famous book, I'm sure you'll find it anywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha your bro sleep like an oil. Good thing you found distraction to not get bored. But you ate again and again waiting for him if that's my brother I will throw him a bomb haha char

$ 0.02
2 years ago

aw hahahaha! He was on medicines naa, so can't say anything :p

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate. When you just break down but good thing you found a distraction. Fun for being locked out of the house. Your brother is a real sleeper🀧

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was a fun night :)! He was on medicines, so I can't complain :/

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought its all about food, but the best one.. πŸ˜‚.. I'm also a story teller so you're not alone.. It's a good book by the way.. I had one before ..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ya, I am getting a few similar comments. Some thought it was a recipe. I should've thought of it before keeping the title :/

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No that's ok.. I find it funny . It caught the attention.. and when you read it, there's something most important message in there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you for taking your time to read it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I opened your article, I was curious since I know you are a vegetarian. And I thought, what this is about. I haven't read the book, but I will look for it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha aww, apologies for the awful clickbait. It was unintentional.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, not it was completely fine. But at first glance, I thought, what is going on here, LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is that Jack Canfield book? The one in The Secret Movie? Because it sounds familiar to me. I should have a look at that book.

It's The Secret by Rhonda Byrne save me. 😊

$ 0.04
2 years ago

The Secret is awesome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's the one. It's a series. You can pick up any book and enjoy.

I'd really love to know how The Secret saved you :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes a single book can change us or solve our problems, I could feel your pain as you stayed under the shower, you must have been so sad. But I am glad you overcame that and rose out the ashes like a pheonix✌✌😁 I always love your articles!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is true, books are a medium of transportation. It was almost like I was sitting beside someone who was reading their stories to me.

Thank you :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago