It's Just the Way it Is

49 62
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

... a story....pulling out the nonsense card for hump-day article

It was a busy morning. The whole team was not taking their eyes off their monitors. Phones were busy ringing, too. Then in few more moments, as the clock closely ticks to lunch break, the boss comes out of his room where he was having a closed-door conference call with the big heads screaming,

"We got the deal, team! BigCompanyWithBigPay is our client now! You got ten minutes to relax and prepare. This calls for a lunch out. On me. In ten minutes, you are not in the lobby, you are not included. Chop! chop!"

He said the "chop! chop" with matching hand claps.

unrelated image. but at least it is a cheerful bit

Soft hoots of celebration can be heard from the team and you hear the hurried final taps of the keyboard, and soft "good byes" of those who were on the phone. Chairs' carpet-muffled wheels can be heard too as they get dragged back to proper positions with their paired up desks. All in quick motion. It was not Friday yet. But the boss calls for the lunch out who would not want to go?

I will be rushing to check what these fantabolous people wrote lately.. :) go go go!
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

In less than a minute, the floor is cleared and the lobby is filled with teammates wanting to be in the elevator first.

They all made it to the place where their boss intended them to be in for lunch. The place known as "Dampa" - where seafood are served fresh from the market beside it. You can either go and buy for your group and tell them what and how you'd like it done or you can just tell them your order and they will do the buying and cooking for you.

Frances was nervously looking at the menu in front of her and was quietly listening for everyone's order. In between conversations and laughter, they go,

"Squid Calamares!"

"Grilled Milkfish!"

"Shrimp in Tamarind Soup"

"Baked Mussels"

lobster is it? My friends ate during our Zamboanga trip.

When it was her turn, she cleared her throat and with a soft voice, she said, "Grilled pork belly."

There was sudden silence.

She looked up and everyone was now looking at her waiting for her to say it was a joke. She knows what they were thinking.

ooh those yummy little shrimp!

It is a seafood place why are you ordering pork?

She wishes it was a joke, too.


Hello, dear Read-itizens! How is Wednesday, so far? The story above can not be very far from my experience the first time I was going to tell my office friends that I have developed .. no scratch that... I was going to tell them that I have deteriorated. I meant my immune system.

I am that outlier who will most likely order pork when everyone is most likely to order seafood in a seafood restaurant.

It was awkward the first time, but eventually they are the ones ordering that for me. Of all that I would be allergic to: Shrimp and Crab. Heavens! Thank God I can still eat shelled ones. So I still order, clams, mussels, oysters, and fish, etcetera.

I used to not have allergies. By family med history, my dad has asthma, my two sibs have allergies and mom and I do not have any allergies. But I guess that is life - sometimes some things ruin the immune system as we get older. My siblings outgrew their allergies, and I developed food allergy and then rhinitis followed years after. Ah, the reverse!

...the discovery...

I found out about it one time when we were on assignment and I was living with my officemates offshore. I super loved my officemate's chili shrimps, and my other officemate's shrimp in tamarind soup.

One time, I and two other officemates, decided to try one of the soups in the alley in the marketplace. It was delicious I had two servings. When we got home, my hands got itchy and I suddenly have tiny itchy bumps. I ignored it. Anti histamines were not part of my travel meds then. And what do I know about allergies, then?

I was able to confirm it in three occasions. Yes, I was in denial for a long time.

My friends and I ordered garlic shrimp pizza. I had reaction.

My friends and I ate tempura. I had reaction.

I started bringing anti-histamines from then on. We also thought that the shrimp and crab should be fresh so I would not have allergic reaction. But that got foiled when we were in Bohol, freshly-caught crab cooked with coconut, a small bump of a rash started to form on my face and got bigger and then my neck started to show rashes as well. hahaha. So much for fresh.

Adult-Onset Allergies. It is what they call it. I think mine's progression was gradual. I have a friend who suddenly became allergic to seafood. Hers is the worst. It takes days for her skin reaction to heal.

...the cure...

Some say maybe we can get desensitized but I find that too risky. Avoidance is still my best pick among these four suggestions to "treating" allergies :

  • avoidance

  • medications

  • immunotherapy

  • emergency ephinephrine

(Source: Natalie Silver, December 16, 2016. Can You Outgrow Allergies? [Blog Post]. Retrieved from https://www.healthline.com/health/allergies/can-you-outgrow-them#Treating-allergies)

That may work for children but I doubt it works the same way for adults.

It is just the way it is.

Other source of good information about this is this one:

Shanley Pierce, February 5, 2020. Adult-onset food allergies: More common than you think [Blog Post]

Retrieved from: https://www.tmc.edu/news/2020/02/adult-onset-food-allergies-more-common-than-you-think/


You got anything weird you discovered late in your adult life?

or Anything you discovered about yourself later on in your life not necessarily when you were older? Just something you did not know about yourself?


© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

20
$ 6.60
$ 5.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 13
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
2 years ago

Comments

Oh. I didn't know we can still get allergic to foods when we are already old. Sad. Goodbye shrimp and crabs for you. It is really hard if we are allergic to a particular food. You would always have to know what ingredients are on your dish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a cousin who's also allergic to seafood. But even if you were not allergic to seafood, you'd still be the odd one out, eh? Would you be the one who orders seafood in a mountain resort? lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your story is somewhat like similar sa pinsan ko. Pero hindi siya allergy sa shrimp or crab or sa seafoods. Allergy siya sa powder(johnson baby powder). Simula nong bata pa siya. Kaya pag my show lipstick lang ang nilalagay niya sa parti ng kanyang mukha. Pero nung mag highschool siya di na niya pinansin iyon. Lagay siya ng lagay nun. Kahit na sa umpisa iyon nagsisilabasan sila. Pero later on dahil sa araw2x niyang kakagamit nun ngayon ay bigla nalang nawala. Siguro kelangan lang talagang sanayin natin ang ating mga sarili sa mga ganun upang mawala ito. Opinion ko lamang iyan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

awtsu .. sa baby powder pa talaga din siya nag rereact. Pero keri lang kasi bata pa naman siya nung lumabas allergy niya. na ou-outgrow pa talaga yun. Pero hindi siya hinihika sa powder ? Naglalabasan lang talaga yung pantal? ang madalas na alam ko sa powder yung mga naaatching at nahihika.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman siya na aatching may naglalabasan lang na parang mga chicken pox, ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap din naman kasi ng crabs at shrimps eh. Kaso kung hindi naman allergy, high blood naman or uric acid. Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tama! Nasa genes niyo ba sir ang high blood at uric?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman. Asthma nasa genes namin, at wag naman sana cancer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aw uu wag naman sana nga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. My mom died from cancer. My dad has been to pre-cancer stage before his death

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ow . .sorry to hear that iyan... ingat na din sa mga kinakain para sigurado

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha frenny natawa ako dun sa ahaha, Seafoods ang seneserve sa dampa tapos nag grilled pork belly naiimagine ko ung pag tingin ng lahat dun sa nag sabi ahahahahaha.

Anyways, Oh Gosh napaka ano ng allergies na yan. Meron nyan si Mommy ko at sobrang hirap kasi lahat nalang foods parang mag epekto sa kanya. Asin na nga lang inuulam nya minsan. Nakakaawa din mandin, tsk.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Diba kahiya yung biglang attention nasayo kasi kakaiba yung inorder mo.. . ahahah oo hirap frenny.. para may variety minsan toyo ganun.. ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love all the pictures hehez nakakatakam po. Goodthing I don't have any allergy I also have fear of blood. It's hard to deal with your allergy, I know that since I have cousin who has an allergy. Kailangan mag ingat ka sa mga kakainin mo.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oo kaya minsan nakakahiya pag kelangan tanungin kung yung sahog ba merong hibi o alamang . or hipon. pero kelangan tanungin..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also allergic to seafoods but still, I want a lot haha, especially shrimps 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kung may pause button lang or skip or cancel button yung pag start ng reaction ng allergies sana.. haha... howell..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is appetizing, especially the lobster

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi Greatwolfman! Yes .. well by the looks of how my two friends were eating it and looking at me that time.. I bet it was very delicious. I did not try though. I might ruin our trip if the allergies start reacting.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pichi i need to know the story behind your signature 🤣🤣🤣 I'm sorry my comment doesn't tally with your post. But i need to know the story behind #ClubBrokeBCH 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lols... it's BCHout.. nada.. gone.. in circulation 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha I literally laughed when your friend said "Grilled pork belly" seafoods tas may biglang pork belly 🤣🤣

Nakakatakam naman yung mga attached photos ate pichi. Thank God I don't have allergies with seafoods HAHAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kontrapelo eh no? hahah .. . .awk-weird silence hahahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is sad but I hope it go away. My office mate avoid shrimp for a year, and when he tried shrimp in palabok, no reaction na.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

buti pa sha! sana nga din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love seafood. Lahat. djk. hahahaha buti wala akong allergy thankk God! Meron talagang late nadedevelop yung allergy. Kapitbahay ko nga dati laging kumakain ng manok then now, allergic na daw siya. Sad. sarap pa naman nun e.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

true that. gulat kaya ako nun. yun pa man din hindi ko tatanggihan talaga at makakarami ako ng rice... pero yun nga.. haha natyempuhang pag baba ng immune system saktong affected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nakuu mauubos mo daw kasi lahi nila hahahaha. wait mo paparami muna sila. hahahaha jokelang sana makakain ka pa din kasi masarap talaga e

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sana lang talaga!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes to madaming madaming kinain na hipon then complain about the itch itch later 😒

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kaw din ba sis? hahahaha.. taga cheer na nga lang ako eh.. nakaka miss pa man din. yung mapapa kamay ka talaga para todo kain..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

appear tayo sa allergies! lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

daba daba daba! haha antihistamine club

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aigoooo sa lahat yung shrimpt at crabs pa talaga na yun ang pinaka pave when it comes to seafood.. ako naman madali ako magka rashes pero nawawala xia agad..dati di naman sensitive balat ko pero habang tumatanda ako as lumala xia..yung tipong na palo lang nang mahina braso ko namamaga na xia pero nawawala xia after hours..normal lang ata yun ano?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kasama na din ata nga mommy k sa ating pag tanda.. naiirita yung immune system natin kaya ayun naglalabasan pantal.. :)

yes sa lahat ng pwede yun pa.. kaya hanggang hindi kumakalat sa mga shellfish tinotodo ko kain dun. bawi ako sa tahong, talaba.. etcetera.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ganun ba yun.,...

go lang sa kain basta check mo palagi sarili mo kung may initial reactions sa kinakain mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow, that seems risky to even consider eating allergy causing foods. I would suggest you to go vegetarian... healthy lifestyle :0)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hi !! the good thing still about it is that I can still eat pork beef and chicken and fish. . just not shrimp and crab huhuhu... maybe i should up on the veggies that is true.. and fruits. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really is just the way it is hehe. At least you can still eat the other varieties. Ang sarap pa man ng crab and tempura too :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

diba sis? sometimes i try to "taste" just a few just so I don't feel like I am cheating myself too much. But over time, I no longer feel bad about it.. i guess it's the same with people who decided not to eat pork anymore, the shrimp did have a different taste after not eating it for too long.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, yes, siguro ganon nga din sa kanila. At least adjusted ka na hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakagutom naman po yung article mo. Heheh. Ang tagal kona hindi nakakain ng shrimp. Makaluto nga hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ahahah enjoy sis! sarap yun butter garlic .. at sweet chilli.. at halabos.. hay.. howell taga cheer na lang ako sa mga kumakain

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mas lalo akong nagutom sis hahaha. Pancit canton lang dito sakin now eh. Bukas na ako makakabili hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit allegic ako, i eat a little (mga half kg lng nman kc pag 501 grams na ayan na mag allergy na me 😅😂 kaya wag lalagpas ng 500 grams) 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kc pag 501 grams

wahhh naloka ako na timbang mo pa! hahahahahaha.. Ako pumupuslit ng isang piraso.. beyond kasi todo na si allergy. gusto ko itest ang alimasag/alimango ulit hahar baka sakali lang..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well done,your story was well articulated...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thank you raf!

$ 0.00
2 years ago