There is Life In Bitterness

11 50
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Over the years, I have come to understand that human life and the diseases around the globe, that sweet things causes more trouble for us. Hence, the bitter aspect of nature, through herbs for instance could turn our bitter but of immense value for us. Today, I will like to introduce you to that aspect of bitter nature that has helped and still helping the human race overcome the many troubles caused by the very sweet things we consume.

Let's Go

Bitter leaf is the one natural gift I find and would recommend for a healthy life. The plant is seen growing in sub-Saharan Africa. Various native groups adopt it accidentally as a vegetable for soup and another recipe. Bitter leaf, Vernonia amygdalina (the botanical name for bitter leaf) serve multi-purpose functions during the earlier time before modern medicine started taking sway. Here, I will take you on a journey where you will discover the beauty of something regarded as bitter.

Bitter Leaf Stem

I remember that when I was younger, every Christmas is spent with my grandparents. One of the amazing things I found with them is the use of bitter leaf stem as a Chewing Stick. First, I distant myself from that primitive method of mouth watch but finding their dentition cleaned and firm even at old age, I started using it. The stem of the bitter leaf plant could be used to strengthen our cavity.

Prostate Cancer

The presence of phytochemicals like flavonoids in the bitter leaf plants helps the male folk overcome the health hazards of prostate cancer which is on the rise in modern times. These minerals and vitamins can be extracted from the juice of the bitter leaf.

Image source

Stomach Aches

Most stomach aches are caused by the high intake of sugary substances (not all though). Gastric ulcers and other stomach-related ailments have found cures in the bitter leaf. To an extent, it is medically proven that some kind of stomach ulcers can be cured using the fluid from the bitter leaf plant. This is to ascertain the many medicinal benefits you can derive from the consumption of the bitter leaf plant.

Relieves Insomnia

By taking the liquid content gotten from the leaf, the human alimentary canal becomes calm and relaxed during sleep. Sleeping disorder just got therapy from bitter nature.

Metabolic Functions

There is enough Thiamine (lipids and amino acids) and Vitamin B1 present in the bitter leaf. This helps in the breaking down or oxidization of fatty acids in humans. In addition to that, it helps to fight free radicals in the human body system.

Diabetes & Hypertension

One of the highest killer sicknesses in modern times is hypertension and diabetes. The intake of salt and to an extent an emotional state of mind causes hypertension. Without a doubt, a high intake of sugar content like beer, frequent carbohydrates, and the like causes diabetes.

Bitter leaf has come to help reform human good health from the hazards of unhealthy food intakes and many other causal agents of diseases in man.

There are many more health benefits of the bitter leaf. And through the laboratory scientists' efforts, more benefits are still been discovered over time. Apart from the ones mentioned above, the following underneath would serve too.

The presence of Vitamin C strengthens the bones when the bitter leaf is frequently eaten.

• Vitamin K prevents the bones from being weakened. And help the blood clotting process.

• It also enhances fertility in men by strengthening the sperm cells.

It has been revealed with the fire going facts that most of the bitter natural effects helps man as medicine to cure many of the diseases recorded in the world. However, it's our duty to find what natural has already made available for our good and apply them where necessary.

Every part of the world has one particular gift of nature that would be of immense help in curing ailment and make life desirable to man.

Lead image

11
$ 4.41
$ 3.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Jento
$ 0.05 from @Maryjacy
+ 6
Sponsors of Pearlkel
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Pearlkel
2 years ago

Comments

Ow I love this article its very informational. I think my grandparents know some of this. They love to make medicines from fresh natural leaves I don't know whats the name of that plant they made me drink that and it so bitter but effective for my soar throat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom would really be in love with this article right now. You just reminded me of those days I had to gulp down that bitter fluid from the leaf down my throat. Rose days were horrible for me but I thank God they are passed now. Even though I know how medical bitter leaf is, we are still worst enemies.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yeah well, some herbs are medicinal and healthy indeed but also very bitter. Not everyone could get past that bitterness though that is if given a choice.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Bitter leaf is the best medicine indeed. I used it from my ulcer whenever it attacked again. I just boil the bitter leaf and then leave it into warm then I drink before I take my meal.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It is fascinating how nature tries to strike a balance in our lives. Bitterleaf has been one of the most consumed meal by Africans, due to it health benefits. After reading this, it is an indubitable fact that bitterleaf is necessary for consumption to everyone who desires good health. Points well driven home, sir. Thank you for the impart.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I don't like bitter leaf for anything because of its bitterness, but I can eat it when it being added to soup.

I ate a lot of sugary thinks, but I can never drink the juice made from the leave, my mum do take it regularly because of the health benefits, but I can't. Lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh, nice one and this won me over for subscription. Cheers to "Life to Bitterness" and now you remind of the benefits of "Bitter Gourd" that we can locally grow in this side of the globe with substantially carries a lot of health benefits.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

What A coincidence. A friend of mine cooked soup with this Leaf today and invited me over. It was quite delicious. But I can't get myself to take the liquid content. It's so bitter

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love the leaf 🍃 for vegetable soup

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Stomach ache was my friend while growing up 😂😂 I love sugary food and drinks it was painful though

$ 0.00
2 years ago