Destructed by distractions

66 74
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Topics: Prompt
Date: September 16,2021
Author: Sequoia

Success will never be achieve without going through different failures , hardships and distractions. All these things will do its best to entangle you and keep you from reaching the finish line. However, it will be up to you and your response toward these moments if you are going to use it as your stepping stone? Or chains that will eventually hold you back from running? There is no shortcut for success. If you want to reach the top, then stop entertaining distractions before it become your destruction.

Yesterday, I have read the article of @FarmGirl entitled Pssst...Wait, Look at me about two type of distraction. The good one and the bad ones. And I am glad that I was able to read it because it gave me an idea about what to write today.

The distractions that I will be sharing with you all at this very moment are the bad ones. This is just for me okay. Why? Because these are the things that always hinders me from achieving my daily goals.

________________________

Before I will disclose the bad distractions that I usually suffer from, let us first find out what does distraction means?

According to the Oxford dictionary, it is a thing or occurence that prevents someone from focusing or giving fix attention on something or someone else.

In short, distractions are the ones that steal your focus from doing the things that you ought to do. Most of the time, it is the reason why we can't have a productive day or produce a very poor performance and quality to the things that we are doing.

Don't ask me about distractions. It is never new to me. I've been distracted ever since I was born and that is the reason why I really suck. Lol.

Anyways, let's cut the crap and go directly to our main subject.

________________________

Bad Distractions that I experience

  • Social Media

I am the most guilty person in this type of distraction. I don't know but it feels like my fingers have their own brains and mostly choose to tap the social media apps while I am writing my articles. That is the reason why I always spend almost 4 hours in writing one article. I find it really weird tho. It seems like it became part of my system already. Because even if I am in the midst of writing, my thumb would just click the home button, menu and then click the facebook app logo and start scrolling. Am I the only who is experiencing this strange actions?Do I need to see a doctor? Gasssh. Help.

  • Daydreaming

It always happen whenever I ran out of ideas in my topic and just stare blankly at my phone screen. I will just caught myself already creating scenarios in my head. Sometimes, my mind would just suddenly do flashbacks and most of it are embarrassing moments. Afterwards, I will no longer be in the mood to continue writing because of what I've remembered.

  • Online Games

I am not guilty with this right now. However, this is my greatest distraction back then. I can't even do any household chores because of this. I will just wake up and then play mobile legend until sunset. Sometimes, I even forgot to eat because I was so occupied in playing. This is really unhealthy and not good distraction for me. It paralyze me. I am glad that I decided to delete my game apps.

  • My Bed

My bed is such a temptation for me. Especially when I am reading articles or writing. I always make sure to do it while sitting and mot lying in the bed because I know that I will just suddenly doze off.

  • Negative emotions

I really hate this internal distraction. Sometimes, I'll just drop my phone and throw myself into the dark corner of the room while having an endless negative thoughts towards myself. Low self-esteem, regrets , not being good enough and worthless are just one of the few thoughts that I usually think of myself. And it will already made me lose my mood to the things that I am currently doing.

________________________

Closing Thoughts

Distractions are everywhere. Anyhow, it will still be up to you if you'll let it steal your focus and consume you. If you can't control yourself from being distracted, then might as well prepare yourself for destruction.

How about you? Do you also suffer from distractions?

________________________

Anyways, this is my entry to this week's writing Prompt #17  Distraction . You can also join us.

"Here are the simple and easy rules:

  1. Write anything about distraction

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Join and submit to the community PromptlyJonica

  4. Tag @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun! "

29
$ 9.39
$ 8.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
+ 20
Sponsors of Sequoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Sequoia
2 years ago
Topics: Prompt

Comments

For me it's definitely my mobile phone. It's the first thing I grab when I wake up and also the ladt thing I put down before I fall asleep. Yeah, I'm also guilty. 😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Internet is my number 1 distraction. Everything it means. Surf the Internet and spend hours in front of the phone or computer, reading, watching videos, looking for news, and much more. I'm going to rethink this situation a bit. Ahahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

However, we still need internet tho hihi. Thanks for dropping by 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Social media is my first bad distraction, overall if I have to do something and I don't want to...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relateeee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a relatable post dear, I get distracted from negative thoughts and my bed too.. social media?? don't even ask, that's my biggest escape route from depression..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope and pray that we can all overcome this distractions that we face.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate OMG! Biggest distraction ko yong bed ko!! It's really hard to be productive especially for my classes kasi sa mismong bed ako nag-aaral due to limited space sa bahay. But then, I get used to it and discipline talaga if I really want to study and learn hehe ^_^

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truue. Disiplina talaga ang pinaka importante hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Social media din talaga ang distraction ko, pero kung noise.cash okay lang hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truuue. Okay lang pag noise hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yung bed at social media talaga sakin eh lao na at hook pa di ako sa kpop...at ako naman ay palaging kualang sa tulog kaya pag nakita ko higaan ko wh bagsak talaga is me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakooo beeeeb. Bawiin mo talaga dapat yung tulpg mo if my time ka.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are simply too many distractions, especially in online classes. I've missed so many materials and lectures that I'll need to review them all before the mid-term!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I even do facebook whenever we have classes huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate na relate ako HAHAHA hindi ko din matapos tapos minsan yung article ko kasi nagffb ako 🤣 yung imbes na makahanap ng info para sa next topic puro naman na mga nonsense pinpanuod ko🤣 kaya inaabot din ako sa ilang oras bago matapos article ko lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahhaha relate na relate tayo mars.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mamsh, we almost have the same list of distractions but mostly, social media is the top reason. Lalo na facebook jusko! Pag mahuman kog basa usa ka article facebook napod balik

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang facebook mamsh di jud mawala huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek lisod talikdan hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayaw pa distracted, ug naay mga butang nga mo distract nmu, sama sa kwarta? halimbawa di ka gusto mag palit² but, na temp ka kay naa kay kwarta? ihatag sakoa? haha just kidding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh sana okay ka lang hhaahh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, social networks are not a problem, maybe Twitter a bit. But Noise and Read are a big distraction, heh. ;) And you shouldn't let negative emotions distract you and try to fight them with positive thoughts when they arise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will hihi. I am also researching for some things to deal with my distractions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dali ragyud kaayo ko ma distract ay, labi na sa socmed, basta maka open sa facebook dugay nagyud kaayo ko ma human og scroll HAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hhahaha dili na halos mahuman mars oi hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabeeee epekto ng socmed sakin beb! 😬 Kahit nasa shift ako, yung kamay nangangati pag di ko maopen fb and ig ko. Ewan ko nalang talaga. Kulang na kulang ako sa disiplina e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truuee ate. Discipline talaga kulang sa akin..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truuee ate. Discipline talaga kulang sa akin..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you are distracted by small things.. You can't achieve bigger things 😁 From my article last night 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waaaah. Guilty akooo 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes our bed can be a distraction indeed! hehe naalala ko nung buntis ako and I need to edit some videos for my yt channel and while taking a break, i looked at our bed and it somehow was pulling me close to it until I slept and no editing was done..hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha minsan di mo.pa namamalayan na nakahiga ka na pala haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Distractions are a per of our lives and will always be a part of us. Irrespective of how discipline we are, we cannot fully avoid it. It's like saying you don't want to breathe in air or you don't want to see the color green. Somethings are simply inevitable.

YouTube is a big distraction for me; once a see a video of interest I watch it and watch one more and one more and one more until I've watched over 20 videos and time passes me by. 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can fully relate with the watching of video hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Social media really distracts us ..so when I start to write my articles. I make sure to leave all social media site in my tabs😁 And for me to scape it sometimes is I put earphones in my ears without music..haha weird.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? You have a unique way to deal with distractions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have distractions in so many ways. We get distracted when we are about to do something meaningful but do we have a choice? We would give in to those distraction but the best is not to dwell much on those things that drifts us away from doing what we are supposed to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so hard to resist the distractions. However, just like what you have said, we still have a choice not to hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate na relate ako sa SocMed, negative thoughts and daydreaming hahaha. Mahilig ako mag dedaydream pero oks na rin nagagamit ko din naman sya sa paggawa ng story. Pero yang SocMed talaga naku. Tamo nga jan naubos ora ko kanina imbes ma dapat ay magbabasa akong article. Isama pa ung mga movies at tv series aguyy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap i resist ate hahha. Kusa kasi gumagalaw mga kamay ko hahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have distractions in our day to day activities.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Distractions everywhere. I find out recently I spend more time on my phone and I would like to be distracted when I am doing my stuff. Sometimes, the phone becomes a distraction too when some things are left undone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. However, I really need my phone to be with me all the time since it is the only thing I used for my noise and read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So many distractions sis, for me in order to overcome those I need a lot of focus. Quite hard right? But we have to.

Among those you mentioned bed is my greatest distraction, because I’d like to sleep a lot😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here sis. I am realky having a hard time resisting my bed hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha! relate sis! sarap kaya matulog, then reality bites you that you got a lot of things to do 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Among the list, my bed is the top one for me. Lol. I spent my time mostly in bed and complain later on why I did not do anything 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha oohhh tuksssooo layuan mo akooo. Nakaka distract kasi tlaga yung bed lalo na if gloomy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha yeah kaya wag nalang pumasok sa kwarto pag feel montalagang makakatulog ka lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We share pretty the same list of distractions. Distracted by the social media is not only applicable to you as it happens to me and to everyone also. So you need not to see a doctor. Anyhow, may we find the focus that we need. And may the time we are distracted be short so we can still do the things we have been meaning to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am to glad to know that I am not alone with this hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha it's good you were able to get away with ML. It's most people's problem in here that even the workers forget about their job on the farm because of it. I am glad I was never into social media, except TG and Twitter nowadays because of airdrops, lol! And yes, Read and Noise are now my good distractions :D

Once you learn how to love and appreciate yourself more, it will be easier for you to shake off negative emotions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo po pero pahripan din bago ko tuluyang nabitawan yung ML hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The good thing is naiwasan mong tuluyan :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am going through the same distraction as you are going. I also take 4 or sometimes 5 hours to write one article because After writing one paragraph I got distracted in other things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anyhow, let's try our best to overcome the distractions hihi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Going through your full article, I only stopped on one point. Negative emotions. Dear, don't stay on that corner. Share your feelings to whom you trust.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will 🤗. Thanks so much for your concern 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HAHAHAHA relate much sa lahat 🤧 kaya hindi ako maka grind sa noisecash e. May bebetime pa 🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy sanaol may bebe time hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to the social media distractions. It made me consume my hours their scrolling without doing nothing. Hehehe i feel guilty too. 😁 Good thing you are able to manage it sis.. God bless you.😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaka adik kasi talaga sis hahaha. Next time baka uninstall ko na mga socmed ko HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your an ML player? Hehe I also admit that I used to play that addictive game too and I immediately stop my habit to it because it slowly ruins my personality and made me unproductive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I once was. I also decided to stop playing ML with the same reason as yours.

$ 0.00
2 years ago