One Human Day

22 97
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

My day begins anywhere between the hours of noon and 3 or 4 pm. However, today, it began at 7 am when the Security guard rang the doorbell.

My building is being repaired and prepared for Monsoons.

'You need to park your car somewhere else, M'am. The workers are working near your car parking and debris might fall on your car, you need to come with me right now.'

Now, when you live where I live, you cannot leave your house in pajamas and slippers, not even if your house is on fire, not even if there's an apocalypse. You need to be dressed orderly.

I grabbed the car keys and left my house without washing my face or fixing my hair, looking all disoriented. Hurriedly took the elevator expecting no one to be awake this early in the morning.

'You look unwell, are you alright?' comes a familiar sound. I turn back to see my childhood crush standing there baffled.

I hadn't seen him in years! Apparently, some people like to wake up early in the morning to play soccer.

Why couldn't he see me last night when I was looking all pretty in my little black dress or the other day when I wore a classy top highlighting my décolletage?

The harm was done anyway, so I thought of grabbing some spare money from the car to go out and buy ice cream. Ice cream always makes the day. I ran to the nearest In and Out, but it was closed. I had to wait 20 minutes for him to open the store.

Magnum is some expensive shit that I have been contemplating buying for some time. What better day than today, I bought two. Let my brother also have ice cream for breakfast.

Rang the doorbell. No one opened. Rang the doorbell twice, yet no one answered. My parents are out on their after-vacation vacations, so it was just my brother and me at home. My brother was sleeping soundly and there was no way I could wake him up just by ringing the doorbell.

I sat on the stairs watching my expensive breakfast melt, waiting for my brother to wake up. I couldn't eat the ice creams myself because I hadn't brushed my teeth.

For lunch, I cooked Dal (lentils soup) and spiced rice. I make a decent Dal except for the occasional switch up between fennel seeds and cumin seeds.

Pro tip- Do not place your hand on the stove while trying to light it up. That one's on me, I'm a total klutz.

I needed the family recipe for flavored rice, so I called up Mum.

But how can one take recipes from someone who says, "You'll know when it's done, dear", in her recipe. "I don't Ma, therefore I called you."

Anyway, so I poured a shit load of cloves instead of two, as required in the recipe. Lunch was crazy.

It was a sunny day and perfect weather for doing the laundry. My washing machine comes with a built-in dryer, but sometimes, I avoid using it and let the clothes air dry in the sun. Electricity is cheap here, the intention is not to save money on power; the intention is to save power.

I was done with two loads and hung all the clothes on the line outside my window.

I came after an hour to see all the clothes drenched in dirty water.

The workers were cleaning window sheds of upper floors and as a consequence of which all the dirty water fell on my freshly washed clothes.

Angrily, I intercommed the manager immediately and asked him why didn't he put up a notice that they were working on this side of the building and clothes were not to be hanged today.

"I put up a notice on Tuesday", he responded.

"Yes, I read that notice, and therefore didn't wash them on Tuesday, but today. It's Saturday today!".

"Oh yea, I forgot to put up a notice today", he replied.

I had to redo the laundry, using the dryer this time, which means, I used twice the power, had I used the dryer the first time.

A kind friend had offered me to take out for dinner due to my unfortunate exam results. I was excited to go out today.

More so, I was excited to wear my favorite dress.

Sometimes, I thrift shop and pick out some beautiful statement pieces.

I wear them once a few years.

Not only did I wear my dress backside front, I realized that I had been to the same restaurant wearing the same dress a few years ago!

This is not me being petty over repeating a dress.

It is a culmination of all that happened today that makes me wonder if I am an undeserving human who is put on this planet just so that God can play pranks and have a pleasant time laughing at me.

Please, can I have One Human Day? I am not expecting rainbows and unicorns. But a normal Human Day just like everyone else.

Let's thank my sponsors for believing in me when even I don't believe in myself. You guys are the best:)!

Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty

18
$ 5.13
$ 4.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 5
Sponsors of Stea
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Stea
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

You seem to suffer Murphy's Law. That is where something may go wrong, something will go wrong. Not to to worry. You are not alone. I suffer the same syndrome. lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a day! Lols ahaha. I got tired with the thought of redoing laundry.. this is one hilarious kind of human day ..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah, hahaha, yes, we've all had a few of those. Or is it just me? :/

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I miss reading your article. I am so happy that you update :) I love you dress and necklace.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hey :)! Thank you :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

always welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i always get a good laugh when reading your articles.. oh i hope your shirts are all cleaned up after the second spin and dry! ahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah haha, I'm so glad it came out humourous, my article. I try my best to write serious things in a funny way.

I'm so happy it made you laugh :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

happy it made you laugh :)!

:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome dress and a stunning pendant necklace. Did you like the rice. You do make me laugh, I can see your face when you saw your wet laundry, what a bummer. Magnum is one of my favourite ice creams here, a cracking breakfast. How was your dinner though, that must have been good I am sure?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you :)! Both are thrift I love street shopping so much! It's almost therapeutic :)

I still am yet to taste Magnum :/

Rice is a weird story. I added salt as per taste, then I felt adventurous so I added Pizza spice mix which had salt in it. Along with too much cloves, it was very salty :/.

Dinner was great, I'm so blessed to have great friends around me, physically and here too :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One good thing in the UK, is charity shops, whenever there are empty shops, they get let to charities to be used as thrify shops, you can some awesome things, and them money goes to charities. That is where I take things I no longer use, want etc, and I agree it is therapeutic.

Aww you haven't had Magnum, well soon you shall!

What on earth is pizza spice mix, I didn't think pizza had spices, Yes I did read about your overzealous us of cloves, haha well live and learn. As for you being blessed, you are an awesome character so yes will have lots of friends around you, both physical and on here!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Charity shops sounds so cool! We have to find informal sources to donate old clothes. :/. A friend's Mum is a politician and runs an organisation. We call her every Diwali to give away old stuff.

Thrift shops here don't sell used clothes. They sell clothes which can't be sold in the store, for example, Zara has a policy of changing the stock every week, so un sold clothes are sold at huge discounts to numerous street sellers.

Similarly, my company was an auditor at Pepe Jeans. They have Summer and Winter sale where they give 'friends and family' discount and sell unsold stock.

Pizza mix is a blend of Oregano, Garlic Powder, chili flakes, black pepper and salt too!

Aww, thank you :')!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

okay, oregano I thought might have been in your pizza spice mix.

Oh wow, so the thrift shops don't sell clothes! We have a couple of charity shops that do the selling of clothes that can't be sold by manufacturers, old stock etc.

Well good for Zara, I hope the street sellers make a good bit of money from that.

We even have clothes banks, like drop off containers for old clothes that goto charity shops.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They do. The thrift stores sell those clothes to street buyers at discounts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am glad to hear it. The street sellers could probably ship here and make even more of a profit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You had quite a hectic day. LOL. I like your dress!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I experience atleast 3-4 moments of 'why this always happens to me' in a single day.

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uh-oh...that happens sister...we cannot always have a good day. ..Everyone of us has considered to be the worst day of our lives. But we must strive looking on the positivity and not on the negativity of it.

By the way, your dress looks good :)...And I love your necklace or is it also part of the dress design itself?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The thing is, I experience 8 such days in a week lol

The necklace is different from the dress, which is also thrifted :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You seem to have it, rough dear, from morning till night!! but that dress really looks beautiful

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thank you :)! It's one of my favorite thrifts :)!

$ 0.00
2 years ago