A Tragic Loss

16 58
Avatar for Royaldiadem
1 year ago
Topics: Loss, Death, Pain

It's so shocking and hard to believe when I heard the news of my cousin's death few days ago. It was a great shock and thought to be untrue to everyone. This news left everyone in a tragic shock, mourning, crying and regret. We were all seated at home in the evening, I was having my dinner at that time when my mum got a call. "What" She shouted. My cousin died after a brief sickness, she had earlier gone to the hospital where she was diagnosed with ulcer. Her death was a huge loss to the whole family especially her mother.

My mum and other siblings was thrown into confusion, they were confused about how the mother would react when she heard the news of her daughter's death. They were also scared because of the mother's health challenges. Everyone including my other cousins were all sad about the incident. The truth about this cousin of mine is that she is nice and jovial, she jokes and plays with everyone, she is a lady of faith, prayerful and a singer, a member of church choir.

What pained me most was that I was hoping to see her very soon when she crossed my mind few weeks ago. Throughout the night, my mind was not at peace, could I be dreaming?My heart was filled with sympathy and regret. The fact that her mum is not strong enough, we feared what will happen if she hears that her daughter is dead. Meanwhile, she had lost one of her son few years back.

On the evening of the next day, she was finally informed about my cousin's death and thank God she responded positively even though she cried alot, she summoned courage and accepted her fate.

The preparing for the burial began, they couldn't bury her at home because of some circumstances, so they agreed to bury her at her church cemetery. They moved her body from the hospital to place where she is to be buried. (where she was working) The church and her cousin workers supported the family, they had to pay for the ambulance, the coffin and the burial ground. The church decided to have a christian wake for her being an active member in the church, followed by the burial service the next day. The Pastor gave a sermon where he encouraged people to be kind and generous while they are still alive, death came unannounced for her but thank God she was serving God even until her death. He encouraged everyone to turn to God and follow His footsteps.

After the burial service, there were condolence visits by members of the family and friends, many people came praying and some brought foodstuffs.

In my final thought, I realized that, death, the final destination of every living being can be shocking especially when it comes to someone very dear to you. One will suddenly find it difficult to forget and move on, sometimes one is trapped in between those bad memories, you find it difficult to let go of the past and face the future and at times one gets scared whenever those memories flashes through the mind.

That will be all for today.

Thank you for reading ♥️♥️♥️

6
$ 0.51
$ 0.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of Royaldiadem
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Royaldiadem
1 year ago
Topics: Loss, Death, Pain

Comments

I am so sorry about your cousin. This hits home and I can only imagine how you all felt especially when it's unsuspecting. I can only pray for strength for you all because after all the visits and condolences, the reality would hit harder even more. Just keep being strong please. Death is the means to an end... We will all go one day to an eternal rest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for these kind words😊😊😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's nothing. Keep being strong dear. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Condolences friend, there are a lot of cases like that now, I read some in facebook that a young lady was died because of the ulcer. That is why eating in the right time is a must.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. Never thought that could kill someone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

condolences on the passing of your cousin sis, God bless him. the disease looks trivial, but we should not underestimate it. and attention for all of us to stay healthy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much for these kind word.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just to hear the news of someone passing away even though we don't know them personally is already painful to someone's heart, how much more if they are? It's because we know the unbearable pain of losing someone. It's never an easy one. My deepest condolences, dear.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. It's so painful indeed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh My God, I'm so sorry for the lost dear, I don't know the pain you might be in right now, but be strong ok, it will get better, we all love you and my prayers are with you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much. I really appreciate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're welcome dear❤💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eeyah, sorry for the loss dear, no one will expect that, that the death can come in suddenly

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. It happens suddenly.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is the most devastating moment of anyone's life, losing someone dear to us it's no joke, we only pray for the grace to move on.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago