My ex-boss-: Why is she my role model?

21 46
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“The only reason why we ask other people how their weekend was is so we can tell them about our own weekend.”

Chuck Palahniuk

Are you already spending the best moment this weekend? For me, It is going smoothly while typing from my laptop and making it more quicker and faster to achieve my target before going to church later in the day. Enjoy the weekend while we await another splendid week tomorrow.


Everyone believes having a role model is good and as a result, they have their role models — someone they look up to, but there is something people are not getting right.

I was reminded of a discussion in my Church years ago where someone asked the question, “what is the difference between a role model and a mentor?” This question stirred many argumentative discussions as it took the pastor a while to fully make everyone present understand his point.

There is a need to understand that both words aren't the same, and funny enough, some people take both to mean the same thing. We can make a mentor a role model, but we cannot make a role model a mentor in some cases.

While a role model is a person who serves as an example and whose behaviour is emulated by another person, a mentor is wise and someone you can trust for his or her words or teachings. A mentor can be a teacher, professor, doctor, counsellor etc. A great factor to look into when choosing a role model is behaviour. What kind of behaviour do they exhibit outside to make you want to emulate or copy them?

Behaviour is human conduct relating to social norms. This means how they behave or act to societal norms. We wouldn't want to go after someone whose behaviour is against the conduct of any society except we'd be lying to ourselves and trying to cover such a person just because of what we want to gain from them.

Is this person worth emulating? Does he or she has good behaviour, and attitude and can conform to the norms in society?

It is important we look into this, study and observe such a person before concluding to make him or her your role model because it would be painful when you'd expect something else from such a person and he or she is acting otherwise. It then leaves you in a state of doubt and confusion.

For me, I have just one role model for now who I do look up to and many times, I keep observing her lifestyle when I was with her and I just want to keep emulating those behaviours because I see it as rewarding for her.

It is my ex-boss (Mrs Obose). This was my boss where I taught as a teacher in her school some years back and I was like if all bosses are like her, I don't think there would be a need for an employee or staff to resign or leave such work because of how they behave and act towards their staff. I was opportune to meet such a beautiful soul and after a while, I desire to be like her when I become a boss and have people under me.

What factors do I see in her that made me choose her as a role model? The first is her disciplined life. Mrs Obose is so disciplined that she never settles for less. Everything about her is sharp, coordinated and effective. You can never see this woman slacking anywhere and this was what earns her respect from people, especially her pupils' parents.

She would always want the best for us and would even advise us as her siblings. Her life is so simple that I wonder what kind of woman she is to be able to deliver outstandingly and never miss any meetings being called.

The second thing is her honesty. She believes saying the truth is better than cutting corners when you know things would escalate in the end. She is truthful and would tell us whatever is going on in her life without mincing words for words. When it's time to pay our salaries, and she has no money coming in due to some parents owing a lot, she would humbly pleads with us and make us know what is going on.

When she finally decides to pay, that day doesn't exceed. She pays us on time and when she cannot, she would come out plainly to us and we would understand. That woman was a Godsent to me when I applied to her school.

The third factor I studied in her was her punctuality and kind heart. She would always want her staff to be punctual and once any of us arrives late, she would understand and be so kind to the extent that she never uses that against us, or even deduct it from our salary. Even when you only work half of the month, she is just too kind to pay full salary and will never hold onto what belongs to us.

Lastly, she is a strong woman and a good Christian. This is where I came to conclude that she is truly a good Christian. I mean someone who acts like Christ and knows what the scripture says about paying your labourers their wages. I was surprised to see my boss working vibrantly even when she lost her husband a few days to the end of the year party.

She was so happy then and one would think that she never cried over her husband's death. Of course, she did, but she quickly took it off when the party was going on. The way she was working that day, no one would know until they are told what happened. Even at that, she bought clothes for every staff to celebrate the party. She moved on so quickly for her children.

Looking at this woman, she is someone I wouldn't want to give a second thought about but to make her my role model because this is the kind of life I want. A life that does not need to cheat on others just because I am in the position. A life I wouldn't want to take advantage of the situation to hurt another person. That is the kind of life and role model I want!

Thanks for your time

Image by Rodnae productions from Pexels

[October 29, 2022] (No 301 articles for the year)

14
$ 2.02
$ 1.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

This is nice, most people choose their parents most especially their mother's as role model but you choosing your boss this really great as she has a great qualities

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seems like a great person and role model. I had one boss I really admired. Wish all bosses were like our favorite ones

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your ex boss sure sounds like an amazing and strong women. Just a person to be a role model. Happy Sunday Princess 💙

$ 0.02
1 year ago

She is so amazing and I am glad I knew her when I did. Thank you ma

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Greetings princess is been long I visit your blog, when I scroll down I have seen a lot of your writing that I haven't visit and I know I have missed a lot. I'm really struggling with my phone since when I lost my good phone, I have not been myself because the phone I am using now is really bad both battery and connection. This has really made me not to be active anymore on the platform.

I think we all have a role model, they are people with good character that we admire to become like them. Having a good role model is really good because at least we will learn one or more things from them. Stay safe and thanks for sharing.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This has really made me not to be active anymore on the platform.

Yea, I noticed you aren´t active as before and I believe God will provide a good phone soon so you can be back fully. Thanks for showing up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She's really a good person, and yah everyone of us has a role model whom we really admire

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, we do have someone we truly admire and would love to emulate because of their attitude and behaviour.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She has the attributes of a good role model. I really wish to meet people like her everyday, they give people more reasons to trust and believe in humanity

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You are right. They are worth emulating.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honest people are always so easy to love. I hate lies with passion and I easily love people who have the decency to tell the truth.

Good role models are hard to come by, so I'm happy you found one

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They are rare but when we see one, we should hold them and learn from them. Thank you for reading.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Let me make it simple for others... A role model is someone you wish to model...someone who impressed you and you wish to be an extended example of. A mentor? Someone you can have access to, that is vast in your field or knowledgeable in the area of your strength. It's all about access. You don't need close access to a role model but you need close access to a mentor.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Great definition, KP. There is a difference between a role model and a mentor. One can have access to a mentor than a role model who wouldn't even know you are modelling him or her. Thanks so much for your beautiful input.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm glad you enjoyed it darling. Thanks boo. 😘😘😘

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed she's a role model the way you described her princess. In life we had those people that for us they are a role model to us. My role model is my parents princess. ❤️

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, I won´t fail to say that too, especially my mom.. Though, I really miss her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We see a person as our role model if we can see them as proof of admiration. We learn from them and also have a chance to improve ourselves to be better people. They lead us to become successful and inspire us to do what is right.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is right. When we see proof that they are worth emulating, we won´t have choice but to accept them as role models. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People like your ex-boss are blessings to the society.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

They are indeed and it would be great to have people like her everywhere and not those who are being selfish to others just because they are in the position.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My role model will always be my mom 😊

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, our mothers fit into such a role. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago