My minimalist lifestyle.

27 47
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Being a minimalist is essential if you must have a well simplified life. Minimalism has the end goal of making your work easier and more productive when you can simplify a task, it can lead to significant time savings.”

Princessbusayo

We all engage in different kinds of work as an employer, employees, full-time mothers, students etc. Me, I am a graduate who is working from home, and for me to make my work easier for me, so that I won't have to cry to bed because I couldn't finish up my task, knowing fully well that the next day might be another hell of a ride, I should create minimalist techniques to help make my work easier and productive.

Daily to-do list

One thing I do when I wake up, after observing my morning devotion is to create a list of what I would be doing for the day. If you must perform your task faster and still have some time to enjoy other things, the need for making a list of things to accomplish your goal for the day is necessary, or else, you might keep going in circles and racking your brains finding what to do next and before you know what is wrong, the time is gone.

Creating a to-do list will help simplify your task and work towards an achievable pattern. Writing down your task for the day makes you not to forget anything you need to do for that day and keeps you on track.

Recognize essential tasks

Even after writing down my list of tasks, because at that time, I was only writing and remembering things to do for the day and once I am done with that which doesn't take less than 5-10 minutes, the next thing is to identify the most important ones to do first which I will tick ✅ as the top. These are the ones I am doing first before the others because they are very important to attend to. I call them the Big tasks.

Remove non-essential tasks

It sounds crazy to us when we have to cancel or erase some tasks after adding them to our list. This is normal because we consider them as not necessary. Many times, I have added watching movies from Netflix to my list for the day, but after going through them again, I just remove that from the list because it is not necessary or important at that time for me.

Look for the unnecessary tasks in your list which you know aren't necessary even though you might include them next time, but for that day, take them away to attend to other important things.

Ignore distraction and be focused

I have weighed the difference between when I am so focused and when distraction set in. I noticed I tend to be drawn back on my task when I am distracted more than being focused. One of the things that cause distraction is those people living in my compound. They are students, and you know how noisy they can be sometimes. Many times, they will keep knocking at my door to come outside to gist with them.

Sometimes, I tend to say yes to them and other times, when I am determined to be focused, nothing can disturb or distract me, and I end up achieving my tasks within a limited time, unlike being with them and in the end, I rush things.

Another distraction is the constant notifications from our phones. This is what I do instead; I put my phone in “do not disturb” mode to focus more on what I am doing at that moment. By the time I am done, I check my notification and see the number of messages and calls I have missed. It's good anyways since I have been able to achieve my aim.

Take breaks

Whether going for a walk, having your lunch, talking to a friend etc. This is very important and should not be ignored unless you want to break down and spend your time at the hospital or spend all your money on drugs and bills. Remember, the body needs rest too. You cannot keep working without resting when you aren't like the wall clock.

The body needs much rest to reenergize back, and this can happen when you take a break from your work. Don't sit in front of your computer or phone screen all day without taking a break to protect your eyes. There is a need to stretch your arms, legs and body just to let it rest for a while before you return to work. When you do this, your body returns to its normal system and it makes you have a productive day afterwards.

Finally, don't forget to always smile while doing what you love because a day without a smile is a bad day which could disorganize your system and bring negativity into your life.

Thanks for your time.

Images by Cottonbro and Ketut from Pexels

[October 03, 2022] (No 275 articles for the year)

17
$ 0.87
$ 0.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Coolmidwestguy
+ 11
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

That's a good idea sis to set a goal for a day

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Its better to have plans and to live minimal less hassle and less worry about what ifs

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love how you planned your routine princess that's why everyday you had a productive day princess. I love it. I was inspired from this. Thank you. ❤️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad. Thank you so much 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't have any list haha, just goes with flow. Distraction, I think I am lucky that my family when they see me working on computer they won't disturb me lol. Just that it's feels like oo be I done yesterday happen to repeat today

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, there are some people or family who doesn't disturb when they see you working. I love it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whenever I do like you said, I usually draw a list Of important work I will do for the day, but it use to come out that I don't really come to finish all, I don't know the main reason though!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are some days one wouldn't finish all the tasks but don't worry about that. You can always get to it the next day because the body also needs rest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks agreed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Overall, just be intentional about your life. Of course things won't always go as planned as you're not a robot,but it's all productive in the end.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the summary, Doc.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like you sister, I am also doing my best for reducing the burden of life and making good schedule for everything. To do lits daily task at proper time is big challenge now a days for me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, we can always try our best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This routine sure save us from panic , unplanned tasks. It save our time , energy & enhance productivity. Staying focused only possible when we know what time what we will do.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's all a matter of staying focused and that is it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your lifestyle is excellent, I also create Todo list every morning but I always fail to accomplish all the required tasks for the day. Maybe because I'm easily distracted.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You need the do not disturb mode then so you don't get distracted but you have to be focused.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

LOL. My lifestyle is already down to the bare minimum. I keep a To Do list in my head. No point writing down tasks because for me, everything is based on whether my Internet is slow or fast. Some days I get a lot done. Other days? Not so much.

(BTW, I'm following you on Noise.App. I loved the photo you shared for Nigeria's Independence Day.)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is a big help to take note because it is part of the plan and I do that too at work.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. It works.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes setting a good note of what to do first and prioritize saves us. I usually do the do not disturb thing during hectic schedules.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes! Whenever I have much work to do and do not want any disturbances or distraction, I use the do not disturb mode and it's effective.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Working from home is good because you can have a flexible time which you can have your free time anytime or you will not find it hard to do some personal matters it is just proper management of time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. Even if one is working from home, you have to utilize the proper management skill to get a productive work at the end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, I think I would start using that "Do not disturb " mode o, especially now that I'm learning a new skill.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It works for me because I don't get distracted until I am done with whatever I am doing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago