Some thoughts to flex my heart.

23 43
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

β€œDon't be pushed around by the fears in your mind. Be led by the dreams in your heart.”

Roy T. Bennett

Several thoughts were just coming to my mind yesterday as I sat down on my white plastic chair, resting my two hands on the blue table in front of me while trying to comment on an article on Hive. I just couldn't focus on reading the post, until I had to do justice to those thoughts by taking my time to give my answers so I won't have to give an unnecessary comment.

Once I finished, I gave a response. I was finishing my task at the Dreemport site for the day.

Some discussions were going on in my school WhatsApp group as to the meeting that was meant to be held on Tuesday at the school, deciding whether to suspend the ongoing strike for 60 days before they would know if the strike should continue on another round.

Sometimes, I just wonder if this government meant well for all students who have been at home for six months or more due to the strike that has been on since February. Though, I did my degree at OAU (a federal university) in affiliation with a College of Education. It saved me because I wouldn't have finished school. It was a few weeks after my final paper that the college of education decided to join the strike too, and not only that, there was a strike over another strike in my school.

The other strike happened because the lecturers and other staff demanded a Vice-chancellor, and not a provost since my school has been changed to a University. Thus, in place of the Adeyemi College of Education, it will henceforth become Adeyemi Federal University of Education. They are just playing with the students' academics and I am also affected too because of my results.

So, the meeting that was scheduled for Tuesday was postponed and this caused some hot arguments among the Student Union Government, thereby pleading for the meeting to take hold and come to a conclusion if the strike should be suspended or not. I became stuck to my phone, staring at the screen and waiting for information from the group conversation to see how it goes.

I'm just worried because, somehow, I'm still a student until I see my results from last semester.

I became the announcer in my compound because they keep asking if there was any announcement, and I kept updating them.

At the end of the day, the meeting was held on Wednesday which was yesterday and the strike was suspended. I informed others and they were excited and began to rejoice. My course representative said that since the school will resume next Monday, we should wait for our results by the end of September. It's too long for me.

There is the possibility that after seeing our results, we still have to wait for the Federal University to resume back to school once the ASUU STRIKE is over as the real campus would determine when we should go for service (NYSC)

They are simply delaying us and they would not allow us to take the next step in our lives in that way.

Now that the school resumes on Monday, hostels would be open on Sunday, so students would return back from their respective locations. Now, the whole area that appears to have been deserted for a long time would be full of students. Everywhere would be lively again.

I am happy for them too because it will allow them to do what is needed in time and move on to the next level and chapter of their lives. Once they resume, it means they would be rushed with tests and exams to cover those missed weeks and return to the normal school calendar.

Also, the electricity decided to embark on a strike which made everywhere went off with light from yesterday morning till now. I read again on the news last night that they cancelled the strike, and we should expect to see the light at any moment today.

I just ranted about my day yesterday and I hope you do not mind me with that. I'm sorry if you find that uninspiring πŸ˜‰.

Thanks for your time.

Image by Hannah from Unsplash

[August 18, 2022] (No 230 articles for the year)

17
$ 1.30
$ 0.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 10
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

Electricity is a big problem in our country. I don't want to come when the power goes out. It is so hot and there is no electricity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's really a big problem.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It was announced that the electricity strike is cancelled but still we don't have light since yesterday I don't think this Nigeria government have anything good for people jare 🀣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They are less concerned oo. Make person find his or her way oo πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Na so for this Nigeria o

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The strike is no longer funny at all but who cares, I just pray God direct my step early. I am tired of their matter.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Na everywhere oo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are not the only one ranting dear. Asuu wahala dey, NEPA want come join follow. Wahala upon wahala

$ 0.01
1 year ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Issue for our country is enough for us to rant about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Asuu strike is so frustrating and someone can't decide to learn a skill that you need to be physically present there because the strike can also be called off anytime and the money paid is also gone

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. This is what is happening to me too. I can't work physically because my service can happen anytime soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Since the school has been changed to a university, Vice-chancellor is expected. I heard the ASUU strike will soon be over too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen oo. It should be over so that students can resume and do what they need to do on time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Praying that everything will get better in your place my dear friend. Take care and stay safe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I pray so too. Thank you so much πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Strike? wow, it seems that there are people defending their rights somewhere in the world, good luck!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Strike has been on for a long time now and it's so sad.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to rant everyday so it doesn't matter anyway 😁. I hope things get better and settled in your area.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

At least, something will make sense from our rants πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's okay ma we both made rants today 🀣... When will you graduate by the way?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That will be when my final results are out which is by September ending.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is this h huge happiness for me because my school didn't Join the strike

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You guys are enjoying oo πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago