When I grow up...

30 57
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

When we were kids, we could not wait for that time when we are categorized as "grown up". We have lots of plans anticipating that time while simply enjoying the benefits and privilege of being a child. I remember only thinking of "when I grow up I will.." lines :

  • when asked

  • when I got scolded at

  • when I was not allowed to have what I want to have

  • in line with the previous bullet, when I was stopped from doing what I want to do because I am still "a kid", "a child", "young".

And these lines have an amusing and funny history.

When ASKED...

What will you want to be when you grow up? The conditioned answer for me then was to become a doctor.

When I GOT SCOLDED AT....

Usually after settling things with my parents and apologies were given, I had in me that "When I grow up, I will have a good-paying job so I can eat hotdogs and hotdogs and bacon only. No veggies!"

The scolding lines from parents back then was the training to eat what's set before you. They have this line that goes: when you finally get to buy your food, you choose what to eat. But for the mean time, eat what is served.

When I WAS NOT ALLOWED TO HAVE WHAT I WANT TO HAVE

Similar line to when I get scolded. The training line there would be not spoiling the kids. It develops that someday I am going to buy myself this and that.

When I WAS STOPPED FROM DOING WHAT I WANT TO DO..

This one is also similar to that of being scolded. But I think this may have been broken a little for one time I asked my dad, "when will I not be young? I would always be a kid to you." Hehe. Still it has that, "when the time comes that I am 'of age' I will be doing this and that".

Or sleeping in the afternoon! Oh that one! I hated sleeping in the afternoon when I was a kid. Or that I am not allowed to stay up late. So I had that when I grow up I will stay up late with the adults. It's hard specially when there's a get together and all your cool aunts and uncles are up all night laughing, you'd want to be there with them laughing and eating as well.


But of course, when you grow up, you outgrow some of these thinking and some you realize that they were necessary disciplines.

There is that one "When I grow Up..." though that is still with me and I will forever be laughing at myself about.

As an adult, DO YOU STILL FEEL EXCITED GOING TO TOY STORES?

I do. I tend to compare the upgrade of the toys kids can have nowadays and the toys I see in the stores when I was young.

Toy makers in my day NEVER THOUGHT OF CREATING A TOY FOR ROASTING CHICKEN!

I was not deprived of toys growing up. I just know that there are some toys that I cannot take care of, we cannot buy, and it most likely will not get passed down to cousins or siblings, in short they will be just waste of resources. I never really bothered nagging my parents about it growing up because I am also an outside kid. I play outside a lot more than I play inside. And yes I violate my curfew so scolding time is a regular everyday thing, too. Hahah. So I would rarely be playing with any toys inside the house. Save for the basic: medium-sized affordable doll, some plastic miniature cook wares, etcetera.

The cool ones like Barbies, doll houses, etcetera, I get to play with in my friends' house.

I used to say, When I Grow Up, I will buy myself and collect Barbies. Yes lots of 'em like filling a whole shelf with them. I knew this was expensive when I was a kid and guess what? IT STILL IS for me. It cracks me up and I shake my head thinking about it.

PINK-spensive toy!Hmph!

I also have a thing for poly pockets or anything miniature life toys so I also eyed this one.

But part of me knows so well that these things will no longer be of any use for me. Let alone, have space. I won't be able to use them or play with them.

I still do visit their sections though when I go to a Toy Store. or a TOY STORE is one of the sections I visit when I go to a department store.


What were the things that you were thinking when you were a child starting with "When I grow up..."?

Were you able to do them? or achieve them?

What's your story?

Found these photos while deleting from my hard drive. So why not use and earn from them before saying bye bye, right? haha.

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

20
$ 7.43
$ 7.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 10
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Comments

I remember my elementary yrs tht line when I grow and then telling what ylu wat to be in the future. Hahah it's nice to reminisce old days when we are a kid.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True and then we end up laughing at where we end up haha. Life's fun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

With the growing up we left the real happiness far behind that we enjoyed in the childhood. Responsibilities circled the man as he grow up

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't quite remember what I said I wanted to be when I grew up. Maybe it was a policeman, hahaha. No doctor, lawyer, or engineer. Why a cop? Loved playing with my Matchbox cars and my favorite was a police car, pretending to chase after bad guys. Must be why I love law enforcement procedural shows when I got older.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Police really? I'm trying to picture myself if I kinda feel like i want it. Oh but yeah those CSI series and LAPDs seem exciting. You have a wider imagination when it comes to your cars! I only imaginee"driving a car" when i play with my kuya's matchboxes when I was a kid. Hmmm ... Forensic science is fun. Car chases.. only during the chase I guess hahahah... Stake outs maybe because of the donuts and coffee.. hehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Donuts and coffee talaga??? The car-chases, and the kicking ass, that's what's exciting. hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I grow up I plannned to become a teacher , pero that didn't happen due to financial hardships. Welp fast forward I realized that my patience is limited so it saved me from being in Tulfo hahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha i like that realization later on! So what did you end up taking?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I took Clinical Psychology, but haven't finished it yet. I am on my 4th year na pero di na natuloy. Might be enrolling nalang sa online sa ibang school in the future once na mayroon nang extra. Obsolete na kasi yung course ko sa school namin at 2010 pa sya nawala.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Whaaa oh wow may ganun pala na naoobsolete! Depende sa school no? Praying ma credit pa rin yun subjects mo pag nakalipat ka na! Ajaaa doc!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ou that time kasi walang masyadong may pakialam sa mental health eme compared to now na napakadami na last batch kami that time. Di na nasundan after nilang maka graduate since sympre kung walang nag te take ng course might as well not offer it anymore. Schools are still a business and if they are not getting any profits might as not to introduce it anymore.

Thanks thanks.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

when I was young I used to want to have a human size teddy bear, but now that I am a mom,the toys my son wanted was so $$.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Waaah mahal din yung huge bears ah! Ang ayaw ko lang lalo sa stuffed toys na malaki is space and alikabok... So lalong nawala sila sa list ng bet kong toys hahahah.. ah oo most likely expensive na toys ng kid mo ngayun!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most times those child attitudes comes back for me as I feel the urge to just play and have fun as kids will do. But when responsibility hits, I sing a different song and remember I'm no longer a child.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I grow up. I remember back then, my mom always told me to answer "to be a teacher" when asked the question if what I want to be when I grow up. Then the reason would be "because I want to teach the kids".

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh yes they also give us the script to answer the questions that follow! Hahaha.. so what did you end up taking?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha I never looked at toys the same way now that I am a mother. I didn't have a very strong liking for toys back then when I was younger... i love going out to the beach and playing at the field before so when I become a mother and Matti is now enjoying his toys, I somehow loves going to toy stores

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe i remember nga you like jumping into waters nung maliliit kayo. Pag lumaki talagang nag lalaro sa labas less ang fascination sa toys.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was young, I used to dream about being a doctor. However, as time passes and I discover my own passion, the childhood dream I had before will just remain in my memory.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

Hi there nathawriter! I remember having a little "i want 'em all" growing up. When professionals start to tell you stories about why they chose their careers you end up trying to ditch the programmed career. What did you end up taking?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm already 22 yet I like going to toy store. I also like buying it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No age when it comes to toys hahaha i think.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Na reminisce lahat ng childhood memories when it come to toys pichi. When I was a kid, favorite ko talaga na toy is Barbie. Basta may fiesta in our town gustong gusto ko yung mga Barbies. Adik talaga ako sa mga Barbies pichi. 🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nyhhahaha. Ang saya nila to dress up and to look chill and sexy at the same time no? Hahah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo pichi sobra kaya sobrang ko yung Barbies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And I remained busy playing with my toy cars. Still miss those days but now I am so called aged guy.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No age limit when it comes fo toys! Do you still have your car collection?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting! When I was a kid when I'm scolded I would say I would go on beach trips and get away with my friends.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Like really run away from home? Aww. I never thought of beach getaways until I started to work. Only then did I get to see the beaches of the Phil. Hhaha had I seen them when I was really young, I'd probably say i WOULD want to be away on a beach trip when scolded at.

$ 0.00
1 year ago