Doing rounds 'round my Jericho

12 39
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Do you have a dream?

Do you still have a dream?

Are you still building dreams?

If I were to ask you what is your most recent, reachable dream, how would that story go?

Study hard. Get a good job. Be able to sustain yourself.

That's the summary of the golden vision of what most parents would want their kids to achieve. It is a fulfillment on both part - the child and the parents. Road to being independent and with some sense of responsibility and some sense of appreciation of hard work.

That just becomes one part of our dream, yeah? The rest we have our own versions of and that can either be in the path of career or something else.

Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty

We normally dream of getting things we do not have yet. It sort of serves as our pin on the map. Like going some place. It is the end point. Does not matter which route we take but the plan is to get there somehow.

We dream of having a car of our own. A bigger house that where we are living in now with our family.

portion of the image I took a shot off from our trip around Santorini

When I finally got off college and landed on a job and a role I dreamed of, I thought I was already done with dreams. What came next were smaller sets of pins on the map and it is a delightful journey. And I guess even those smaller sets of goals and dreams take hard work to achieve. No lazing around, no sir! And it has cost also.

There is a story I got to review just last night when I was doing some random reading and musings. It was that story of the walls of Jericho. Revisiting these stories really do pump up the heart somehow.

There is a tribe that was promised that land enclosed with the thickest, most awesome, military-grade wall there is. Nearing the area, they were feeling less and less powerful and smaller and smaller because the place is huge.

I remember when we were studying this story way back, we were talking about "big grapes". Because there were spies sent out to the land some few days back before the tribe crossed the river towards it to finally take claim. And the spies brought back to their camp those big grapes. So that gives a little picture of what is inside that wall - something huge. THINGS ARE HUGE. It is that land flowing with milk and honey.

You know, when you come from a long journey of sleeping in tents in the middle of the dessert, crossing rivers and lands for days that seemed endless, you would want some pampering after.

Define tired. Hahah. one of my friends who I caught dozing off

Or at least you are eager to come to that day for when the madness of moving around has stop. If before that, you came from a place of slaving for every plate on the table for your family, you'd dream of having that time for when the food serving will be a feast without having to slave to have it.

If you are a kid then, the story passed down to you was that the journey you are taking is to finally get a hold of that promise of overflowing milk and honey. And for every step forward and every mental comparison of "what I am having now versus what I will be having soon" turns that journey into fulfilling a dream.

I have never pictured the promised land as a "dream". I've somehow grew up thinking it was a "promise". But then again it was a dream and a promise at the same time. It was God's direction and man's desire, too.

The tribe took them years to get there.

The tribe had to obey weird directions.

Seven rounds around the perimeter and the strongest of walls crumbled down making way for them to enter the land and finally realizing their dream.

Feeling like your dreams are way too far from being achieved, keep going!

What is your Jericho?

It is a good question. Knowing your Jericho will make you able to voice out to God or picture out what you want in your life.

Be bold in praying for it!

Know your Jericho and do your rounds, too!


What is your story?

© Pichi28 | #ClubBrokeBCH

All Original Content

Unless specified otherwise...

10
$ 1.23
$ 1.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.02 from @itsmeCguro
+ 1
Sponsors of Pichi28
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pichi28
1 year ago

Comments

i remember the wall of Jericho because it was part of the exam in church few years back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now, I'm lost again. I thought I have my Jericho now cos I thought dream job ko yung work ko now. But why is it I still feel empty, pero di ko alam kung anong kulang eh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Keep searching i guess ? :) Or baka pede na check sa box ng unang jericho yun ngayun. Nexttttt na ganun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm a graduating students and I thought this ends here but I was wrong this is actually the start. Nakaka pressure lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right dear, we all have our jerichos, most times the things we are scared of acquiring could be our Jericho. Our dream job that we can't get, our friends who are busy avoiding us. A lot of things could be our Jericho. But how we conquer our Jericho is all that is important.

My Jericho right now is hunger, and am about preparing what to eat. So very soon, I will conquer my jericho

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Right here still fighting for my Jericho. I hope I can do it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omg this is very timely ate! I was feeling lost kasi feeling ko ang hirap maachieve ng dreams pagtapos ng college :(( Indeed, keep going even if it leads me to weird paths and years to take.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Keep trusting that God will lead you somewhere :(. High five!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have given up on my Jericho. I'm tired of doing rounds.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

You shouldn't give up, cos it might remain just a round for you to get past that thing that seems as Jericho to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thats right shivaz

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kain muna tayo mura . Tapos rounds ulit. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago