College days

13 41
Avatar for QueenOlivia
2 years ago

Lead image

My heart rejoiced at the mention of a democratic system of government. When I went through the various pamphlets of the three political parties, I saw one with a free education manifesto. I thought at least, if it could be put into reality the masses would benefit from it including myself on a mid-way education. My elder brother had refused to come home for a long time, though he was present and spent lavishly during our father's funeral. The money he should have spent to save our father's life, he had used instead for the burial. May God grant my father eternal rest. My brother followed the footsteps of his friends who cared little for their parents that shouldered the expenses of their career.

Most of us at Orehi Local Government area rallied around Menyen who was to contest for our constituency on the platform of "The Peoples Party". The party promised a green revolution, free education, equality and ethical reshuffle. Menyen won the election but little did he remember the hands that fed him. I cast my votes for him all in the name of free education but his devotion was only to his household.

Despite his refusal to help. God sent a help in the person of Gbadmani, a staunch member of the education department in our local government secretariat who visited our house. He was a distant friend of my father before the latter's death. He pitied my dejected condition and promised to help with my school expenses.

He told me that it was hardship that later resulted in the untimely death of my father. My father was said to be the first person to ride on a bicycle in our area. Again, he was the youngest amongst the four people to build zinc-roofed houses in our village. After this, he started having problems which led to his downfall. All these problems came because they believed he was showing off his wealth; a young child prospering under their noses was an abomination, hence they sent him to permanent rest.

Gbadmani paid my school fees for two years and later arranged for a scholarship for me. By then the boat of our local government's affairs was being paddled by Papa Abenem, Shaban, Azhuk and Koloman. Any brilliant student who could attain between first to third positions in the colleges were given scholarships. Their educational affairs then became the responsibility of the local government. Papa Abenem was a strict man and he fought for the rights of our teachers to make sure their salaries were paid without delay. He was an erudite person but very humble. He was the first person to acquire a University education in our local government area. Azhuk, on the other hand, was very notorious. He was hated by many people for his open segregation. He believed that the other two tribes, Ba'a and Gu'ri, were inferior and of low mentality compared to him.

I fought hard to maintain my first position throughout my secondary school career. At school one day, I was accused of, and cursed for, having soiled and bastardised our culture. It was in form four during a Mathematics lesson that I had some arguments with the Ba'a girl who was sitting next to me. She worked out an equation which I told her was wrong, but she would not take to correction, and I teased her. She got furious and spat on me. I slapped her face immediately and she bit terribly. I was placated by some Ba'a girls around and I forgave her.

The matter did not end there as my tribe mates were bent on taking vengeance. They saw no reason why a Ba'a girl should ever insult our tribe - Ibra. The boys told me to apply a duck's excreta on the spot where she bit me. This they believed would make her teeth rot away. When I refused to do that, they beat the girl ruthlessly. The case was reported to the principal and he invited us to his

ย 

office. We narrated what happened and we were cautioned and dismissed after four strokes of the cane.

My tribe-mates who took part in beating the girl were caned six strokes each. They were then ordered to uproot a big tree in front of the school's dining hall. They refused to do it because the principal was a Gu'ri man, a minority in our area. His instruction was regarded as an insult. The case was reported to the district chief who settled the differences but only for a short while.

We were later enrolled to sit for the final examination, the West African School Certificate Examination. Forty of us were registered, the highest number that would be registered since the inception of the school. Hardly could my people leave the waters to attend the strenuous strains of a school. They believed they were born to be fishermen. After the examination was over, we were sent on a holiday to await the result. I went to visit my maternal grandfather during this period and made a name for myself. It happened that my visit was during lake-fishing and he owned a lake known to be very rich in fish. Many people were invited to take part in the fishing contest and to everybody's surprise, I caught a big fish; it was said to be the biggest fish ever to come out of that lake. A special meal was thus prepared for me that evening.

ย 

To be continuedโ€ฆ

Special appreciation to @gertu13, @Belozoriana, @BCH_LOVER, @fashtioluwa, and so on for the encouragement and support. Special shout-out to @therandomrewarder for being by my side!


12
$ 0.78
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @NiceAYO
$ 0.03 from @Kristofferquincy
+ 6
Sponsors of QueenOlivia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for QueenOlivia
2 years ago

Comments

You were very intelligent to have mentioned first position all through your secondary school. That's really interesting. I used to be like this those days at high school, but now I have changed. It's money I'm looking for. ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am so sorry for the loss, may his soul rest in peace, it's good be brilliant, alot of people would also want what you had then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you right thanks for your concern ๐Ÿ‘„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When i was in college i was so innocent. I missed that time. Hey still now i am innocent one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe you ๐Ÿค‘ After college days you remain innocent, you are from which country?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well. When I was younger, all I aim for was to get to higher institutions, when I was in SS3, it was my goal, now I'm in higher institutions or should I call it college and all I want to do is bale out from it๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If how to get out of school is your plan now, I'm not sure you would be friends I believe you also have something in mind that is why you are here ! (Life after school) when no one will send you money any more and you will need to pay for all yah bills.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't even want to think about life after school yet๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did have got a chance to attend college. I hope I got soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All you need is to be optimistic and I believe you will surely get there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

College days are the best days of one's life because there we meet people from different regions which show their thoughts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really enjoyed my college days cos' both male and female in my class are not yet measured then we do play together and Chase one another around the class, we make noise together and we got flog together. it was really nice then how I wish I can go back but time waits for nobody

$ 0.00
2 years ago