Celebrate your loved ones when they are still alive

22 54
Avatar for Queen001
2 years ago

4th of January, 2022.

I do not know if I'm happy or not, probably mixed feelings, today being the first day of my Industrial training. This is because I know it's going to be work, work and work😒. But who am I to complain, that's what I signed up for when I chose an engineering course. It's going to be 3 months of industrial training before I finally have my 6 months this same year. I'm happy anyways and a bit nervousπŸ˜‚. It isn't my first industrial training though.

I tried to sleep early last night, so as not to sleep past the time to resume this morning. Something came to my mind just now πŸ˜‚. I remember when we were younger, how anxious and eager we always were for any event we have really anticipated, maybe Christmas, sallah or any other ones. Some even go as far as putting their new clothes and shoes beside them when about sleeping 😭. I think it still happens to some adults till now, and this occurs when one is extremely happy and looks forward to a day. It's never a bad habit as far as I am concerned.

Sponsors of Queen001
empty
empty
empty
Meet my sponsors

So back to where I was, the company actually has a staff bus and it's always in a particular place, where all the staff around the vicinity will join to go to work. I got there in time to avoid stories that touch and also, to create a very good impression, just like the saying that "first impression goes a long way". I was meant to have it at one of their offices but was later transferred to another place closer to where I am. I cannot be more than thankful πŸ˜‚. I will always keep you posted as the industrial training goes on.

The main discussion

I find it hard to know why people don't appreciate their loved ones, friends and family, unless they die. I have sat and thought about this, it is so true. The only times a little appreciation is done is when they die or maybe on such a person's birthday.Β 

I have a friend that always clamor that we, her friends must celebrate her birthday, even if we wouldn't on some other days. I'm the type of person that doesn't really fancy birthday celebrations and all, so I sat her down one day to discuss this issue. It was a lengthy one and I came to the realization that it's actually a bad thing to only appreciate and celebrate people when they are dead.

For instance, there was this Nigerian celebrity that died probably two months ago. I guess he died as a result of Cancer. Shortly after his death or the second day of his death, people started coming on social media, even celebrities, singing his praises. Apparently, he has helped a lot of people, including his fellow celebrities even when he knew he had cancer. Infact, I was sad at that time. Why now? Someone did something huge like this, and you couldn't sing his praises until he died. Some will even need help but wouldn't get it, but when such a person is dead, friends and families will want to sponsor the funeral, to make it a befitting and an elaborate one.

Come to think of it, if you truly love someone and care for them, you should celebrate them when they can see it or hear it or feel it, not when such a person cannot hear, see or feel the appreciation or the celebration. There have been many cases of these, when it happens only when the person is dead. That's when you know that the person did this and that or have really made impacts in people's life.

I watched a movie one time, I think it should be Coming to America2. The dying king made sure he saw his funeral, like it was done in his presence while he was still alive before he eventually died. It was kind of funny to me because here, and even according to our culture, I don't think it's right. But looking at it from the other view, I like it, you get to see what will be done and said to you after one's death.

It's best we change this narrative and start appreciating and also celebrating our loved ones, even when they are alive.Β 

Thank you for reading!



12
$ 1.51
$ 1.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Jehoshaphat
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 7
Avatar for Queen001
2 years ago

Comments

That's why I really do care in spending time with my family and friends. Sometimes I'm too busy in many things, that I even forgot to bond with them, and I know this is not good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You know, but many people do not know and do not care. Thank you friend πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really true. We like saying good things done by people after their death. We should learn to appreciate them while they are still alive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly the point

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is an interesting article that completely resonate with our culture today, so many who never took care of their parents because they claim not to have money would have money to do an elaborate burial ceremony when their parents are dead. All of these are done to pleased the world.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's really tiring. Thank you for your beautiful on this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are normal people and we just love everyone in every moment or condition and we know who's better for us and for our feelings,and when they died we said he or she was good or we love him,that's very awkward we have to make fun with him when he. Is alive and be happy with them

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is so true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so common among man. In some places, people spend millions to bury someone that died in poverty. This really need to be corrected

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly my point. Thank you friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why we must ta treasure every moments with our love ones. Never be the one who give only value in burial time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very true πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really should give value to our loved ones till they are with me.And very happy to know that you have completed your IT

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's actually really sad to see people who didn't care about a loved one when he was alive wanting to appreciate the person by organising the most elaborate burial ceremonies.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's really sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry if what I may say may sound silly. There are some parents who only reserve the meats in the soup pot for visitors, uncles, aunties and other strangers that might come visiting. It quite possible that there own children hardly eat meat and fish until Christmas or any celebration. Do you If those children becomes orphan tomorrow, all those outsiders will ignore them and leave them to carry their own cross..... We should always appericiate out loved ones first, instead of showing off to outsiders who dont really care.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow This is another angle to this which is very true. You're brilliant friend πŸ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really important for us especially for us in Nigeria, most of us don't celebrate our loved ones until they're gone which is bad...

Good luck on your IT

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. Thank you friend πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, you've started your IT? You should be happy about that πŸ˜†

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Happy about what?πŸ˜’. Don't worry you will soon start yours too, I'm sure you'll be more happy πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago