We are Filipino

39 47
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

I have seen a lot of funny videos in the Facebook about Filipino ways and Filipino things. Just like the video about “Tell me you are a Filipino without telling me that you are a Filipino.” I can’t stop myself from laughing because I can really relate about it. It is just so funny to think that Filipinos are really unique from the way we think to the way we execute things. Every culture and country surely has its own distinct identity and way of executing their daily activities. Filipinos on the other hand, are known for being hospitable and optimistic people despite of every problem we face. We were nurtured to always look for the silver lining in every situation and smile no matter what happen. Anyways, in this article, I will be exposing the things we Filipinos always do and say that are really different from the other culture and country.

In Philippines…

We used our lips to point

I remember when I was in high school, we decided to go to the ‘bukid’ of our classmate to get some fruits since it’s the season of fruits such as rambutan, durian and marang. We asked her where their ‘bukid’ was and she simply pouted her lips to point the location. We thought that it is only a 10 minutes’ walk. Thirty minutes later and we were still walking, but everytime we asked her, she would just say almost there and point again using her lips. From then on, I never trusted anyone that uses their lips as pointing tool.

We used vicks to cure everything

I remember back then, whenever I felt sick, my mother would rubbed some vicks to my nose, forehead, neck, back and chest. And take note, she always believe that it is applicable to every pain you feel, regardless of its type and location.

We used our fingers to measure water in rice

Yes, I know. Filipinos are born to be very resourceful. It was when I was in Fourth grade when I learned how to used my finger in measuring the rice’s water.

We always close the door to avoid the aircon from walking out

I don’t know if the aircon would eventually develop some legs when the door is left open and will just get out from the room. But, yeah! We always say "sirado mo yung pinto lalabas ang aircon." Close the door, the aircon will come out.

We always say tabi-tabi

This is very famous line when you are in province. It is showing respect to the “not like us” elements and to avoid being curse or punish by them. This is usually uttered whenever we walked through a creepy place, house or trees in the forest.

We used to store fish in Ice cream container

I’ve been a victim of this for about million times. Just imagined how disappointing it can be when you are so craving for an ice cream but instead of having an eye cream inside, you found fishes.

We always do Pagpag

"Pagpag" is Filipino's superstitious belief. Whenever we visit a wake, we always go somewhere else before we really home. It is believed that the soul of the dead person will go with you and you should go to some other places first to mislead the soul before you actually go to your own house. But if you wanna have that kind of companion, then you could just go home directly 😂.

Mothers always blame our phones whenever we feel sick

"Kakaselpon mo yan", a very famous line of most of the Filipino mothers. Even if you get diabetes or wounds, they will always blame your phone. So better shut your mouth and just endure that pain.

________________________

Here are some of the signs that will obviously prove that we our Filipino citizens. Tell me that you are a Filipino without telling me that you are a Fililino.

  • We ask for colgate then buy close up

  • We look for Pampers then choose EQ

  • You say Ha? We say Hakdog!

  • No matter what you say, if we have nothing else to say, we always say 'Sanaol'.

________________________

Those are just the few things we do and say. Well, Filipinos are really unique and very talented people. We always smile and find the positive side of every situation. It's more fun in the Philippines!

Actually, I really have no idea what to publish today since today is very exhausting and draining for me. But I saw this draft and decided to finish it. I don't know if it makes sense. But yeah, whatever. Just wanna rest and have a sound sleep tonight. Thank you so much for reading till here. God bless!

Lead image from unsplash.com

15
$ 1.15
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 11
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

Comments

Hahahaha. Yung sa bigas talaga. Kaso ngayon na matanda na ako yung measuring cup na lang na kasama sa rice cooker ginagamit ko. Tapos tinatanong ko na sa bigasan kung ilan ang ratio ng bigas sa tubig. 😁 naalala ko pa talaga yan nung bata ako tinuturuan ako ng nanay ko. Tuturo niya sa daliri niya tapos susukatin ko sa daliri ko. Tapos nung maganda na pagkakasaing ko ang ibabanat "pwede ka ng mag-asawa". Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan kautak ang mga Pinoy pero Minsan nakakatawa din. Nakakarelate ako sa lahat especially dun sa Vicks at dun sa kaseselpon mo yan haha. Lagi Kase yun Yung sinasabe ni mama kapag masama pakiramdam ko kaseselpon ko daw hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kawawa na msyado is selpon eh nu?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's how unique Filipinos are. 😊Lahat ng nabanggit ay totoo. May mga tradisyon pa rin na nasusunod. At relate much talaga ako sa linyahan ng mga nanay na "sa kakaselpon mo yan"😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Young selpon talaga eh no? Hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so funny! Love it when someone can have a funny look at daily life. The pointing with lips is funny cause I think I have seen it and obviously can picture it in my mind. Hahahaha....

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have an American friend and she thought I was making for a kiss 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's funny. I can see how that can be a non-verbal misreading. LOL.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah right 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhaah naalala ko si jokoy sa vicks hahaha. This is halariously true. Yung nguso din at ang nag wo-walkout na aircon ahhahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahah dinamay pa pati aircon mars 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And these are all what make us Filipinos. ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So truuuee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. These are all on point and hilarious at the same time. But that's how Filipinos are, we sustain the tradition and live with it. 😉

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oppoo and that what makes us unique look 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dami kong tawa dito beb...kasi relate na relate talaga ako lalo na dun sa aircon at sa vicks hahahaha...di na kase ako nasabihan ni mama nang "kakaselpon mo yan" kasi di naman ako ma cellphone pag nasa bahay hahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

HAHAAHH VICKS IS LIFE TALAGA BEB eh nu? HAHAHH. Gamut sa lahat ng sakit 🤣.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true...naranasan ko talaga kay Lola to nung nilagnat ako sabi niya Vicks lang makakapagpawala haaayzzt

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These platform has brought me close to many Philippinos, I really love you guys, awesome people. ❤❤❤❤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank youuuu pal 🧡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is always nice to learn about the customs of other peoples. I am glad that they are people who like to be positive in the face of bad situations. That helps them to move forward. All countries have their own customs and we have to love our people because that makes us great in the eyes of other people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I do agree. Every country is unique and amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We used our fingers to measure water in rice and yong tabi tabi po

Legit, nakasanayan na as in always yan lang talaga ang ways na pang sukat. Tapos basta pupunta sa likod bahay, kailangan mag tabi tabi ka talaga, or else naku wahahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lalo an pat umiihi HAHAHA. kailngan talaga mag tabi2 kung ayaw monh HAHA hahahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I met many Filipino and personally i like them all never saw jealousy and hatred thing which is very rare in this world!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeeey! Thank you so much for your kind words and dropping here ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kakaselpon mo iyan was the best line ever hhaahhahaa

Kahit ano masakit sayo, kakaselpon mo iyan ang dahilan. But srsly, madalas yes😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha tigilan na kasi ka seselpon 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tinatawanan ako ng asawa ko if tinuturo ko isang bagay gamit ang nguso ko lol. He goes, "what the hell is that?" lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Maybe he was thinkinh that you are asking for a kiss ate 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree to 2 of those above that apply to me and to people close to me :D The use of lips to point and the use of fingers to measure the water for rice. haha

But I kind of disagree with "kakaselpon mo yan" a famous line of "every" Filipino mother. I disagree because I haven't heard this from my own mom and other moms around me.

And I love your closing thought about us Filipinos and the country :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yaaah, sorry for that, I think, I am gonna change that one 😅 . Thank youuuu for dropping by ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha no need to change, I just commented my thoughts on it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na realized ko din na mali yung word ko po hihi. Thanks to you ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh okay. Cool then hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Confirmed. Pinoy nga talaga ako! Hahahaha relate na relate ako sa lahat eh. Lalo na yung vicks na gamot sa lahat. Kahit sa hilot, vicks ginagamit. 😂 Pero pinaka grabe yung kakaselpon. Trend na trend. Kung kaya magsalita lang sana ng phone, sasabihin niyan bakit kasalanan niya pa. 😂😂😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Cellphone be like: Bakit parang kasalanan ko? Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo. Nagiging Bea Alonzo agad eh. Hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago