The Durian Candy Realization

68 105
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

When we were young, my mom, who frequented going to Davao for some seminar or meeting with other women in our denomination, used to take home Durian Candies. I never liked the fruit because of its offensive smell but when they turned it into a candy it transformed into something I really liked. I remember eating a lot of these to the point that I already feel my throat getting sore before drinking water.

Durian is a fruit that looks like jackfruit and Marang on the outside. I am no expert in differentiating them except by order of distaste for their smell, Durian is top, Marang is next and Jackfruit is the safest. Jackfruit is also the one I’d prefer eating over the three.

I am not sure if the local airlines already allow this fruit (the durian) onboard. I am sure though that some hotels do not allow it inside their rooms.

I do not eat chocolates. I mean, growing up, we were not allowed to eat too much. So I just got used to not really craving for chocolates. For these durian candies, though, my mom would always bring home a lot – for relatives, for friends, for neighbors, for our household’s consumption and then there were extras. These extras, she told us, we can sell to our classmates.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

Why not, right? Not everyone then had access to Davao goodies so why not take that chance. It is probably my mom's gauge of whether we can be trusted with money or some sort. Or was it a practice at computing? I am not sure why my mom allowed us now that I try to think about it.

 Just a disclaimer, this is way back before 2015s and 2016s when the candies were banned for having poison of some sort. Again, emphasis on before.

So I and my brother took it to school. My mom had an inventory of how much each of us brought to school. I really cannot remember how I started selling. All I know is once I opened the box, classmates started to ask and they buy – when I tell them they are for sale. Some teachers also got curious and were also flocking in to take a look at the product.

I brought durian tarts, durian sticks, durian yema, durian candy blocks, durian bars, etcetera. Name it! The least favorite were the ube-flavored ones. The best-sellers were the tiny candies as they can get away with eating it during class. They only pop it in and let it melt. The least sold were the bars. At some point, the siblings of my classmates come to visit to buy some even. So I thought I was doing good, right?

Even when it is time to go home people come and buy.

After I finished my homework for the day, my mom sat us down. My brother was first to give an accounting to how much he sold and mom computes it with how much money my brother presented at the table.

When it was my turn, my mom counted the items that were left. We went through it by product. So my mom counted the money, checked on the inventory list she has against the number of items I have left.

Then she started asking me questions. Questions she never asked my brother.

She goes, "So we have 30 pieces of durian bars to start for 2 pesos each. You have fifteen (15) pieces left so that means you sold 15. Which means you should have thirty pesos. But we only have twenty four pesos. What happened to the three bars then?"

I started to recall the events of the day. Then I realized, "Oh, I ate them," I said. Then thinking quickly, I also added "No worries I will pay for them." Even though I do not know where I will be getting money from.

Then we went to the other products with almost similar questions. And I have the same answer. The closing inventory for the night ended up with my mom scratching her head and laughing. And me computing how much I owe our simple business.

After that, my mom never let me sell again. To this day, my mom and my brother remembers it.

That ladies and gentlemen is when I realized, selling is not my forte. Eating is.

Yup. Eating.


© Pichi28 7/24 buzzer beater

All Original Content

Unless specified...

 

 

21
$ 23.53
$ 22.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @TengoLoTodo
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 13
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

Hahahaha. But durian products are really delicious even their jams. When I was a kid, I also hated the smell of durian. Our relative from Zamboanga who visited us for the first time brought home the fruit. Oh, by the way, yes airlines now allow durian fruit as long as it has been opened, packed and sealed properly to keep off that strong smell. I brought home 4 microwaveable containers when I went to Zamboanga 2 years ago.

Going back, whenever I would open our refrigerator, I have to have my handkerchief worn as a mask so I cannot smell it but of course it was too strong that even with handkerchief, I could still smell it.

But my first favorite was the durian candies. It was what I would request from my dad whenever he had meetings in Davao. Then he would buy all the durian products. The last brand that he bought was from Lola Abon and it was really good. Then when I was already in high school or college, I think it was the time that I have enjoyed eating the fruit itself. 😋

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oi seriously you are now able to eat the fruit itself? Wow. Acquired taste and smell then? Hoooow?? Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love durian candies too... my colleagues who are from davao always bring back this as pasalubong also

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yess super sarap. Haha. And well matamis din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes ... i tried the real fruit sa cotabato, when freshly opened, super sarap din.. no foul smell naman pala pag fresh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That a famous pasalubong from davao, i get to have some when my uncle travels there.. But now we get to see the durian itself in the market but havent bought and tasted a ripe one😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Jayteee!!! haha but before you do eat the fruit? When your uncle takes it to your place?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko pa natry yun fresh fruit, puro candies at pulvoron pa lng natikman q.. Hopefully matry pag my nagtinda uli sa market hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kwento niyo po experience hahah. hindi ko pa natry prutas. i doubt kaya ko .. pero baka eventually hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e ang strong ng amoy pero pag hinog daw sabi masarap.. Sna nga matry hehhe.. Nun meron kc sa market ang mahal e taz di pa nmin alam if hinog ba😅 di bale nxt time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should have told your mom, you were taxed. Yeah, the taxman has them. 😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i never knew of tax then! haha. haha that would have been a good excuse.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe you're so cute Pichi🥰 "Oh, I ate them" because of the durian candies.. it's tasted so good...❤️🥰You make me smile...😊

God bless you Pichi..🙏❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha thank you Ramona!! oo eh ..honest kid hahahaha.. They do they do taste good. Though last I chekced medyo controversial ang candies because of poisoning? haha no longer sure.

God bless you, too Ramona!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ha? 😲Ganun ba pichi... Never pa ako nakatikim...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

not sure if ok na ulit ngayun ah.. pero nagkaron sila ng ganung issue dati... . kung meron na ulit sa mga pasalubongan.. most likely cleared na yung case nila. go tryyy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti naman kung ganun pichi....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha ano ba yan tindang paluge ka naman! 😂😂 pero ang sarap nga kasi ng candy na yan ay ayaw ko din yung talagang bunga, ambaho. 😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

daba daba daba!? hahaha. eh masarap naman kasi talaga. and di ko lam pa nun na pag nagtinda.. bawal ka kumuha hahahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha wala naman kasi sinabi din sayo na bawal kainin e no? 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yiz! Hahaha. Nakulangan ng instruction sa area na yun hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very wrong sa part na iyon hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahahahaha, parang proud kapa frenny nong sinabi mong "oh, I ate them!" Wahahaha ang cute lang wahaha. Nag ty din ata akong mag tinda noon sa school ee, mani tas polvoron elementary days. Ewan ko anonh nangyari, pero tama naman ata mga napag bentahan ko non wala akong matandaaan na may violent reaction si mudra wahahahaya. Pero diko talaga ang durian, dun ako sa Langka, the best yarn kahit matapang din ang amoy pero masarap naman. Di sya ganon kasakit sa ilong ba.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oo frenny hahahaha.. always tell the truth eh.. so I ate them! hahahahaha. May amoy din ba ang langka na di kaayaaya? Parang sakin ok din amoy niya matamis ahihihih. makahanap nga ulit ... libang na libang ako sa mga nag dudrian fruit as in .. yung ikaw hilong hilo sa amoy sila ngiting ngiti sa tuwa sa kain nila..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sameeee here! Naalala ko pa, munchin yun e. Ako lang din umuubos. 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hehehe saya balikan no? hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobraaaa. Ako lang din nalulugi sa ginagawa ko. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha.. Naalala ko tuloy yung time na may tindahan pa kami, sa tuwing ako yung nagbabantay, lugi na agad dahil panay ang kain nang paninda..hahaha.. Ang cute mo noh..😅❤️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ahahaha apir apir apir! Thank you sis ren! hahaha. Hirap eh matinding temptation yun ba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahah.. apir talaga tayo dyan sis.😅 "Kain ngayon, papagalitan later"...hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

apir! at least.. mapagalitan man... masaya na at nakakain hahahahahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. ganun na nga sis.. Bahala na basta busog eh..😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same experience here hahaha. I also sold coconut candy before at school and I always ate like two or three daily hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahah Bits and pieces of happiness hahaha... They are that tempting right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahah super.😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a bad entrepreneur 😂😂😂 separate the business from the owner. That's the rule of business.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha. I know right? Well at least they know i am selling good stuff .. ahhahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hajaja cutie kid....yung kinain mo pati paninda mo hahahah

$ 0.03
2 years ago

haha mommy.. struggle din yun ah.. benta mo yun paborito mo kainin nun time na yun haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahah kaya nga eh ang kyut lang pag nai imagine haah...tapos napakamot nalang mama mo😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha wee pp is an eater, well nothing new there !

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ahaha that iam uncle ed. and just in time as well i am going to grab that yogurt for a little "late midnight snack" while reading articles hahahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha that is a healthy midnight snack, unlike you, I wrote about your COWfrogs, yesterday and trying to finish the second part now before I think about dinner, am tempted to order takeaway!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahah yes healthy midnight snack every once in a while. You know, a little something healthy for the digestive system ;) ... . going to your articles now woohooo!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

that Durian thankfully I have never smelt, although have heard many people tell me what it smells like hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But you know some people still eat the fruit even though it smells bad. It is amusing fact

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I know people who love it haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Durian fruit is not my like not until it will be processed into candies just what your mom did. And why you even try to eat when you don't have money to pay for it haha I'm sure your mom is a bit angry

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was a kid then ..haha she was a bit shocked she wanted to get angry but she knows I have a bigger problem - how to pay her hahahahahahah.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha then how did you pay?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the debt was written off by virtue of.... . . forgiveness hahahaha.. .I really do not know what came to my mind saying that i will pay i don't even have baon then T_T hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha wala ng magawa si nanay eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uu kaya kinakanchawan niya ako parati pag sinasabi ko may ibebenta ako =))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅prarang ako lang nung bata. ..uso kasi noon dito samin ung magtitinda ng canduly sa kasalan..mga Vpresh ...macmx ganun..haha kala ni lola ko nakadami na kami ng benta..haha inuubos kona pala.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Diba? Yey! now i feel like a normal kid!!!! hahahaha thank you! mwah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅nakakabored naman po kasi ..bata ka tas nakikita mo mga sumasayaw sa kasalan eh mga matatanda ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lugi negosyo sayo besh 😂😂😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahah that madam.. is the reason I know I am confident I can support my friends who have food business more than me doing the business hahahahahahaah.....

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah. Samahan kita sa pagtitinda, Pich at ubusin natin laha lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yehey!!! hahahaah tara tara!!! lols.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

san tau pupwesto???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dun sa beach kung san may cheesecake din si @Eylz2021 for us hahahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahay gusto ko na cheesecake now 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

samedt haha .. silipin ko nga nobake cheesecake niya! hehehecan never go wrong with cheesecake no? hahahah salamat sa support sa pagkain ng produktong binebenta dapat ate hahahahahaha..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha kaya di ako ngtayo ng food store eh baka malugi sa kakakain 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahha lista ng utang sa sarili haahahahha... high payb!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

apir haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

how it possiable

$ 0.00
2 years ago