My Compassionate Mom

30 41
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Date: July 15, 2021
Author: Sequoia

“My mother is our greatest miracle.”

I guess, I will begin with that statement. There’s no other word that I can use in order to describe my mom, but a miracle. She is not just my miracle but as well as to her parent and siblings.

No, she’s not a doctor but she can definitely heal my wounds and ease my pain by just her kisses and warmth of her embrace. She isn’t a teacher, but she taught me how to love and show compassion to everyone around me, regardless of their status. She’s not a lawyer, but she’s defending the defenceless.

She became the alpha female wolf that always goes first and risks her life just to create a path for her pack. And no, she doesn’t need a man beside her, she is stronger and more capable than you could ever thought.

________________________

Her Voyage

It was a beautiful day of April 28, 1964 when a young baby girl saw the beauty of the world. She was the second child out of her eight siblings. Because of poverty, she wasn’t able to finish primary school and decided to work as a nanny and laundress at the age of 10. She became the helper of her parents when it comes in providing the needs of her siblings. There comes a time where they encountered a financial crisis because her mother got sick and her father and her income isn’t enough to buy the medicine of her mother. She was left no choice but to sacrifice herself. At the age of 18 years old, her body became her commodity. But it only happened twice and she never did it again. She lost her confidence and even hated herself. Her mother got better and she applied as a seller in a small store. There she met the father of my older sister. However, she found out that my sister’s father had a first family and that makes her a mistress. They got separated and my mom became massager, there she met my dad. They fell inlove with each other and tadaaa! They got me and my big brother. My father is a business man and they really work hard to give us the life she never had. Our relatives always ask some financial help to my mom and mother was also willing to help them. They even called her as a living Santa Claus. My mother is really a giver and maybe that is the reason why she never ran out of things and money. They were always busy and it was our grandparents and aunties who raised us. I am only 5 years old that time when my 12 year old big brother commit suicide through hanging himself in our bathroom. Year before that incident, our grandma died. My mother almost lost her sense to live but then she remembered that I am still here. In short, we continue our lives and as far I can remember, I was 9 years old back then when we found out that my father had an legal family in Manila. That explains why he never asked my mom to marry him and not always with us every Christmas and New Year. My mother trusts my father so much and she never doubted him. But as what they always say, no secret will stay hidden forever. My mother doesn’t want chaos so she pushed my dad away and let him go.

The moment they got separated, our life also starts to crumble. I’ve experienced financial crises to the point that we only eat twice a day. My mother’s just so smart that she decided to buy our own lot and build our own house when my father was still with us. So, we have no problem in that aspect. However, I also witnessed how people treat my mom when she asked for a small assistance from the people she once helped before. I’ve seen how they stare at her from head to toe and ignored her. Some even laughed at her and that really made me mad. However, despite of that, she never lost her heart in giving and still chooses to give as long as she has something to give.

________________________

Closing thought

My mom went through a lot and I really admire her bravery. She is not just my angel, but her sibling’s angel as well. She cares for the other people than herself. She is so compassionate to other people that she almost forgot how to show some compassion to herself. She is not wonder woman but she is my hero.

________________________

This is my entry for Writing Prompt #7: Compassion of Ms. @JonicaBradley

The rules are simple.

  1. Write about compassion

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun

Heyaaaa! Thank you for reading till the end.

God bless you.

16
$ 5.20
$ 3.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Ruffa
$ 0.20 from @MizLhaine
+ 12
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago

Comments

I salute your mother for doing what is right. She is a very strong woman.

I am sorry to hear about your brother. At such a young age of 12. Were you able to find out the reason behind his suicide? My cousin's cousin also committed suicide around that age decades ago and as far as I can remember it was because he was heartbroken.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

As far as I can remember. Parang dahil yun sa pagkamatay ng lola ko. Makilola kasi yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a super special mom. She is a great warrior. A fighter for the survival of her children and with a big heart. God will see for her and she will never lack God's help because of her great courage as a giving person.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awww. Thank you so much for that kind words. My mother would definitely felt happy with this kind words of yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hands down to your mom. For her to endure a lot of things, that is admirable. She was able to raise you all alone. It's quite unfortunate for what happened to your family especially your brother. Not everyone has the strength to overcome such trials but she was able to.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's why I adore my mom so much. I will do anything for her. She deserves all the good things in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh Gosh, sorry about your brother. But what's his reason kaya at nagawa nya yong bagay na yon, he's just 12 years old for fvcksake 😱. And those man na dumaan sa buhay ni Mama mo, they are a son of fvcking gun! Pero bat kasi may ganong lalaki ano. Ang gegu!!!

Anywwy, Salute to your Mom 💪🍰🥧🎉🎊🍮 she's the bravest, the coolest, and one of the awesome human being that exist in the world. Kinaya nya lahat ee 💙🔵

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Talaga malapit po kasi yung kuya koaa lola ko noon ate, year before sya nag commit ng suicide, namatay yung lola ko. Tas ayun sumunod sya after a year tas same month din.

Ewan ko ba ate, bat my mga taong ganun. Di na makuntento 🤦. Bti nalng hindi martyr yung mama ko.

Salamaat atee. Sya yung dahiln talaga kung bakit ako ngsisikap. I wanna give her the life that she deserve.

Salamat ateeee Ruffa 😭😭❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayt baka sobrang nalungkot sya 😕, kawawa naman binata na sana ang bata. Pero sana naman ay masaya syabsa pinili nyang landas na tahakin, with God.

Buti kamo at malakas mother mo, mas pinili nyang humiwalay kesa you know. May ganyan kasi na babae diba. Yong sa sobrang love nila, gagawin ang lahat kahit pa di na tama. Basta Fightuuuu bata, you can do it for sure 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am carried with the emotions on the story of your mom, I can feel the pain and sacrifice she's been through. Our moms are really a blessing to us. This article made me remember of my mom.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Grabe yung heart talga ng mama ko ma'am. She's the bravest person I know 🤗❤ thank you for dropping by po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mom really tried. Our mom really can't be compared with. They are our angel and guidance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mom really is a tough one imagine suffering through that and losing both your grandma and your brother is the total breakdown for me. glad she coped up and even if your father lied at least your mother had you with her..

Love you mom always beb!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Moms are the best creation of God ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No cape wise, but our mom is a hero. They are willing to sacrifice everything for the sake of their family. They are gem, more than a gem that we need to treasure. 🤧💗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree po. walang makakapantay sa ating mga nanay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mother's will always be our number one hero. Not all heroes wear capes 💓

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree ❤ mothers are the best.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All mothers are heroes. I may say your such so blessed having a mom like her. God bless her 🙏😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamaaat ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mothers are our real heroes. We can't measure their love whatever we do. God bless your mom, friend. She is amazing that's why you are too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you mars ❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear about the circumstances of your family, Sequoia. Women are truly the strongest people who can take care of everyone around them, and protect their children as best as possible. All the best to your family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay emz 😊. Yes, women are really strong and brave. Thank yoouuu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May God bless your mother and every other Super woman out there. Big respect to them all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. God bless your famiky ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My salute goes to your mom and to you too. May the Heavens bless your family and that you prosper in life and everything in it. God bless

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much pooo. May the Lord God bless you even more ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago