The unexpected at the dinner party

29 59
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

"A man is born alone and dies alone; and he experiences the good and bad consequences of his karma alone; and he goes alone to hell or the Supreme abode".

Chanakya

I just couldn't stop laughing and smiling while reading the group chats in my department WhatsApp group. I read the chat and listened to the voice notes where they were hurling insults at each other including the chairman of the FYB committees who were in charge of making the dinner worth it.

The dinner that was scheduled on the 23rd of March was a regrettable one for many students who paid and went, only to return home with sad faces. They had hyped the party before then and everyone was happy it would be interesting and amazing, but the chairman made it worse. I think I need to appreciate God that I didn't go.

Well, since the beginning of everything and how they said we would have a dinner party, I have made up my mind not to attend because my department has never done something amazing which would at least make me vouch for them. In fact apart from the pictures we took with our own phones during the FYB activities, the ones the chairman sent were blurry pictures. I wonder where he got the camera man from. We haven't seen our videos up till now.

I paid the #10000 ($20) for the dinner but I didn't go. The reason I had to pay in full was how my head of department has threatened to fail everyone who refused to pay their money and this brought fear in many of us because my school is unpredictable.

It may turn into something else during our clearance and I don't want anything to stop me from graduating. I paid, so as to wash my hands clean and be able to defend myself even if there would be trouble which I believe can't be, since I am not owing the school or anyone anything.

All money that was contributed for the dinner party was over 3million naira ($6000+) but the organization was poor. A week before the dinner party, the chairman intentionally did his introduction with his wife so as to embezzle part of the money.

Every other department killed a cow to celebrate theirs but no cow was killed. According to a source, the chairman bought the head of a cow only, which made few people get rice with little meat while others didn't even see food to eat. A department over 270+ students.This has proven that he and other committees had taken much of the money to themselves, leaving every other things poorly arranged.

The most painful part was not setting the table of the Senate president who is also our colleague because he didn't attend his own introduction. This man even paid for the dinner, so why deprived him of eating and enjoying the party? Thank God he also came fully prepared with Pepper soup and many drinks that went round to those he brought along. This was indeed a big shame to the chairman because he thought he would embarrass him, instead he got the embarrassment.

Those who came with the Senate president showered over 200k ($400) to people on the stage excluding the chairman. He could have benefited a lot from the Senate president, but his act of covetousness and greediness stopped him.

People will surround you when you have money but would always talk behind you badly to other people.

That was in the case of this chairman. When he wants to get anything from this senate president, he would act good and happy in his presence but he is always spreading false allegations against him behind his back.

Of all departments, he went ahead to squander our money and made the party uninteresting to everyone who had rights to it. Many people were really sad.

People need to always remember the future and it is not what you do today alone that will end there. Your actions today will surely determine the result tomorrow. Do not think there wouldn't be tomorrow where you would need help. We all would need help in one way or the other. No one gets to the top without someone assisting them.

How do you want to get to the top of a roof without someone helping with a ladder? Always be careful and watchful of what you do and remember "Karma is real".

This guy was the one criticizing and talking bad at a colleague who did his introduction and was expecting the best from him but when he did his own, it was really a bad one because he couldn't get the help he expected from people especially those he already talked bad about them at their back. I wonder how he would cope with the new wife because he doesn't have any job but depended on the money he would get from the dinner party.

Now, he went away with more than 2 million naira and people already cursed and hurled abusive words at him. I pray he doesn't encounter any problem in the future with what he has done.

I am still smiling at those chats and voice notes because the party was kind of inferential treatment and partiality. The chairman really did a wrong thing especially to the Senate president which could cost him not graduating if care isn't taken. I hope the matter doesn't escalate more than this.

I just couldn't believe something like this would happen. Someone even said to me that I would be pained if I had gone, especially the food part. I smiled and told her I don't go to any events because of the food. Is it that I have not been eating more than that in my house? If I should be pained, it would be how the party was organized in a poor way.

I can never get angry because I wasn't given food or drink because I know when I am at home, God will always provide more for me. Is it the rice they will serve? I have eaten different kinds of rice in my home. Is it the drink they will serve? Common, will that be an excuse for me to get angry?

So you see, though I don't blame those who flare up and get angry when they aren't serve any food, they deserve it since they came for the event and expected to be served but for me, I am too gentle to start fighting for food at a party or going home sad because I didn't eat.

Thanks for reading.

Image by Nadia on Unsplash

[March 25, 2022] (No 84 article for the year)

17
$ 5.14
$ 4.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 13
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

Some people don't really care about ruining their reputation for the sake of money.. $6k is huge though and even the $20 contrib... He would receive more karma in the future . poor students.. For sure the money was hard-earned by their parents..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There's no extent some people won't go to destroy their reputation when it comes to money but they are only ruining themselves which they do not know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a real act of fraud.. Imagine collecting millions and stull organizing it poorly. Later we will say the government is not good and responsible for everything we're going through in our country while forgetting that we are the problem of ourselves.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes oo, people are their problems themselves and they don't realize it because of their greediness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The case of that event is very common, and it'll interest you to know that there are some people that were happy because they had too much to eat and those people are normally in the league of the chairman. I don't put interest in such parties at all because it usually ends in regret🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course there would be people like that who would eat to their satisfaction but it's bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahala no dey finish. Why'd he embezzle funds meant for a dinner. Has he not succeeded in ruining his reputation? In the future, will any one in your class vouch for his integrity?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Who will want to vouch for him? He already ruined it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Crazy oo!! That Chairman eh... nawa! At least you didn't go which was even better than those who went. I don't think FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out) let me pass on the dinner after paying.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was better I didn't go at least. Lol Though I won't have anything to say. It's still better I stay on my lane Jeje 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I'm in that situation I don't what to react whether to get angry or not. I mean food is necessary. But as you said we have that our home.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't like fighting over things I Know I can afford. As long as God provides.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even in school there's corruption, how can they do that to their students who paid for the party. Honestly that kind of situation is very familiar as I have experience it too when I am still studying, so bad experience.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's really a bad experience which was so painful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really can't imagine how do this people sleep at night. They eat and buy stuff using other's money. Where is their conscience?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

No conscience at all. They would tighten their heart so hard that they wouldn't go back to amend their ways.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, karma will get them sooner or later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a completely dishonest act from the chairman, despite the fact a lot of money was contributed, he still couldn't feed the poor students that paid with their hard earned money. Then later in the future, they would start questioning why bad things happens to them. This is disgusting, and am glad at least he was put to shame by the Senate president.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He just didn't know its repercussions later in life but I wish he realize it soon which I doubt he would

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is where corruption begins, later they will all say it is the government. He just damage his reputation because of money. Am sure he can't even contest for any position where any of the students lives. Since he can't be a good example to the students. Only if he knows well that money will finish no matter how much is it, people will remain.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, for every corruption in the higher place, it all starts from little places like this one. Students are now so greedy that they are not concerned about other's welfare but their selfish interest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhhh people are getting more corrupt nowadays Princess. Not only the politicians. They may take a lot but they wouldn't be able to sleep soundly at night.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, people's curse won't allow them rest at night because of what they have done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I hear things like these, my first thought "how do you sleep at night?" ughhh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right. They don't have any conscience at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that’s a lot of students 3million naira from #10000 naira each ohh that 300+ students in a department. Well I’m happy you paid the money so that they won’t disturb you when you finish.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It wasn't even #10000, the initial amount was #11500 but I just paid Ten thousand naira intentionally. At least I tried. It was after I paid, they added #1500 to it again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One needs to protect one reputation. It is important. Anything put in your care do it well enough. Continue to shine. Have a. Nice day ahead of you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, integrity is important to maintain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago