Teachers are role models too.

46 66
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Lead Image

Who is a Teacher? We all have different definitions but I will only stick to the one defined by a beautiful Princess of this platform 😝😝

A teacher is an experienced person who is been trained professionally after going through all required exams and is being qualified as one who is capable of helping the inexperienced achieve their goals in the school setting. - PrincessBusayo 2021

No one is licenced to use my definition without proper sourcing and taking permission from me πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

It is just a pity that here in Nigeria, everyone is allowed to be a teacher without having the experience and this is why we have unqualified People employed into different classes to teach students. For you to permit a person to help train other people, he or she must have been scrutinized vividly and tested to see if such person meet up with the criteria of becoming a good teacher to others.

I have a lady who just completed her NCE (Nigeria Certificate in Education) this year and was employed as a Nursery Class Teacher. She will always come to me to help her in searching for the meaning of a particular word. She has an Android phone and I wonder what she uses it for. Just Yoruba Movies?? She can't even communicate in English except she replies you in her native language (Yoruba) πŸ™„

Then, I had to stop helping her and I decided to switch on my hotspot for her because she was with an excuse that she doesn't have data to check online. I then connected my data to her phone but to my surprise, she asked me where Google is and how to check what she was searching for?. I couldn't close my mouth and I showed her what she hasn't been using on her phone.

This is very bad for a Nursery Class Teacher and an NCE Graduate to still be searching for examples of Kitchen Utensils from Google🀷🀷

I was like "Who employed her as a teacher?" πŸ˜…


How do your student cope or perform when you as a teacher do not have knowledge of anything in your brain? Will you always go to meet people to help you out without trying your own best?. A teacher who isn't vast in technology, how do you teach your pupils or students? Your student's performance whether good or bad are a product of what a teacher gives out.


TEACHERS AS PARENTS

In Sociology, there is something called "IN LOCO PARENTIS" What does it mean? Every teacher has a role to play in every children's lives in the school. Children have two parents in the world. Their own biological parents at home and their teachers at school.

Teachers are to perform their roles as "In Loco Parentis" to help shoulder the responsibility like their parents at home. You have to be a role model to them by teaching them the right morals and values to be exhibited in them especially in the society they may find themselves.


TEACHERS AS IMITATOR

You will notice that all children want to do what their teachers tell them rather than what their parents tells them. When a child is given an assignment from school and has been warned not to give anyone to help them. When they get home, they make sure they do it themselves without allowing anyone help them. Most times, when their parents are helping them in their assignment and it is different from what their teachers taught them, they quickly open up and say "This is not how my teacher taught me" To them, their teachers and right while their parents are wrong.

So as a teacher, remember children imitate you and your behavior. You must be a good role model to these children because of their future and to help them improve in their performances at school.

Also as a role model, you should be able to curb all kinds of Deviant Behaviors. These are behaviors that deviates the norms and values of a school and even society. What are they?

  • Truancy

  • Examination Malpractice

  • Rape

  • Lateness to school

  • Lack of respect to other teachers

  • Bullying

  • Cultism etc

All of these are the responsibilities of every teacher to monitor in the school and make sure they act and behave in an orderly manner so they can become good people in their environment.


I think I have enlightened us more on who a teacher is and what they are expected to do as role models. I love to be a teacher and I have determined to be a good one at that so I can have a good Testimony later in the future.

I am so happy for the little ones I taught then and they made me realize that teaching is a profession one should hold onto dearly and not take for granted.

Thanks for reading

|August 28, 2021|

19
$ 6.90
$ 6.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 10
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
2 years ago

Comments

I love how you define teachers in your way. You're indeed a great one. πŸ’—

$ 0.03
2 years ago

πŸ€—πŸ€— Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems to me that a teacher is a trained person who is working to guide the students to develop their intellectual capacity and talents. An entirely new strong intellectual and moral structure has to be built in the educational system.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right. They need to work on this part most importantly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis this is true because I could remember when I was in primary school public School to be precise 😜 Our teachers always bring melon for use to open for them Meh that's experience lasan is another thing entirely

I wonder how worse it is now in public school

$ 0.03
2 years ago

🀣🀣🀣🀣 They have turned school into another thing oo Using that opportunity to help peel melon instead of teaching you guys 😁😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am not joking o they will tell us to wait for lesson and that's what we will do all through the lesson section

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are not been fair. That is how they have disvalued the purpose of Education.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really respect teachers a lot and that's why I have always respected my teachers up till now. I am planning to give them a gift when I graduate from school because they deserve it. They are what I am today.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, they should be appreciated for instilling good morals and good behavior and also to make us understand the right path for our career. That's good. I believe they would appreciate such gifts from you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the kind of educational system we have in Nigeria. I finished from a federal school and I can remember a day when I was beaten by a senior student all because I could not give him my provisions, this senior beat me blue back so I went to report to a teacher. Lol...the response he gave me was so discouraging he said "Don't worry, when it's your turn you will do the same to others" I was so disappointed and shocked.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The teacher didn't act as a good role model. What does he thinks? Is he trying to support such act? That is bad of him. Teachers like this aren't supposed to teach students.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A teacher that doesn't know where to find google on her phone? Typical weirdo. I find it funny. A person needs to receive special training before he or she would be given the teacher tag. A teacher should have the ability to listen to students, understand their weak and strong points in learning and be able to communicate effectively while passing information to students

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is why teacher Education should be emphasized on very well and not just to employ anyhow person as teacher. Teachers should be willing to help Learners and understand how to communicate smoothly with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had one teacher before in gradeschool who teaches math. As I asked him a question he wasn't able to give me a good answer, acting like he doesn't know about the subject matter. And when it comes to teaching discipline, his advisory class are labeled as the worst. These kinds of teachers are pretty rare but they exist. Maybe some got lucky to pass some qualifications.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right. I wonder how they could pass an entry to becoming a teacher but I think our problem is connection. Once we are connected to People, they do not want to know if you are knowledgeable in that area or not, they just use the opportunity that you know someone and that's it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always loved teaching. I mentioned how I once taught during service year and after service year. It's a noble profession and the connection between a teacher and a student gets me thrilled.

For the person you mentioned, she needs to work on improving herself because that's the only way she can add more values even away from the subjects she is teaching.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I would also love to teach again after I graduate because it's my passion. Yes, I just hope she finds someone to talk sense into her. I think her environment also influenced her including the kind of friends she keeps. Remember birds of the same feather flocks together?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so true, dear. Her environment influenced her. If only she knows she is capable of so much more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Teachers plays a very vital role in their student's lives. I can't understand why a lot of people understimate this job and abused the educators. Without teachers, we definitely don't have other professions also.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I agree with you. There won't be any other professions if teachers didn't teach them. They should be valued and respected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think all these fine qualities you mentioned here are way too difficult for our Nigerian teachers lolzzzz...hmmmn that's with all due respect to Nigeria but I believe such lovely qualities can be found in them soonest rather than later cos life in itself is a learning process.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

This is why teachers should be trained professionally and take a licensure exam to ensure they are equipped and ready in the teaching field. I do agree with you definition, Princess.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, a thorough examination should be conducted to those aspiring teachers to see their level before employing them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe she has a backer in school that helped her get in? πŸ˜…

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That is what happen to everyone like her. They are helped to get into the school without knowing their level of reasoning and knowledge.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Teachers help shape us for our future. That is why we need qualified and bright teachers. They also act as second parent so they should also set good examples to the students.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are right. Teachers are also parents to every child.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If only teachers can be elevated to the status of doctors, lawyers and engineers. Only then will it be taken seriously by the masses. But for now, it is terribly underated as a profession

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, it is badly underated which isn't supposed to be so. They do not value the teachers and it hurts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The easiest job to get and the most abused is the Teaching job. People don't regard it at all. They deserve to be praised like doctors and lawyers but it isn't so. A school cert can get it easily.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is really painful to see how doctors, lawyers and the likes are given due respect but teachers have been disvalued. Forgetting that they are the ones who trained these set of people in the society.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For now since theres no face to face classes, parents like me will serve as teachers for our kids.. Its me jaytee

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. Children shouldn't stop learning because schools have been closed down. Okay, you changed your username?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes this is my username now.. We are still coping and Adapting in this situation and school is about start too.. We just need to keep praying πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright. God will have His way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is unfortunate that many people who have failed to get admission to study other course of their choice in higher institutions of learning are those that are dumped in Colleges of Education or faculty of education. Many trained teachers just want to get certificate and are not ready to get themselves equipped and be materials that learners will lean on. A good teacher should first have mastery of the subject he/she is teaching. A teacher should be versed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly. They just work to pass the course but aren't ready to equip and train themselves to help the younger ones build their dream and career.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol πŸ˜‚ lol πŸ˜‚ Your first paragraphs made me laugh so hard Hahaha. So you are now a dictionary of your own. Hehehe. No problem. And wait ooo Did you just say she was a teacher or a class monitor??
This is the Nigeria we found ourselves today

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Na class teacher for nursery class πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Nigeria has been doom sorry to say. In the aspect of employing qualified teachers, they aren't good in that area anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You don’t need to be sorry. Because the truth is always bitter. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The role of a teacher can't or shouldn't be taken lightly because they play a huge role in the life of their students.

A lot of schools today employ an unqualified person just because they are not ready to pay when whereas they are taking huge sums of money from parents. Do you know there are born teachers? I am an examine because I didn't attend NCE and I can confidently boast of students I have taught.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, there are those who are really born to teach and have talent. I really give kudos to People like them. Teachers should be valued so well and not bringing in unqualified People to the system.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think Nigeria is one of the countries that doesn't value teachers, without them the future is nothing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's take Guidance and Counselling for example. Nigeria is the worst country that never values the course in the University but when you travel abroad, they are being paid heavily and respected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago