Fake news gone wrong.

31 55
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

“Every fresh start to the week is another opportunity to learn new things and apply what we already learned.”

Unknown

I also spread fake news some days ago which was embarrassing to me in the end. Sincerely, I have never been involved in spreading fake news until it is verified because I detest being insulted, so I stay in my lane.

I have heard much fake news from bloggers and many people online and I wonder why on earth would they spread such hypertensive news online. But one of their aims is to generate traffic to their blogs or perhaps most of them are being paid to spread it. Who knows? But that shouldn't make you not verify something before sharing it because this is a digital world and everything seems to go viral within a twinkle of an eye.

It happened that we were waiting for our final year results to be out so we all would get ready for our clearance. On a Sunday after service, a lady came to meet me to ask if I have seen my results or graduating list since she has seen hers. She was happy her name was on the graduating list and I congratulated her and hope mine too will be best.

I got home to post on my status that the English department had seen their list while Education hasn't without confirming first, but only relied on firsthand information. A few minutes later, my course representative sent a DM asking where I got such information from. I boldly told her a friend from church had seen hers. After some minutes, she sent me a message telling me to always confirm first before posting such.

Reading that, I was embarrassed and had to delete it immediately before many people would view it. That was my first time doing that and would be my last.


My Uncle wasn't smart enough to fake his kidnap as that was his way to extort money from the family. This guy caused it himself when he was supposed to be serious with his life but wasn't focused. He is over thirty now and I can't point out something achievable in his life. He is always finding different means to collect money from the family and would come up with lies to cover himself up. Thank God for the wise and smart Aunts I have.

One of my Aunts even partnered with him on a business so he could have something worth doing but he deceived her and ran away for years. After many years, he showed his face and he was sad seeing me and my siblings doing fine today, whereas he has nothing. In his mind, he would be like “these are the children I took care of while they were little, now, they are fairing well today”.

One thing about him is that he is so lazy but wants to eat. He is living a fake life and deceiving everyone. This day, my aunt in Ibadan got a call from someone that my uncle had been kidnapped and they are asking for a ransom.

I was in school when the news spread to my hometown. My younger brother called me that night and explain to me. The next thing was for me to start cracking up with laughter because I know my uncle was lying. My aunt that was called quickly believed the lies, but everyone including my grandma did not believe a thing about it.

When one of my aunts who is a lecturer at the University of Benin heard it, she quickly said she has no money at all, so no one should bother her, not even someone like my uncle.

That was how everyone took the news to be a fake one while we keep waiting for another breaking news 😂😂😂

After some days, someone told us he saw this uncle working on the farm. Even his girlfriend confirmed he has been at home and nothing was wrong. Perhaps my uncle didn't plan his kidnapping well, by sharing his plans with his girlfriend but we already know what was going on. 😅

Ever since then, my uncle didn't call or show up because of the disgrace he put himself into. I told my siblings that this guy wasn't smart enough because we were smarter than him and besides, he lost his trust in us for a long time ever since we knew his lies, deceit, fake life etc.

At least before you share any news online, it should be 100% verified so you don't cause someone his or her death especially when such a person is hypertensive.

That was how I got another fake news that one of the famous Nollywood actors named Osita Iheme was dead. I was in my room already crying because the news was being shared as a real one. I had to post on my status as a question asking if it was real or not. When I got many replies that it was fake, I stopped crying and wished it was never real.

Spreading fake news could cause many things to others and also could be risky for the posters. So, let all information be verified first before bringing them to others.

Thanks for your time.

Image by Polina from Pexels

[October 10, 2022] (No 282 articles for the year)

16
$ 7.12
$ 6.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @Knowhere
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 13
Sponsors of Princessbusayo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Princessbusayo
1 year ago

Comments

The funny thing about fake news is that it spreads like wildfire. Thank God you deleted it on time

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Fake news goes faster than leg sef 😂😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We easily are fooled sometimes that's why we learn the hard way. However, we should be wise next time and try not to be misled again by news that we can't verify.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. We shouldn't turn ourselves to fools to spread something that isn't verified yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is why confirming it first is important. But seriously why the girl even said that it's out already what's her purpose.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I really don't know. I thought it was real too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woahh that's why it's really important to ask how reliable thr information is

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is it. We won't have to be blamed in the end for that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have to be mindful of what we share especially on social media. Your uncle is hilarious.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So so hilarious 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thats why, I dont like opening nuch my socmed, we can't determine the fake and real news

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's better we keep quiet until we are sure it is real.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've never really been a victim of sharing fake news but I can imagine the shame you must have felt after. I always try to say what I heard from other people in the reported speech manner while letting the person I'm telling know that it is unverified news so I wouldn't be blamed should it turn out to be fake.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. At least no one would blame you in the end since you already made yourself clear that it is still not verified yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago
 >|Spreading fake news could cause many |things to others and also could be risky |for the posters. So, let all information be |verified first before bringing them to |others.

You are definitely that why PVM said D.Y.O.R meaning "do your own research".

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes oo. Find out yourself and be sure too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happens some times, don't worry. At least you delete the post fast.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yea, thank God I was still online to do that immediately.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is one I the reasons why I don't do social media, especially Facebook anymore. Naturally, consuming too much information isn't good, I am sure if th information you're consuming is fake, it'd have an effect on your brain. I believe any news that's important to me will eventually reach me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right. There will always be a good information for us at the right time and not being in a haste to believe some fake ones coming out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This made me laugh! Your uncle is too funny 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So funny 🤣🤣 He thought he was smart but he was never one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Reading this work made me remember how our neighbour spread fake news about our neighbour also who they spread a news that he died in a motorcycle accident. Why people kept on doing such things.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Smiles. Some people are good in that. They do not mind their own business.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With the advent of social media came the increase in the spread of fake news. No one vexs me more than those bloggers who lie for views, it's pathetic. Verifying your sources of information is of utmost importance.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

As in ehn... Those bloggers aren't okay. They do that to bring traffic but is that the right way?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes ,it is very important to have strong evidence about some matters before we posted or telling some news to others. I've experienced incidents in that I told some information without knowing it was not true.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's so embarrassing when we are into such thing and we don't wait to confirm first. People are so quick to judge you on that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In the Philippines, they them call them "Marites" :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is so bad then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago